We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but so are many other hotels in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #50 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good location, but so are many other hotels in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is a grand and imposing looking hotel. There are plenty of gilded furniture pieces. The public spaces are well kept. The staff cannot be nicer and courteous. The BART station is in front of the hotel. Union Square is only a 3-4 blocks away as well as the Ferry Building.
However, if you are picky about how the room looks and the condition that it is in, then I think it might dampen your overall experience. My junior suite is big enough, but the furniture is falling apart. The bottom level of the end tables collapses with the weight of one book. The ceiling paint is cracking/peeling, the walls have red streaks what looked like somebody running a lipstick across it. The bathroom faucet is loose and leaky, the mattress needs to be replaced, and the carpet is showing its age.
It is not the most expensive hotel in town, it is close to the downtown and financial districts of the city. You can walk to many attractions. If the price is right, I wouldn't mind staying here again. However, better upkeep of the rooms would have made staying at the hotel a much nicer and grander experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are very appreciative of your comments regarding the many Palace Ambassadors. Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms, this feedback is very helpful to us and allows the hotel the opportunity to fix the problems you encountered. I must assure you that what you experienced is not standard in our guestrooms, nor is it acceptable. We do hope you will consider the Palace Hotel upon your next stay and allow us the opportunity to show you what a stay at the Palace Hotel should feel like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    656
    282
    97
    67
See reviews for
322
519
139
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'm used to getting bargain rates at old grand hotels in cities, and finding them sadly deteriorating, and located in no-longer-desirable locations. I got a bargain rate here, and expected the same, but found the public spaces and my room in great shape and looking glorious. And the location, central and right at a BART (rail system) station, is terrific, not only for business and sightseeing in the city, but also for catching an early morning flight, or arriving late at night.

I read in some other reviews complaints about the lack of a view from some rooms. It's a hilly city, and this is at the bottom of the hills, so there's nothing to get a view unless you were in a much taller building or on the water. Agreed, don't stay here if you are looking for a view, but hotels with views won't be as central and easy to get to.

I do agree with the complaint that the soundproofing between rooms could be better. I could hear my neighbor sniffling at night. I think it was just the door that can join the two rooms into a suite that wasn't soundproofed well. That would be worth fixing.

Note that although they don't have coffee in the rooms and breakfast is pricey there is free coffee in the lobby, or at least there was when I was there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel has great public spaces but the rooms need updating. The decor and furniture in the room need to go and the bathroom although clean enough needs a major overhaul. The indoor pool is fantastic and it is close to great shopping. The staff is attentive and very accommodating. If I were to rate only the staff then this hotel would get an excellent rating but the rooms were very disappointing considering the grand public spaces that greet you as you walk in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to hear that the many Palace Ambassadors were helpful, courteous and helped you have a more enjoyable stay here at the hotel! We are very appreciative of your feedback and will take your comments into consideration when discussing where renovation monies should be spent in the coming year. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

From the doorman at the beautiful golden door to the conceriage to the pool in the sky, to the grand buffet under the stained glass dome in the Garden Court, we loved everything about this hotel. As everyone has written before, the staff is beyond courteous and extremely friendly. The attendant at the spa/pool was very welcoming with chilled water bottles, freshly folded towels and crisp apples. Everyone we dealt with at the conceriage desk was informative and knowledgeable, and could even tell we didn't want a lot of extra information, just wanted our questions answered. The hotel itself is gorgeous, but then we love older hotels for all the history and special decor. We did upgrade to get a larger room, and it was plenty big enough. The bath was large and well appointed with upscale bath products. The location was great with cable cars and buses right in front as well as the BART. We didn't take the BART but it was there. There are enough stores, restaurants, lounges open in the evening that it didn't feel closed up and quiet and night, which I was expecting. Like everywhere we visited in SF, there were many homeless looking for money and cigarettes in the area. The buffet in the Garden Court was expensive, but also very good, as was the service. We would recommend this to anyone who prefers the style of an older hotel and excellent service.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger room, not that much more and allows a bit more space from what I read and saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are so delighted to hear that you felt like royalty while here with us at the Palace Hotel. Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review. We are always so pleased to hear from our guests that the service was superb and that each Palace Ambassador helped you have a more enjoyable stay. Thank you again for your comments on the guestrooms, location and the historic Garden Court. We are very appreciative of your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has some fantastic positive characteristics. The train stop from the airport puts you right in front of the hotel (10 steps, no more). This is a fast, convenient, and very inexpensive at $16.50 for a roundtrip to and from the airport. I was in town for a conference, and the Moscone centre is about an 8 minute walk away.

Check-in is quite efficient, and the staff member I dealt with (for both check-in and check-out) was very thorough.

The room itself had high ceilings, and the furnishings were quite nice. My room had a wet carpet, which to me meant they had just washed it. It wasn't a problem. The bed was fine, and I would say it was comparable to the Westin bed. The linens were a step above Westin.

The biggest negative was the bathroom. I don't recall the last time I have seen a Starwood hotel that had rusty fixtures and mold in the bathtub. There was a fair bit of mold throughout the bathroom, and was a real turn-off. I didn't see the mold until late at night, and I was frankly too tired to kick up a fuss, so I lived with it for the three nights and mornings I had to bathe there.

With my status, internet is included, and it worked well for me during the entire stay. The fitness area was good. I only made it here twice, and although the controls on a couple of the machines didn't work, it wasn't very crowded, and there was a decent selection of free weights, resistance machines, and cardio machines. The fitness room looks over the pool, and that appeared to be a good size for a work-out.

The breakfast was included in my rate. I think if you had to pay for this, it would be very expensive, given the number of choices within a short walking distance of this hotel. However, you don't really pay for the food. The food was good, no doubt, but the room where they serve the breakfast is very grand and beautiful. It's a great way to start the day, particularly if you can schedule business meetings there. It really gives a great impression to your business partners. The breakfast rate made up for the fact there is no coffee in the room.

My ratings would have been higher, if not for the cleanliness issue, so if you come here and have a spotless room, I would suspect you would think this is a solid 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It is always such a delight to hear from our guests who truly experienced all that the hotel has to offer. We are very appreciative of your detailed and helpful review. Thank you for sharing our convenient location with our future Global Explorers. We are so pleased to hear that you had a smooth check-in and found certain amenities in the room exceeded your expectations. We are dismayed to hear that your guestroom bathroom was not up to standards. I can assure you that what you experienced in your room is not standard, nor is it acceptable. Thank you for your comments on The Garden Court; it truly is one of San Francisco’s historic gems. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back whether for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a work conference. Clean average sized room. Neat antique hotel built in 1875. Gorgeous lobby area. View from my room was a roof and other side if the hotel. Walk to my room from the elevator was about 6-7 minutes. At check in the staff urges you to decline maid service during your stay. Expensive wi-fi. Decent location in financial district. Lots of public transportation right outside the front door. Rooms were very expensive for value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. The Make a Green Choice (MAGC) program is new to the hotel and offers guests the opportunity to support Starwood’s green effort by declining maid service during your stay. As a thank you for your efforts you will be awarded SPG points. Thank you for sharing our convenient location and accessibility to public transportation with our future Global Explorers. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were delighted with our experience at the Palace and would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a comfortable stay in a grand hotel with a rich history.

This iconic "Grande Dame" is centrally located, has stately public areas with wi-fi, comfortable rooms, helpful (if smallish) business center, lovely pool, and best of all, the service from all staff was superb! This included, providing: courier delivery to our room, a referral to a doctor on a Saturday night, excellent restaurant suggestions, tips for public transit to sites of interest, to name just a few.

We thought the hotel breakfast was a bit pricey, and so opted (as did other guests) to take out coffee and breakfast foods from one of the neighboring Starbucks (there are 3 within 2 blocks of the hotel). At the time of our visit, a Ghirardelli chocolate store had also opened in the building, complete with a rich, creamy hot chocolate more akin to its Spanish cousins, than the watery version found in most of North America.

Some North Americans might find the rooms a touch small, but for travelers familiar with hotel room sizes elsewhere, this is less likely a concern. For ourselves, we were there to explore the city, not spend all our time in the room. It had everything we needed, the beds were comfortable, the linens of quality, and it was well equipped technically.

When we were there, the hotel had a mix of businesspeople (including a number of corporate and industry events), families, friends and solo travelers staying there.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might not want to be directly above the main entrance as staff use a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.