We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and rather nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #55 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Historic and rather nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Mark Hopkins hotel seemed very nice for a short break. We had a lovely room, with a very large bathroom, there were 3 of us staying there so was great for us. We ordered room service one evening, and this was amazing, well worth it, but enough for double, reasonable price too. Hotel was well situated, and certainly keeps you fit, though you can get tram from right outside. Top of the Mark was great for views but we were dissapointed with the ambience. The website looked really funky and it seemed dress should be fairly smart, also no piano/jazz was played when we were present, but Martinis were nice, though pricey - and view outstanding, though felt a smidge over-dressed. Jeans and t-shirt seemed to suffice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    626
    257
    112
    52
See reviews for
293
694
107
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was in San Francisco on business and stayed at the Mark Hopkins for 5 nights. The location is on the corner of California and Powell Streets, so it is a good walk to the mall. You will most likely need public transportation to get where you are going. It may be tough to walk everywhere given the hills. It's about a 15 minute cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf and Baker Beach where you can experience the most amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge.

I had no issues at check-in and found all the staff at the front desk courteous and helpful. Concierge was absolutely amazing and got me out of a jam when I needed a cab on a day that there was the Bay to Breakers road race. He researched the public bus schedule and I was able to get to where I was going with time to spare. I was truly grateful.

My room was on the 6th floor. It was very small. Not a lot of room to spread out, but it was immaculate. I also thought there was a shortage of outlets to charge a phone and plug in a computer, but since this is a landmark hotel I don't consider this a huge deal. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The water pressure is very low, but the water was hot. One of the things about this room I did not like, was that it was on the same level as the roof of the building next door. I heard the loud roar of the rooftop fan every night. The cable cars were also very loud and made noise most nights/early mornings. I have to say, I was woken up (even with the window closed) about 3 nights with the street noise. This can be remedied though with a room on a higher floor. Housekeeping was excellent. I ordered room service twice and thought it was OUTRAGEOUSLY expensive. Breakfasts can easily run you 40 bucks. The food was good, but definitely not worth the cost. The WIFI charge was also an issue. Why are hotels charging 20 bucks for WIFI? I can go to Starbucks for free. Another reprehensible charge. The elevators were always available, so no issues waiting in the lobby to get to your room. I used the gym and it was your typical set-up: couple of treadmills/stairmaster/bikes/weights. Top of the Mark was nice...although the food options are few and I didn't think it was all that great. I would stay here again, but do think the price of food and internet is a complete rip-off, no matter how management positions it.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this Nob Hill landmark hotel while in the City to see a show. What a wonderful property!
You MUST have room service for breakfast in the morning. It is a special treat. Then go out and see the sights of glorious San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Despite its age, the Mark Hopkins is still a landmark hotel that has a special feel. The furnishings and the urban buzz are not what you will find in a newer hotel like the W, but the art deco look and the sense of history are palpable. The standard rooms are adequate, with small bathrooms and no useable bathtub. Contrary to some reviewers on TripAdvisor, we found the service to be friendly and attentive. I am always annoyed when a hotel in this price range charges $15/day for WiFi. An overnight parking fee of $52 is also outrageous, but is sadly in line with most other downtown hotels. A free New York Times every morning was a small off-setting amenity.

I love to walk a city, and San Francisco is one of the world's best venues for this activity. The Mark has a great central location and is within walking distance of most of the well known tourist and shopping districts. It is, however, at the top of a very steep (Nob) hill, and the walk back home after a long day of sight seeing can be painful. If you are in town for more than a few days, consider buying a cable car pass ( $21 for 3 days of unlimited rides versus $6 for a single trip). The junction of both the Powell and California St lines are within a half block of the hotel, and you can walk down and take the cable car up.

Everyone knows about the fabulous views from the Top of the Mark for evening cocktails, but I was surprised to find they serve an outstanding breakfast buffet with equally stunning 360 degree views of San Francisco by day. If you are a breakfast eater and have a big enough appetite to make the cost of the buffet worthwhile, I highly recommend giving this a try, even if you are not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

MH hotel was great! The location is perfect. Views everywhere. Rooms, spotless and have everything you need. We brought the pup, but you could not tell this was a pet friendly room. We had drinks at the Top Of The Mark which I highly suggest. Too many martinis to choose from, so we had 3! Staff was so friendly and helpful. Huntington Park across the street was perfect for the pooch to do his daily. I could stay in the MH and not leave but it's too close to Union shopping that you have to get out. Will go again and stay in the MH again for sure.

Room Tip: Great pet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Mark Hopkins Hotel on our way to Asia beautiful Hotel the staff helpful and especially you have to love when you are going out shopping and the Doorman asked where we were going told him and he called the car over which was a Rolls Royce we also stayed on the Concierge floor wonderful feel like a Queen Stay there if you can

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a fun time at the hotel. It's nice for an older hotel. Very updated and the rooms are nice. Our bathroom was a little small though with not much counter space. They did mess up our reservation the first night we were there. We booked a king room and all they had left was two double beds. They did find us another room and then upgraded us the following night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.