This hotel has some fantastic positive characteristics. The train stop from the airport puts you right in front of the hotel (10 steps, no more). This is a fast, convenient, and very inexpensive at $16.50 for a roundtrip to and from the airport. I was in town for a conference, and the Moscone centre is about an 8 minute walk away.
Check-in is quite efficient, and the staff member I dealt with (for both check-in and check-out) was very thorough.
The room itself had high ceilings, and the furnishings were quite nice. My room had a wet carpet, which to me meant they had just washed it. It wasn't a problem. The bed was fine, and I would say it was comparable to the Westin bed. The linens were a step above Westin.
The biggest negative was the bathroom. I don't recall the last time I have seen a Starwood hotel that had rusty fixtures and mold in the bathtub. There was a fair bit of mold throughout the bathroom, and was a real turn-off. I didn't see the mold until late at night, and I was frankly too tired to kick up a fuss, so I lived with it for the three nights and mornings I had to bathe there.
With my status, internet is included, and it worked well for me during the entire stay. The fitness area was good. I only made it here twice, and although the controls on a couple of the machines didn't work, it wasn't very crowded, and there was a decent selection of free weights, resistance machines, and cardio machines. The fitness room looks over the pool, and that appeared to be a good size for a work-out.
The breakfast was included in my rate. I think if you had to pay for this, it would be very expensive, given the number of choices within a short walking distance of this hotel. However, you don't really pay for the food. The food was good, no doubt, but the room where they serve the breakfast is very grand and beautiful. It's a great way to start the day, particularly if you can schedule business meetings there. It really gives a great impression to your business partners. The breakfast rate made up for the fact there is no coffee in the room.
My ratings would have been higher, if not for the cleanliness issue, so if you come here and have a spotless room, I would suspect you would think this is a solid 4 star hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It is always such a delight to hear from our guests who truly experienced all that the hotel has to offer. We are very appreciative of your detailed and helpful review. Thank you for sharing our convenient location with our future Global Explorers. We are so pleased to hear that you had a smooth check-in and found certain amenities in the room exceeded your expectations. We are dismayed to hear that your guestroom bathroom was not up to standards. I can assure you that what you experienced in your room is not standard, nor is it acceptable. Thank you for your comments on The Garden Court; it truly is one of San Francisco’s historic gems. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back whether for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.