We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly is a palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #47 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly is a palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent 4 nights in a beautiful hotel. From the soaring ceilings on the first floor, to the beautiful restaurant with an atrium, it really was a great experience. Also has a great swimming pool on the 4th floor with a glass ceiling. the sauna was great as well after a long day touring the city. The room also had very tall ceilings and the bed was unbelievably comfortable.
Only downside is there was no vestibule into the room but other than that, a great experience.

Room Tip: I was up on the 8th floor and the ceilings were at least 12 feet high
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re so glad you enjoyed the historic details and features of our hotel and our brand new signature Beautyrest Luxury Collection mattress and linens. Our indoor swimming pool, too, is one of the true gems of the hotel and in San Francisco. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    697
    290
    103
    68
See reviews for
341
545
141
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was impressed by the staff at The Palace, the concierge Malia was particularly friendly and addressed you by name without being introduced. The check in was smooth, the room comfortable and the Garden Court and public areas of the hotel are very tasteful. Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. The standard rooms are the size of most hotels of this era but are tasteful and conservatively decorated. There were minor signs of wear and tear in ours but nothing major. The checkout was the only contrast to the rest of our stay with an abrupt staff member who verged on rude. We decided not to let this spoil our otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a Market St view room before and these rooms are preferable in terms of outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Palace in SF is one of those storied, classic hotels. The lobby and restaurant atrium are enough to take your breath away. Even the hallways are classy. Then you turn the door knob and walk into a room that needed an update six or seven years ago. The carpet looks worn and maybe a little dirty, the bathroom is outdated, it's just not what you'd expect from such a property.

The location is the really redeeming quality here. The Palace is walking distance to just about anything you want to see and do in the city.

A note to the hotel GM: you might want to swing by the hotel at around midnight sometime. Perhaps you'll get acquainted with the same two ladies I saw on consecutive nights. They were sitting on a ledge near the front doors and sure did want to see the inside of my room. Your employees out front did nothing to shoo them away or keep the blonde from scurrying into the lobby to make/take a phone call.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to connect with us and share your experiences. Please be assured that our General Manager will review your note, and appropriate actions will be taken to ensure violations of guest privacy and comfort such as you experienced are not repeated in the future. We want to make sure we do everything possible to keep our refined and respectable atmosphere undisturbed. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When I first walked into the Palace Hotel, I was in awe of the beautiful chandeliers in its main restaurant which at first you may think is the lobby. Everyone there was very helpful. I asked and got a free room upgrade as a starwood gold member. The rooms may have been small but they were quite comfortable. The wide hall ways and tall ceilings on the room floors give it a palatial feel. I truly enjoyed the pool. Since t he sun comes through the ceiling, it was nice just lounging around the pool. The apple with the towel they give you is a nice touch as well. My only complaint is that there is no coffee maker in the room. Although there is a nice complimentary coffee area in the restaurant, you have to get dressed to go there. (The Palace is not the type of hotel where you run down to the lobby in your lounge wear.) Also it would be nice if the lamp on the side of the bed with the desk was in reach to turn on and off without having to get out of bed. One can catch the trolley on the corner of the hotel to go straight to Fisherman's Wharf with no hassle. We walked a few blocks to Mason street and rented bikes from Blazing Saddles, (hotel has 10% discount card), and biked through Golden Gate Park and across the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito,CA. Took ferry back. All of the high end stores are in Union Square as well as a very large Macy's.

Room Tip: My first room had no view (looked into another brick building). I got room facing Market street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and wonderful comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our opulent Garden Court, palatial accommodations and beautiful sky-lit pool. Thank you also for your valuable feedback about the room; they will be forwarded to our management for review in the future planning of the hotel. We appreciate the time you took to write us, and hope to welcome you back to the Palace Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

On entering the Palace you know you have arrived to something special. Polite, efficient check in, you ARE their guest and they reflect it. Rooms are typical old world small, but nicely appointed, great beds, robes, refrigerator in cabinet as these days mini bars are useless to the point that inventory has to be re stocked because of expiration dates....... Room negative is you have to pay $22 a day for WI FI, Which in today's world should be included in a high end hotel. I had trouble connecting late at night and their service provider worked through the connectivity problem..... I advised the front desk of this and to their benefit credited my bill for the day charge.
Both the Fox and Hound Bar and Garden restaurant are spectacular .......even if you don't stay there take a look just to see a very special place......very old world CLASS...... Exercise room only average,but lap pool extraordinary if you are a swimmer.

Room Tip: Try and get a room from 4 th floor and higher for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Having never been to San Fran before I was nervous about being in a "bad location" but the other reviews were spot on, you can't beat this location. Walking distance to everything and all forms of public transit are right outside the door. Front desk was very helpful - They allowed us to check in 4 hours early, which I was tremendously grateful for, after 8 hours of travel.

On to the room. Ours left a bit to be desired. Don't get me wrong it had everything you need but it was on the small side (not cramped) but not large. The decor was old, so is the building but while the building has charm the room lacks a bit. Cleaners went above and beyond...we had food delivered to the hotel and they didn't put forks/knives in the bag. We popped out to walk down to the restaurant or bar to get them and the cleaners offered to go get them for us. She dropped it off at our room no more than 5 minutes later:-) Bathroom looked like it had recent updates. Showers had good water pressure.

Concierge. Fantastic. Made great recommendations and always provided us with "loopholes" to get somewhere quicker or cheaper. Always friendly and when they were busy would offer to call us in our room with a response so we wouldn't have to wait. We always recieved a call within 5 minutes.

I would recommend the Palace to anyone booking trip in San Fran. We had a great stay and really appreciated the kind manner of all the employee.

Sorry for any spelling errors...on my phone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Palace Hotel in San Francisco is our favorite place to go when celebrating an anniversary or a birthday. The rooms aren't particularly generous with space but every inch and detail is beautifully appointed, down to the duvet cover and coverlet. When we go again, we're going to upgrade to make sure we get more floor space. The toiletries are lovely, from a British company called Gilbert and Soames. The oatmeal soap is to die for. They even provide a needle and thread sewing kit for emergencies.

We had High Tea in the glorious Garden Court* with its magnificent pillars and huge crystal chandeliers. We found the best chai tea from a German company, Ronnenfeldt. The scones are delicious and we asked for seconds and thirds. One day we had brunch at their Sunday buffet and what a spread! There was one entire wall devoted to pastries for anyone's taste and sensibilities. We went back again and again for the Creme Brulee. There were kiosks for omelets, crepes, sushi, and entire spreads of meats and hams, french toast and pancakes, sausages and fruit plates.

The Palace is the perfect place for a wedding or any kind of event that's special. With its Old World architecture and central downtown location, it's easy to find and navigate from. Probably the worse downside is the overnight parking fees, but we bought a package where the parking fees were include in the room rate.

Don't go to San Francisco without staying at or visiting the Palace Hotel. The experience will create a memory for you that you'll always cherish.

The Garden Court was featured in the movie "The Game" with Michael Douglas and Sean Penn when Douglas falls through the leaded glass ceiling.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded and choose a room located away from the street to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.