We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming and amazing brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #50 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very charming and amazing brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Upon entering this hotel I was captivated by the dining room--what a beautiful place. I was fortunate enough to have a reservation for Sunday brunch. All I can say is without a doubt, this is the best brunch buffet I've had. The selections were unbelievable and so fresh. I would come back to this hotel just for the brunch. The rooms are smaller due to the age of the hotel, but very charming. The beds were very comfortable and the shower pressure was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We’re so pleased you had the opportunity to experience our Sunday Jazz Brunch—which is truly a must-do for any foodie or San Francisco visitor. Thank you also for your comments about our accommodations, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon for another comfortable, authentic experience at the Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    656
    282
    97
    67
See reviews for
322
519
139
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Palace Hotel quite a few times in the past. The hotel is beautiful and grand. We were able to check in early which I was thankful for since I had gotten up very early that morning. Upon entering the room, I noticed the strong smell of cleaning products. I am allergic to perfumes and fragrances. There was a sign on the window that states for our safety we couldn't open the window or something to that effect. Thank goodness we were able to open it because I would have been miserable. I think the hotel should rethink their use of strong smelling cleaning products. I can't be the only guest that is affected by this. The walls are paper thin. The occupants of the room next door were having a conversation but it seemed like they were in our room. Our room was spcaious and comfortable. The service throughout the hotel was what we expected.

Room Tip: I would choose a inside room. The rooms on Market Street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, MO USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is a beautiful old grand hotel, but rooms need to be updated especially bathrooms. Service is outstanding and the lobby area is beautiful with wonderful music. Exercise room overlooks the pool and is small for the size of the hotel and limited exercise equipment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and your generous compliments about our hotel and staff. Thank you also for your valuable feedback about our fitness facility—these comments will be forwarded to the management for future enhancements to the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Palace again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent 4 nights in a beautiful hotel. From the soaring ceilings on the first floor, to the beautiful restaurant with an atrium, it really was a great experience. Also has a great swimming pool on the 4th floor with a glass ceiling. the sauna was great as well after a long day touring the city. The room also had very tall ceilings and the bed was unbelievably comfortable.
Only downside is there was no vestibule into the room but other than that, a great experience.

Room Tip: I was up on the 8th floor and the ceilings were at least 12 feet high
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re so glad you enjoyed the historic details and features of our hotel and our brand new signature Beautyrest Luxury Collection mattress and linens. Our indoor swimming pool, too, is one of the true gems of the hotel and in San Francisco. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was impressed by the staff at The Palace, the concierge Malia was particularly friendly and addressed you by name without being introduced. The check in was smooth, the room comfortable and the Garden Court and public areas of the hotel are very tasteful. Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. The standard rooms are the size of most hotels of this era but are tasteful and conservatively decorated. There were minor signs of wear and tear in ours but nothing major. The checkout was the only contrast to the rest of our stay with an abrupt staff member who verged on rude. We decided not to let this spoil our otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a Market St view room before and these rooms are preferable in terms of outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Palace in SF is one of those storied, classic hotels. The lobby and restaurant atrium are enough to take your breath away. Even the hallways are classy. Then you turn the door knob and walk into a room that needed an update six or seven years ago. The carpet looks worn and maybe a little dirty, the bathroom is outdated, it's just not what you'd expect from such a property.

The location is the really redeeming quality here. The Palace is walking distance to just about anything you want to see and do in the city.

A note to the hotel GM: you might want to swing by the hotel at around midnight sometime. Perhaps you'll get acquainted with the same two ladies I saw on consecutive nights. They were sitting on a ledge near the front doors and sure did want to see the inside of my room. Your employees out front did nothing to shoo them away or keep the blonde from scurrying into the lobby to make/take a phone call.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to connect with us and share your experiences. Please be assured that our General Manager will review your note, and appropriate actions will be taken to ensure violations of guest privacy and comfort such as you experienced are not repeated in the future. We want to make sure we do everything possible to keep our refined and respectable atmosphere undisturbed. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When I first walked into the Palace Hotel, I was in awe of the beautiful chandeliers in its main restaurant which at first you may think is the lobby. Everyone there was very helpful. I asked and got a free room upgrade as a starwood gold member. The rooms may have been small but they were quite comfortable. The wide hall ways and tall ceilings on the room floors give it a palatial feel. I truly enjoyed the pool. Since t he sun comes through the ceiling, it was nice just lounging around the pool. The apple with the towel they give you is a nice touch as well. My only complaint is that there is no coffee maker in the room. Although there is a nice complimentary coffee area in the restaurant, you have to get dressed to go there. (The Palace is not the type of hotel where you run down to the lobby in your lounge wear.) Also it would be nice if the lamp on the side of the bed with the desk was in reach to turn on and off without having to get out of bed. One can catch the trolley on the corner of the hotel to go straight to Fisherman's Wharf with no hassle. We walked a few blocks to Mason street and rented bikes from Blazing Saddles, (hotel has 10% discount card), and biked through Golden Gate Park and across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito,CA. Took ferry back. All of the high end stores are in Union Square as well as a very large Macy's.

Room Tip: My first room had no view (looked into another brick building). I got room facing Market street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and wonderful comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our opulent Garden Court, palatial accommodations and beautiful sky-lit pool. Thank you also for your valuable feedback about the room; they will be forwarded to our management for review in the future planning of the hotel. We appreciate the time you took to write us, and hope to welcome you back to the Palace Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.