We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #61 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Older hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a high-rise, older hotel on almost the highest point in the City. Good rooms, great service (friendly staff) - only thing missing is a gift shop/coffee bar. If you want bottled water or something similar, you have to go across the street to the Fairmont - which is kind of strange - the staff actually tells you to go to a competing hotel. And a nice coffee shop - even a Starbucks - would be great - as there isn't one on property - and the closest Starbucks is 4 or 5 blocks away. Food in the restaurant atop the facility is good - and the views can't be beat. Rooms could use an update - still have older tv's and coffee makers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    601
    236
    110
    51
See reviews for
276
668
103
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Mark Hopkins is old and charming. The breakfast at the Top of the Mark every morning was awesome. I didn't like getting charged to use the internet. The nice thing about the Mark Hopkins being up on the Hill, no homeless people to bother you. S F is a wonderful city, always bring a coat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Hotel is well maintained and beautiful. It is in a great location sitting on Nob Hill at the crossroads of all 3 trolley lines. Disappointed I didn't get the upgrade to better view and the charge for wifi. The view from the Top of the Mark restaurant was wonderful. Not cheap but for the money it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve the room you want and don't hope for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Unlike recent reviews, I didn't have problems with the service. I found the level of service from the front desk and bellhop/doormen on par w this price point of hotel. Maybe it was related to my Platinum status? who knows but no complaints.

However, only reason why I stayed here was because I redeemed points for free nights. This hotel is on the top of a rather steep hill, so while a map may show a place only a couple blocks away it certainly won't describe the incline. That being said, I chose to walk around the city and most popular places are reachable by walking. I even walked so far to Filmore, which took me about 20-30 mins.

There is no immediate no-big-hill-to-climb restaurant nearby, so only choices you're stuck w are other fancy expensive places. Had their breakfast buffet. Very nice spread, lots of choices even some dim sum. Not sure worth the money though. View is nice.

Area is pretty touristy. Quick access to Union Sq shopping and Chinatown.

Overall, I'd rather stay at a nicer Holiday Inn or something else downscale because I hate the nickle and diming hotels like this do... just because I am staying there doesn't mean I love the idea of spending $15 daily for internet. However, you really shouldn't be surprised that a hotel like this nickle and dimes...that's just what they do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Mark Hopkins was wonderful. Nob Hill is close to lots of fun places to visit in San Francisco. Our corner room on the 12th floor had great views of Coit Tower, The Golden Gate, Alcatraz and Grace Cathedral. The room was lovely and the beds were comfortable. We walked to breakfast near Union Square, took Trolley to and from Fishermen's Wharf for dinner, and walked to China Town 3 blocks away to shop. We also walked around Nob Hill; Grace Cathedral is beautiful. The staff was also friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Very impressive building right next to the cable car line, but one block (on the steep hill) from muni stop.
Very small reception for a big, busy hotel, and staff seemed rather unfriendly. The room had only one robe and a pair of slippers for three of us and housekeeper did not even refill shampoo the 2nd day.
Minimal service, big disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihg care at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. IHG Care ^bj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful. The outside entrance is beautiful and makes you feel like royalty. Greeting was personable. Front desk awesome every time and extremely polite. Wilson at front desk took care of us the whole week. We had club access which is worth it as we got bottled water, sodas, cocktails in the evening, hor deuvres, small breakfast and snacks all day. The location is great. On topof nob hill with great views. Cable cars that go to union square or fishermans wharf. Def recommend muni pass. The bed was extremely comfortable. Room average mostly. No complaints. Top of the mark awesome for a drink before dinner. Tuesdays they have free wine tasting and a movie which was so awesome. This is the best hotel that I ever stayed in and I travel for work so that says a lot. Highest level of service that I ever received in hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.