We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic hotel in a fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #50 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Majestic hotel in a fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedded double room with our children, aged 14 and 11 for three nights in February. The hotel was palatial in decoration, complete with footmen, grand pianos and chandeliers. Truly majestic. The rooms were very comfortable, the shower superb and we had a great view of the city. Only a couple of niggly points. We would have loved to had tea/coffee making facilities in the room; room service and food in general was incredibly expensive. Although there is complimentary coffee etc from 6 am when your on British time and waking at odd hours it would have been nice to make a drink in the room. Not a lot to ask considering the price. And the walls are quite thin, you can hear everything! But on the whole fab place, pool lovely and would stay again - taking a kettle with me!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    635
    271
    95
    66
See reviews for
317
507
136
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My first time staying at a Palace hotel, here for an investment bank conference along with hundreds of others. While the common areas and restaurants are ornate and what you'd expect from a luxury hotel, that experience ends once you get on an elevator. The corridors and the rooms are incredibly tired looking and in desperate need of renovation. It's downright shocking. Chipped paint, rust, dirt and thin walls. A hair on my pillow, a hair in the shower, clearly no one bothered to look the room over properly (although they did allow me to check in at noon which was very convenient). Even the menu for room service was just stapled papers. There is no hotel review that could possibly consider the rooms as even close to being "luxury". I actually find this to be deceptive branding, referring to the Palace as part of the "luxury collection" at Starwood. The staff has been great, and the overall hotel is certainly a classic looking property, but any discerning traveler will be sorely disappointed by the rooms, if they are similar to the one I was in. I am truly shocked given the price tag here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us and provide valuable feedback. We are very appreciative of guest feedback as it is the direct source to information which will help us improve our product and our service. Thank you for your comments regarding the beauty of the public space of the hotel; being such a historic property we strive to provide our guests with timeless beauty while also offering modern conveniences. We are dismayed to hear that your room was not up to the standards of cleanliness that we promise to our guests and I have shared your insights with our Director of Housekeeping. We are currently in the process of redesigning our In-Room Dining menus and those should be available in the guestrooms shortly. Thank you for your insights regarding the guestrooms, these comments will be helpful in determining where renovation monies should be spent. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to show you what a stay at the Palace Hotel should feel like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at many different high end SF chain hotels, but we keep going back to the Palace--most recently for six nights in January 2013. It is centrally located with easy access to shopping, tourist sites, and restaurants. We were attending a conference at the hotel which included conference meals. The food was fabulous. No rubber chicken here. Our hotel room was very comfortable. We took advantage of the exercise facilities, pool, and sauna--all very nice. The staff at the hotel were very well trained, polite, and helpful. We also had their Sunday Brunch with live jazz. It is the best brunch in San Francisco and is well worth the price. Actually it is one of the best in the world, literally, as we travel extensively. Also, if you get the chance, take the free SF Cityguides Tour of the hotel which covers its rich history. The hotel is updated but has maintained the feel of old elegance.

Room Tip: If you use exercise facilities, take a room on the 4th floor for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great service with an attentive staff. The bar is an old world classic. The atrium lobby is gorgeous, with good food. Agree with other reviewers that some public spaces could use some refurbishing, but the guest rooms themselves are lovely.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was the first time I had experienced the so-called luxury of the Palace Hotel and I was not impressed. Front desk staff were pompous, ill-informed and downright inefficient. It took three phone calls and an hour to get them to deliver keys to the room.
The rooms themselves, at least the two I saw first hand, were in dire need of repair. The in-room information package was a cheap, soiled photocopy, which had obviously been in the room for many weeks, despite the introductory letter saying it was a temporary solution while the permanent materials were being printed.
Breakfast service was poor, slow, inattentive and that's being kind. The staff wasn't able to fulfill a simple request for two cappuccinos before I had completed eating my breakfast despite there being no lack of personnel and very few guests at the time.
The one exception to the string of inadequate experience was the concierge, who was knowledgable, helpful and pleasant. It's a pity the rest of the hotel came nowhere close to her level of professionalism.
I will not be returning to the Palace and definitely recommending that others look elsewhere or be prepared to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher floors are brighter, but ask to see room first if in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm currently in the middle of a 4 day visit in San Francisco and staying at The Palace. Great experience. Beautiful historic hotel with excellent service and attention to detail. Treated me special on my birthday. The staff is friendly and tries to accommodate in every way. Perfect location. Also, breakfast was great.

The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because I think the rooms, although comfortable and nice, could use remodeling. Excellent experience, however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I gave the hotel five stars based on their wonderful service. Anything I needed they took care of immediately. Very friendly.

I just got back from another trip and stayed in the Trump Hotel in Panama. The view and rooms there were outstanding, but the service was lousy. The Palace knows how to treat people right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.