We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #46 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Grand Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

San Francisco classic. It's been around forever and gas been regularly and very well brought up to date. Convenient to Moscone Center,Union Square, BART, almost everything in downtown San Francisco. Ak for upper floor, have breakfast in Garden Court.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We strive to provide our guests with a historically beautiful hotel while still offering modern conveniences. Thank you for sharing our convenient location with our future Global Explorers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    714
    297
    104
    71
See reviews for
353
555
143
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here on business. It has one of the best rooms I have been in staying in the city, though it was spendy. Spacious, luxurious room, comfortable bed, and good service.

Stayed on third floor but still had surprising amount of noise from the hustle and bustle of the city. Not too bad though.

The duck confit macaroni and cheese is delicious and so rich you will want to share it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Palace Hotel is a gorgeous old hotel in a perfect location of San Francisco. The entrance is off of Market. The Garden Court is breathtaking as you walk in. The Bart station is right outside the door which is very convenient. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have been recently updated. The Christmas decorations are just beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing our first holiday review! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the holiday decorations; doesn’t it just bring so much happiness to the hotel? Thank you for sharing our convenient location with our future Global Explorers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I thouroughly enjoyed this beautiful hotel. From the minute you walk in the lobby
you are surrounded by beauty. My room was in the front of the hotel but did not
experience noise from the street. It is steps from the train station which connects
you to the airport. It is a bit on the expensive side but most everything in SF is.
Would definitely stay there again. Concierge very helpful in finding great restaurant.
It is also only few blocks from cable car stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was actually uncomfortable stating here because the room furnishings were so old Alan's misty and (seemingly) dirty. A sad thing for a grand old hotel. Still, a great location and beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are displeased to hear that you did not have the stay we strive to provide our guests. Comments like yours help us determine where renovation monies should be spent, so we are very thankful for the feedback. Thank you again and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to show you what a stay at the Palace Hotel should feel like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a classic San Francisco hotel that is over 135 years old. It is well located on Market St near Union Square, but not as close as Westin or Hyatt. But it is closer to Ferry Bldg. The BART is directly outside the side entrance. Short walk to Yerba Buena & SFMOMA museums. Quick check in & express check out. Had a minor problem that was expertly corrected by Fabricio Bermani, the front desk mgr, who provided us w/ drinks in bar while it is was fixed. Staff were friendly, courteous & ready to help. Free WiFi in lobby, but $15/day in room! Sunday jazz brunch in the deservedly famous Garden Court is expensive, but amazing, and it is after all, 2 meals. It is not your average hotel brunch. Rooms are small, but adequately appointed & clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

While this remains a stately older hotel, the service is not that of a 4 star hotel. The front desk has a recording when you call down which makes it difficult to report any problems and the staff is less than helpful then one would expect. The walls are quite thin so if you are as unlucky as I was to be placed next to a room with a crying baby, don't expect much sleep. Nevertheless, the location is wonderful and the public areas of the hotel are impressive. Weigh your needs carefully!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry to hear that the recording was not helpful and would love to hear your insights as to how we may perfect this service. If time should allow, please contact us at palaceinfo@luxurycollection.com. We would really appreciate the opportunity to learn how to improve this service. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.