We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #64 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a nice, quiet, clean hotel, with comfortable beds, in a central location. It's not over-the-top luxurious or pretentious, but it's well-run, with a helpful staff, free NY Times, etc. We got a price that I consider a pretty good value. But our deal didn't include breakfast, which was a problem; the only in-hotel option was the Top of the Mark, a fine buffet in a gorgeous setting but very expensive. There are places down the hill, of course, and the Big Four restaurant in the Huntington is less costly. Nob Hill is very steep, but fortunately there are cable cars.

Room Tip: Better views higher up; all rooms seem pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    675
    281
    117
    55
See reviews for
322
747
112
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This visit was our first time ever staying in downtown San Francisco and our first visit to this hotel. From the moment we walked into the lobby we were greeted and made welcome. The atmosphere and presentation of this grand hotel is one we will never forget. The room was excellent, comfortable, the bath was the best ever and the view - words can even explain the pleasure of looking out my window every waking moment. RECOMMEND! RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors. We were on the 17th floor (top floor of rooms - Top of the Mark controls the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great historic hotel, nicely upgraded. Very comfortabe bed. We asked for and received a room near the elevator and didn't hear it at all. We were on the 8th floor so only heard an occasional cable car which added to the charm of the place.
Top of the Mark was a bit dissapointing, the noise level was very high but we were there on a Saturday night at 7 pm so that was probably one of their busier times.
The staff were all very helpful and the complimentary use of the towncar to take us back to the train station was a nice perk.
As previous reviewers had noted, the main faults were the high internet charge and lack of a sundries shop to buy a soda, snacks etc.
There was a Sunday breakfast off the lobby but other than that the only dining option is Top of the Mark. The bellman did say there was a soda machine in the garage area, we didn't drive so went across the street to the Fairmont to get odds and ends in their gift shop.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: we paid $20 extra for an upgraded king room if available when we made the reservation., It was an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Marc Hopkins has some of the best views of any building in San Francisco... We had a breathtaking view of Nob Hill, the cathedral, and even a part of Golden Gate bridge. Our room was very nice, but quite small even though I was upgraded because of my Ambassador status. The receptionists were very courteous and ready to help. Overall I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

So...everything was great. We were there in August and I know that there is no such thing as a cheap hotel rate in any major city in August. I have kind of an odd story because it was my Fantasy Football draft while I was there, so I went to the restaurant on the top thinking that was the best place to get Internet access provided by the hotel (at a cost). It was early AM so I had a coffee and OJ to get me going. When I realized that there was virtually no access (can't do that with a FF draft), I decided to go to the lobby, which ended up having a very good connection. The moral of the story, though, is that my couple of morning drinks cost $16. C'mon. Are you serious? I was there about 5 minutes. I honestly thought the waiter was going to just tell me "Don't worry about it." To add to it - the coffee in the downstairs lobby was free!

Parking was pretty expensive too ($50/day). There was plenty of off street parking right near by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wife and I stayed over the New Year, 2012-2013 for 3 nights. Experienced Friendly service, but the hotel is somewhat dated. Wireless internet service is spotty. The bathrooms have not been modernized to our satisfaction. Of course, it does have spectacular views, but if you face California Street, the windows are not very soundproof and you hear all of the traffic, including the noisy cable cars. Moreover, they leak a lot of cold air, not good when it gets chilly in the nighttime in January. We have stayed at other historical old hotels in the same area, such as The Fairmont and The Huntington, and think that we will next time explore one of the newer, smaller and more modern, boutique hotels for a change of pace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful with a clear historical significance. The position of the hotel was by far our favourite thing about the hotel. It was at the top of nob hill with easy access to the cable car which takes you to union square, china town and all the way down to fishermans wharf. The view from the room was amazing! The rooms were quite small but the bathroom was ridiculously small just fitting one person. The pipes in the shower are very old which caused some annoyance. There was no real restaurant at the hotel but the room service was delicious. Overall it was a lovely hotel but maybe intended for business men rather than families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear siacambac,

Thank you for your candid review. It is lovely to hear you liked our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of our product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#29 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#33 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#27 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,965 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.