We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pricey, needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #52 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very pricey, needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Intercon Mark Hopkins. It was an underwhelming experience given our previous experiences staying at Intercons and the high price we paid. The hotel has seen better days and could use some upgrades and it is quite loud unless one stays on a high flow, which we recommend. The room was not as clean as I would have liked, with a dirty tissue on the bathroom flow when we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Michele R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    610
    546
    212
    94
    46
See reviews for
248
602
93
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Alas "The Mark" has really outlived it's time and should be razed. This was my first time staying at this famous landmark. The lobby while attractive, is remarkably tiny. My room was #1433 and while comfortable and fully functional with great views, the bathroom was really too small and cramped. In fact I can't imagine how the city plumbing inspector allowed such cramping of the sink overlapping both the toilet and tub. I kept bumping into it every time I got in and out of the shower. More importantly - there wasn't even room on the tiny glass shelf for my toiletries which I had to set up on the room desk! On the plus side, the mattress was great and bed well provisioned with fluffy pillows. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide array of fare. Overall though I have to rate as poor given the lack of amenities offered at the property such as would be expected at a famous landmark. Special note: Wi-Fi is a ripoff at $11.95 p/d.

Room Tip: Request a bay view when reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Swissdiner,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us both the positives and the negatives you experienced during your visit. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with regards to your accommodations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Position could not be better for a visit to San Francisco. Very central, directly in front of the cable car. Easy access on foot to Embarcadero, Union Square. No traffic problems when arriving by car. Parking is very pricey, though.
Reception is professional and friendly. Nonchalently tried to switch our "bay view" room to "city view". However, on our comment we were given a splendid room with view on both.
Room was nice, big and well furnished. Spectacular views from 14th floor. Bathroom prone to being flooded by shower but spacy, clean and new.
Breakfast in Top of the Mark was superb with great panorama of city and bay below.
Will be back any time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Mark Hopkins was a great location on top of Nob Hill and really had some good views from both the Top of the Mark and the room we had on the 9th floor.
The Good:
- Rooms seem to have been remodeled recently and we very comfortable
- The bathrooms were spa worthy and elegant
- The location one block from the intersection of all three cable cars was intriguing, but proved useless because we could never find a cable car that wasn't full.
The Bad:
- The hotel is pricey and that includes nothing!
- The place is aging. Dated hallways. 3 small elevators to the rooms.
- The Top of the Mark holds about 6 people. Views are pretty good, though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Trip R,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you liked our hotel location and room accommodations. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Make no mistake - the Mark Hopkins is an older hotel. But it's been largely redone - nice sized rooms with lots of updates. What separates this hotel from others I've stayed in while in San Francisco is the service - from doormen, to the front desk, to housekeeping - they're all great - friendly and efficient. The only downside to staying here is that there isn't any sort of "shop" where you can buy toiletries, soft drinks, or even souvenirs. The staff will direct you to the Fairmont across the street if you need, say, bottled water. How much sense does THAT make? And there also isn't a restaurant on site - the Top of the Mark, while having a nice view - doesn't really have a full lunch or dinner menu - they serve over-the-top heavy appetizers and the like. If you can get past those two shortfalls, you'll enjoy your stay - close to everything, wonderful service, and friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days and enjoyed their wonderful service. I was upgraded to a larger room with a nice view. Club benefits were included in price and although I was upset I did not get convention rate as I booked late they did try to give me a slightly lower rate since very busy that time.
Staff was very friendly and accomodating for any request.

While hotel is a landmark I found the bed uncomfortable and in need of repair / replacement.
Other small details like a lamp switch also needed repair but overall well maintained and nice to appreciate the historic charm.

Room Tip: For location I would prefer closer to the center of the city where the action is but easily accessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A beautiful, majestic lady standing at the top of Nob Hill. Superb location!
Elegance personified. Friendly staff.
The room was very nice, although a bit cramped. The view was magnifique.
The Top of the Mark was as I remember from so many years back. The martinis have a good kick to them!

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hotel staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.