We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They'll treat you like royalty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #52 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They'll treat you like royalty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We like to spend the day after Thanksgiving in the City to soak up the holiday atmosphere, and we usually stay at the St. Francis for its location. This year the Palace and we were glad we did as it is walking distance or easy public transit to get to shopping, museums, restaurants. It is part of the Starwood system and accrues points also. The room was comfortable, a fair size, well lit (lots of light for reading!), and the bathroom had ample room for my and my husband's toiletry kits as well as a magnified mirror. This is a gorgeous hotel - beautiful public rooms, a historic bar, and the best place to indulge for brunch in the city under crystal chandeliers. If you have the afternoon tea in the Garden Court you will believe you are in London. Everyone was so polite I felt like a queen.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor looking onto Market St. Sounds of traffic were minimal and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are so delighted to hear that you felt like royalty while staying with us at the Palace Hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding the guestrooms, public space and the Pied Piper and Garden Court. Brunch under the Garden Court is a true treat! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    617
    265
    95
    65
See reviews for
311
493
134
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a beautiful, historic hotel in a prime location near public transportation. The garden dining room is breathtaking! The indoor pool with skylights is a nice perk since not many SF hotels have this amenity. Because it is an older hotel, the bathrooms aren't as luxurious as they are at the newest Vegas type hotels, so no jets in the tubs, etc. But you don't see this type of building craftsmanship anymore at newer hotels. Very stately. Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingham, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

When I foolishly asked the registration clerk if I could have a “room with a view,” he almost rolled his eyes at me and said, “There are no rooms with a view. This is a ‘historic’ hotel.”

“Historic” is an understatement. It was like touring the Vanderbilt Mansion (in Poughkeepsie, NY), but getting to sleep there. In fact one of the speakers at the conference I attended said that he did not realize the Palace of Versailles was located in San Francisco.

I would recommend this hotel for business, solo travelers, and maybe couples. However, there were quite a few families with younger children staying there and they - the kids - seemed to be having fun. There is a lot to look at.

Staff was gracious and room was comfortable. The prices for extra things, internet, food were very high. You must though have a cocktail in the Maxfield Parrish bar. The mural is incredible. It is worth the $16 glass of wine. There are plenty of inexpensive excellent restaurants outside of the hotel within a couple blocks - gotta feed those bankers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Palace Hotel. We strive to provide our guests with a beautiful historic hotel while still offering modern conveniences. Thank you for your recommendation of the Pied Piper Bar & Grill. Thank you again for your review and recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

You can't beat this location for proximity to the BART station! You literally come upon the hotel when you get off at the Montgomery street exit.
There is a Ghiradelli store right in this building.
It was a short walk to the ocean to the market in the morning and not too far of a cab ride to Lombardi area (to see the crooked street)
We also walked back from Grant Street (China Town) and later a shopping district. Union Square was an easy walk from here, and pretty much anything you need to see. (It was less than a 10 min cab ride to the Pier where we boarded the Alcatraz cruise)
The room was clean, and pretty much quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is a grand and imposing looking hotel. There are plenty of gilded furniture pieces. The public spaces are well kept. The staff cannot be nicer and courteous. The BART station is in front of the hotel. Union Square is only a 3-4 blocks away as well as the Ferry Building.
However, if you are picky about how the room looks and the condition that it is in, then I think it might dampen your overall experience. My junior suite is big enough, but the furniture is falling apart. The bottom level of the end tables collapses with the weight of one book. The ceiling paint is cracking/peeling, the walls have red streaks what looked like somebody running a lipstick across it. The bathroom faucet is loose and leaky, the mattress needs to be replaced, and the carpet is showing its age.
It is not the most expensive hotel in town, it is close to the downtown and financial districts of the city. You can walk to many attractions. If the price is right, I wouldn't mind staying here again. However, better upkeep of the rooms would have made staying at the hotel a much nicer and grander experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very appreciative of your comments regarding the many Palace Ambassadors. Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms, this feedback is very helpful to us and allows the hotel the opportunity to fix the problems you encountered. I must assure you that what you experienced is not standard in our guestrooms, nor is it acceptable. We do hope you will consider the Palace Hotel upon your next stay and allow us the opportunity to show you what a stay at the Palace Hotel should feel like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'm used to getting bargain rates at old grand hotels in cities, and finding them sadly deteriorating, and located in no-longer-desirable locations. I got a bargain rate here, and expected the same, but found the public spaces and my room in great shape and looking glorious. And the location, central and right at a BART (rail system) station, is terrific, not only for business and sightseeing in the city, but also for catching an early morning flight, or arriving late at night.

I read in some other reviews complaints about the lack of a view from some rooms. It's a hilly city, and this is at the bottom of the hills, so there's nothing to get a view unless you were in a much taller building or on the water. Agreed, don't stay here if you are looking for a view, but hotels with views won't be as central and easy to get to.

I do agree with the complaint that the soundproofing between rooms could be better. I could hear my neighbor sniffling at night. I think it was just the door that can join the two rooms into a suite that wasn't soundproofed well. That would be worth fixing.

Note that although they don't have coffee in the rooms and breakfast is pricey there is free coffee in the lobby, or at least there was when I was there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel has great public spaces but the rooms need updating. The decor and furniture in the room need to go and the bathroom although clean enough needs a major overhaul. The indoor pool is fantastic and it is close to great shopping. The staff is attentive and very accommodating. If I were to rate only the staff then this hotel would get an excellent rating but the rooms were very disappointing considering the grand public spaces that greet you as you walk in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to hear that the many Palace Ambassadors were helpful, courteous and helped you have a more enjoyable stay here at the hotel! We are very appreciative of your feedback and will take your comments into consideration when discussing where renovation monies should be spent in the coming year. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.