We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #47 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here recently and loved this hotel. It is like stepping back in time. The Palm Court Room is breathtaking (the vintage fixtures, skylights, marble columns). Everywhere you look in the lobby, hallways, and restaurants, you see polished woodwork, and more marble and antique light fixtures. While the rooms aren't huge, they have very high ceilings that give them a spacious feeling. One of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. Great location, as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    697
    290
    103
    68
See reviews for
341
545
141
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Bay
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Palace this last January. The hotel was beautiful and our room was great. A couple days after our stay we received an email with a revised bill that contained any additional $20+ charge for room service we didn't request. I left a message with the billing department and didn't receive a call back. I called again and spoke with someone who said she would follow-up and call me back. She never did. I wonder how often the Palace adds charges to the bill in the hopes of getting away with it (made all the more likely when they ignore requests for either a refund or explanation).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your most recent stay. We appreciate your comments for our opulent hotel and refined guestrooms. It is a disappointment to hear about the issue you encountered regarding your folio. We apologize for this inconvenience and would like to resolve this matter immediately. Please contact us directly at palaceinfo@luxurycollection.com. Thank you and we look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Palace Hotel is a quiet, elegant, charming hotel. The staff is attentive, polite and helpful. (The restaurant staffs are the exact opposite, though. They seem to be bored with their jobs and helping their clients.) The rooms are beautifully decorated. Keep in mind that this is an historic hotel, so there is a lack of space next the bathroom sink for makeup and shaving gear. Get over it and enjoy the ambiance. The Palm Court room is amazing and beautiful, so try to enjoy Sunday Brunch there. The more-than-ample buffet will satisfy anyone's tastes, as they offer food from around the world. The hotel is off the main streets, so the rooms are quiet. It's centrally located so you can walk anywhere, and it's a few short blocksfrom the cable cars, too. Bring your bathing suit because the pool is under glass. Very nice place. The car valets are THE best, too. We have been enjoying this hotel for decades, and have never been disappointed. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: High floor, away from the elevator. If available, ask for a room that looks into the center of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a great review! Positive feedback is very welcome and helps us acknowledge our areas of strength and opportunities.We’re very glad you enjoyed your stay, and I will be sure to pass on to our Chef and Valet team your kind words. Did you know the San Francisco cable cars the only mobile National Monument in the world? They have quite a history too! Your feedback will be sent to the appropriate managers and they will be sure to follow up. Thank you again and we hope you’ll come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It has been several years since I traveled to San Francisco last when I stayed many times at Palace hotel. Things picked back up where they left off from last time here. I stayed 3 evenings. Had breakfast in the main room and was centrally located. Concierge was great recommending places for lunch, dinner and renting auto for a business trip to San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way to Hong Kong. It is in a great location downtown within short walking diatence to numerous shopping areas and restaurants not to mention that it is only a couple of blocks from Powell street where you can catch the cable car for the waterfront. The hotel itself is one with larger than average rooms because it is a well maintained and up dated older hotel with plenty of charm. All the staff were very nice and the beds were most comfortable. We found this hotel by accident but will plan to return because it is charming and priced much less than the same type room in many other locations in town. Location is great.(This is a Starwood property.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the 5th year in a row that we have stayed with our family of 4 at the Palace for Chinese New Year. It is elegant, well located and well priced. We have not been disappointed yet. The kids love the indoor swimming pool and I love the ambiance

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Palace Hotel and for your continued loyalty. We greatly appreciate your comments for our elegant, conveniently located and well-priced hotel. The indoor swimming pool is one of the true gems in the hotel and in San Francisco. It is a delight to hear from our guests who have visited us over the years and we look forward to creating many more memories with you and your family. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location, staff, food, cleanliness, room size, quiet elegance, breakfast... it was all perfect. This is my new favorite place to stay in SF. We had the breakfast included in our price and it was amazing. Some may think the hotel is dated, but it is not, it is just from another era. It is spotless and elegant and not worn at all. We loved staying there. If you drive, ask about using the Heast parking for $25 per day and save $40/ day. It's only a block away. Enjoy this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: I was worried about the noise level staying on the 3rd floor on the Market street side. It was fairl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.