We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, iconic hotel with exquisite service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #54 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, iconic hotel with exquisite service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were delighted with our experience at the Palace and would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a comfortable stay in a grand hotel with a rich history.

This iconic "Grande Dame" is centrally located, has stately public areas with wi-fi, comfortable rooms, helpful (if smallish) business center, lovely pool, and best of all, the service from all staff was superb! This included, providing: courier delivery to our room, a referral to a doctor on a Saturday night, excellent restaurant suggestions, tips for public transit to sites of interest, to name just a few.

We thought the hotel breakfast was a bit pricey, and so opted (as did other guests) to take out coffee and breakfast foods from one of the neighboring Starbucks (there are 3 within 2 blocks of the hotel). At the time of our visit, a Ghirardelli chocolate store had also opened in the building, complete with a rich, creamy hot chocolate more akin to its Spanish cousins, than the watery version found in most of North America.

Some North Americans might find the rooms a touch small, but for travelers familiar with hotel room sizes elsewhere, this is less likely a concern. For ourselves, we were there to explore the city, not spend all our time in the room. It had everything we needed, the beds were comfortable, the linens of quality, and it was well equipped technically.

When we were there, the hotel had a mix of businesspeople (including a number of corporate and industry events), families, friends and solo travelers staying there.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might not want to be directly above the main entrance as staff use a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    705
    602
    257
    94
    64
See reviews for
291
469
133
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I guess it's silly that my review is somewhat tainted by the fact that there was no blow-drier in the room...but it is. Outside of that fact, the room was large, the beds very comfortable, the pressure in the shower great. I'm not quite sold on the fancier hotels that don't have the coffee set-up in the room, but rather set up in the lobby area. Sometimes a girl doesn't wanna put a clothes on before having a coffee. Tried to use the hot tub...after waiting several minutes after pushing the button...and nothing happened...I gave up. The pool area was beautiful however. i only stayed here one night, perhaps more nights would have revealed more positive attributes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are so pleased to hear you found the room large, and comfortable. I would like to note for our future Global Explorers that majority of rooms will have the blow dryers placed in one of the dresser drawers. If you are to ever find that you cannot locate one in your room please contact Housekeeping immediately and they will assist you. Thank you again for your review and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a beautiful Art Deco (I think) hotel, which has been around for over a century.
The courtyard where breakfast is served every morning is outstanding (see picture) and the breakfast buffet absolutely lavish. The gym is about average: mildly archaic with fewer machines than ideal but it does the job and there is an adjacent pool. My room was very spacious and had a high ceiling. Street noise was considerable but the front desk gave me ear plugs. Related to that: service was overall great. Would definitely return for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I loved the grand feeling of the lobby of the hotel. I found the staff to be helpful and nice. I loved the location.....easy walking distance to many restaurants, union square, the BART and in the heart of the city. I did think that the rooms were modest and simple. But the bed was comfortable and slept well there. I did think that the grandness of the hotel lobby and restaurant were so lovely that when I walked into my room I was a bit disappointed.
It was quite expensive to stay at this hotel, but I think that most of hotels in the heart of San Fran are going to be expensive. I would definitely be fine staying here again, and mostly because of the location and because the rooms were very clean and comfortable (although modest).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, RI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I brought two 13 year old neighborhood girls with me from Rhode Island when I recently gave a talk in San Francisco focused on encouraging middle school girls to love and become involved in science and technology. My husband and I love this hotel for its architecture (it was the only hotel that survived the 1906 earthquake) and its charm and historic beauty. I also love the personal attention I receive every time I've stayed here. From the front desk manager, Ruben, to the housekeepers who left personal notes for the girls and also the servers at the Sunday Brunch in the Palace Court restaurant who explained each menu item (the girls took photos of each dish and loved every bite) I can't thank you enough. You made such a difference in their first trip outside the East Coast. They were thrilled, the trip was a success and it will be a lifetime memory for us all thanks to The Palace staff. Many thanks from a grateful lifetime Platinum SPG member.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite with a canopy bed and with an adjoining room for the girls. Perfect arrangemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are so delighted to hear that you were able to share your wonderful experiences with us and truly make a difference in the lives of these two girls. Thank you for your comments for Ruben, the lovely housekeepers and the servers in The Garden Court. We are so happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the Sunday Brunch. We are very appreciative of your loyalty to both Starwood and the Palace Hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As an avid reviewer of others comments I was wanting a very special few nights with the family's last few days after 2 weeks in a camper van. After poor service in an expensive Vegas hotel I was ready to be disappointed. Arriving potentially a bit scruffy in a posh hotel they treated
Us superbly from the word go, we have 4 kids aged 7-15. The rooms were excellent, great views, interconnected and very quiet. Pool was great, and gymn, relaxed use, location excellent, and the kids were amazed with it all.

Only downside was the price of breakfast, only once some of us paid 20-32 US dollars per person. I had to miss it as was so shocked, but enjoyed my cup of tea and the view. My strong advice is take the deal they offer in advance, it's worth it, as the dining room is absolutely spectacular and should not be missed, even if one morning. Even then, the waiter tried to help us get us the best deal and pay less, he was very reasonable.

We got the best service we had in the US, really helpful, professional and patient. Would definitely return. Great concierge.

I would add I live in hotels on business and have very high standards.

We left in a limo to the airport and clearly felt like kings!! Our luggage only just fitted n though, they do not have big boots!! :)

Room Tip: I think we may have it one up from the basic, and the honoured the interconnecting for our big famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It is always such a delight to read and share reviews from guests who experienced all the hotel had to offer. We are so pleased to hear that you had a remarkable stay! Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, the pool area, The Garden Court and more. We are so grateful for your review and for you referral of our property. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is in an impressive building, and I had one of the largest double bedrooms Ive ever stayed at but this is where the good review ends. The room decor was very old fashioned, my view was of the internal courtyard roof (not a view) the minibar was empty and turned off! It's ready for a refit. The breakfast was way too expensive, and you need to pay additional for wi-fi.

Room Tip: Hard to tell where the good rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are very appreciative of your feedback and are thankful for your comments regarding the guestroom size. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the refrigerator in the guestroom. Due to guest’s requests majority of our rooms offer an empty refrigerator for their own medicines, waters, sodas, etc. and a mini bar can be requested. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will visit the Palace Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 2 New Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a Luxury Collection Hotel in San Francisco near Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District, and Moscone Convention Center. We have elegant accommodations and opulent meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel San Francisco
Palace San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.