We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #50 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The palace is in SPGs "Luxury Collection." It is very well located in the financial district, a block off Market Street, 4 blocks from the Moscone, about eight blocks from the Ferry Building and 100 yards from the Montgomery Street BART station. The rooms are good sized and the bathrooms are reasonable. The location is hard to complain about, but in spite of the lack of "starpoints" I still have to recommend the Fairmont and especially the upper floor "tower rooms" over what I had in the Palace. Price is more reasonable in the Palace, but overall have to go with the Fairmont (TOWER ROOMS-upper floors) in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are always delighted to receive reviews from guests who experienced all that the Palace Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the convenience of our location, and the size of our rooms and bathrooms. We would love to have you come back and do hope you will select the Palace Hotel next time you are in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    656
    282
    97
    67
See reviews for
322
519
139
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAINT LOUIS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at many hotels in San Fran. For this price the rooms are out dated. Service was fine, the common areas and bar were nicely done. The rooms however were not to par. Spacious yes, but they could invest in little things to bring them to a higher level. For example, the tub/shower should have a bowed curtain rod. Fell short of expectations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us; we are always delighted to hear from our guests. We are very saddened and dismayed to hear that you did not have the remarkable stay you deserved. In regards to the tub and shower, we will discuss the issues you mentioned with the appropriate teams to be sure they are considered for renovation. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

It was my first time in SF and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The most impressive of all was its old European elegance. This historic hotel reminded me of the 'grands palais' in Paris and Prague. The whole property looked classy from outside to inside.
Breakfast at the Garden Court was THE experience not to be missed. Having the first meal of the day under that stunningly beautiful glass ceiling was a mind-brightening way to start the day. I made sure I did not oversleep for breakfast every morning!
Location-wise, the hotel is at Market and New Montgomery. It is a huge advantage to have the Montgomery BART/Muni station exit right in front of the hotel's side-entrance at Market Street. It only takes a few steps, literally. The Westfield shopping malls are a few blocks away. Lots of shopping, dining, drinking and entertainment are within easy reach along Market Street.
One point is taken away from my rating because of two things. First, my guestroom was too small for a hotel of this caliber. The bathroom was tiny and the bathtub was a joke. Pregnant ladies would not be able to sit comfortably on the tub anyhow. Second, talking about service from the staff members, there are way too many things to learn from other Asian or European luxury hotels. I don't blame this hotel in particular. In general, from my experience, hotels in the US do not have a hospitality culture like those in Asia and Europe. Never expect warm welcome or staff members doing more than the minimum to serve their guests.

Room Tip: The good parts of this hotel are outside the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are always delighted to receive reviews from guests who experienced all that the Palace Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the size of the bathroom and the bathtub. I have forwarded your comments to our Executive Committee and will make sure that they are addressed when the time comes to determine where monies should be spent when planning a renovation. I am sorry to hear about the service experience and that you did not feel welcomed by the team, I will be sure to discuss this with the team as well. We would love to have you come back and do hope you will select the Palace Hotel next time you are in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have visited San Francisco multiple times and have stayed in several hotels. During my last two visits, I have stayed at the Palace Hotel. It truly is a beautiful gem with high ceilings, skylight, and a grand staircase. The rooms are well appointed and have luxurious bedding. The only drawback is the small exercise room. It does have a large indoor pool. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the beauty of the Palace Hotel. We are also very appreciative of your comments regarding the size of the fitness center. I have noted your comments and will make sure that they are addressed when the time comes to determine where monies should be spent when planning a renovation. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, md
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights last week and I really enjoyed the elegant and classy decor as well as the modern amenities. I really enjoyed the history and the beautiful public spaces. Very good location, close to lots of shopping and restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always important to let our future guests know our convenient location and for that we thank you. Please come back and visit us at the Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Palace Hotel is very ritzy and it is an architectural delight to look at. We picked up our rental car at the airport at 3:30 in the afternoon on a Friday, and headed for San Francisco and the Palace Hotel. We forgot about rush hour traffic, BIG mistake. I consider myself a good driver, and have driven all over the world. But the San Francisco drivers (at least on Friday afternoons) are aggressive. Well, after an hour crawling through San Francisco’s nail biting narrow streets, we arrived at the Palace Hotel. They have complimentary valets’ service, but a tip is expected. The hotel staff was pleasant and offered to deliver our luggage to our room. But after waiting 35 minutes I ventured back down to the main floor and discovered our luggage in the same spot as we left them. As I started to collect them myself a hotel employee quickly indicated that he would deliver them promptly. So I left them there and went back to the room. The luggage was then delivered in about 10 minutes. The rooms have very tall ceilings and are nicely appointed. However the walls between adjoining rooms are very thin. The couple on one side of us picked the first night to have a heated argument. We could hear every syllable. After they quieted down (some time after midnight) we had a very pleasant sleep on some very comfortable beds. The Palace Hotel is right downtown with a Starbucks right next door, a big plus. China town is within easy walking distance and from there you can easily catch a trolley to the water side docks and restaurants. The Palace’s central location made it a fun location to go exploring from, but I am not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the beauty of the Palace Hotel. In addition, thank you for sharing the benefit of the convenient location with our future Global Explorers. As for the “cons” of your review, we are very sorry to hear that you did not experience the beauty that the Palace Hotel has to offer. I have noted your comments regarding the noise from the neighboring room and will make sure that they are addressed when the time comes to determine where monies should be spent when planning a renovation. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location of palace hotel is fantastic and the moment you enter the hotel, the grandeur blows you away. Got upgraded due to SPG status to junior suite however, i was disappointed with the size of the Junior suite. I was expecting a separate living room and the bathroom was also small.

Apart from that, the service was great and food was excellent.

I would definitely recommend it to people visiting SFO

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very appreciative of your comments regarding our convenient location to all that San Francisco has to offer. We are very appreciative of your loyalty to Starwood and the Palace Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the size of your Junior Suite upgrade. I have forwarded your comments on to our Executive Committee. Guest feedback like this is very important to the hotel as it allows us to determine where renovation monies should be spent. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.