We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fussy, not outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #70 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fussy, not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There is no gift shop or place to pick up quick essentials nearby unless you go across the street to the Fairmont, where, you will be told after the clerk runs your credit card that you need to pay $0.10 for a bag - that is after the Fairmont gift shop clerk finishes up her conversation with another hotel staff person who is visiting. Back over at the Intercontinental, you might want to go up to the Top of the Mark for a late lunch - wrong! Even though hours are never stated in any of the in room hotel documentation, lunch is only served until 2pm. You can access the internet at two different price points, unfortunately the "basic" service is like revisiting dial-up internet from the year 2000.

Rooms were nice and all that jazz, but this hotel was only so so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aja9p9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent location on Nobb's Hill. You get the exercise climbing the hill. Great views & excellent cocktails. Close to the famous cable car for trip to fisherman's Wharf. Hotel was good at given hints & advice.

Room Tip: Quiet ambience so all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins in San Francisco. I am a female, solo business traveller and I felt very safe and secure at the hotel. I stayed on the 11th floor and my room had a beautiful view, a very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom. The room was immaculate and very quiet. The Top of the Mark was very nice for lunch (although the atmosphere was a bit "cold") but I found myself missing a cozy bar/restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. The walk up and down to Union Square is always great to get the heart rate going. I met three "older" ladies on my way up one night and they were having a bit of a hard time. This might not be the best location if you cannot walk steep hills, up or down. SF is a walking city and you do not want to always rely on taxi's. I walked from the hotel over to the Marina district (Chestnut Street) and it was fabulous. Make sure you try the Slanted Door for dinner one night in the Ferry Building. It is fantastic. I would stay at the Mark Hopkins again, it is a lovely SF hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins in SF. We absolutely loved the hotel! Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the bed was awesome! Our room was on the 12th floor and had wonderful views of the city. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly staff and had a speedy check-in. We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and the front desk staff wished us well and noted it. Later that evening we received a card from the hotel and some delicious strawberries wishing us a "Happy Anniversary" from the Mark Hopkins. It was a perfect weekend and we are so pleased that we chose to stay here for this memorable occasion. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks for business in late November/ early December. The hotel is truly beautiful during Christmas. The Mark is exactly what one should expect from a 4-5 star hotel. The service was great the rooms were clean with very comfy bedding and the bathroom was big enough for for two girls to be staying for two weeks. I have not one bad thing to say about this place after spending the longest stretch I have ever spent in one hotel - this fact alone I think speaks volumes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyHonestandFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in the Mark Hopkins for our anniversary trip. The Hotel is Excellent, the service is impeccable. From the valet, to the maids to the concierge. The doorman are very helpful and friendly, the hotel is elegant, refined and has a nostalgic feeling of greatness. The room was very spacious, the bed is so comfortable, I can say is the best I have ever slept in. Of course the Top of The Mark adds a big value, an evening with the view and cocktails are a must. The area, Nob Hill, is very close to the main attractions, it has a line of street car that pass in front of the hotel. Over all, is an excellent hotel, will stay again, would definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 13 floor, the view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had the best experience. Every associate we encountered was upbeat, positive and ready to assist. It's our first time to stay at this hotel, although not our first visit to SF. We will definitely be back. Really enjoyed our room on the 11th floor with incredible views and the Club Lounge which was great to come back to after our treks through the city.

Can't say enough good things about the hotel, management and staff from accommodations to food to drinks.

Room Tip: upgrade to the Club Lounge; well worth the added amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slappy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,865 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#26 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#30 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,525 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#9 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing