We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #50 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Service is great, check-in desk staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are beautiful. Only problem during our long stay was a loud party Saturday night in the main event room that you could hear in our room as we tried to fall asleep. Next time, the staff should make guests aware of upcoming loud noises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    656
    282
    97
    66
See reviews for
322
519
139
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was the hotel for a recent conference we attended. I know it is a landmark but they need to bring it up to date. The bed was comfortable, but the room was very small. Ample closet space but the handles on two of the dresser drawers were falling off. The bathrooms were tiny and there was no space for our toiletries. Next time we are in San Francisco we will look for another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is nicely updated within a historic structure. The Breakfast Brunch is a delight with something for everyone. The pool is fine. We were there for a family vacation and with the great rate we got, it was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

There are a few places in this world where one may physically experience history and galmour in all its grandoeur. The Palace Hotel is a grand Dam in central SanFran, a bit aged but historical in all its glory. Some reviewers comment on how small rooms are but in all honestly ther is nothing missing out of them.
Make sure you do not miss breakfat as is one of the best around the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

just returned from my business trip where I staid at The Palace Hotel. Rooms are too old and need more attention. On the other side the Garden Restaurant is one of the most beauteful restaurants I have ever been. It reminds you beeing in europe in one of the historical chateaux. You can tell they have european management in their restaurants - very polite and professional.

Hotel in Financial District and close to Union Square. Also grand and amazing banquet space.

Definitely a great service place to stay with.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and all your generous comments. We are so pleased your business trip was an enjoyable one, and I will be sure to pass your praises along to our staff, who love to hear about wonderful guest experiences. Your suggestion about the rooms will also be forwarded to the appropriate managers. Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with continued incomparable service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

excellent
great location
amazing custumer service!
large room and bedroom
historical building
clean!
you can walk where you want fro this hotel
i would like go back soon...
good concierge
nice sleep
big window

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed at this property a few times over the years and most recently in February. I booked a suite with a few specific requirements and the property obliged. Upon arrival, it wasn't prepared the way I requested and I was a little worries as it was passed 5pm. The Director of Banquets came to my room and literally took care of everything while I was out for a dinner meeting. He even left his card and said I could call him as early as 5:30am if things weren't perfect. I wish all hotels operated this way. There a plenty of places to stay in the city, from the classic elegant to the uber trendy. This is my new go-to property in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are delighted we were able to accommodate your needs with such personal attention. Our ambassadors are dedicated to providing uncompromising guest service. Thank you very much for sharing your experience, and your generous comments will be passed on to our banquets team. We are pleased to be your San Francisco home and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.