We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not horrible but certainly does not deserve the false 4-5 star reviews that are on here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Touchstone Hotel - City Center to your Saves list
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Fresno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's not horrible but certainly does not deserve the false 4-5 star reviews that are on here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days. There was a conference during the weekend and yes it was more affordable than the others because the regular 3+ stars were charging 300-600 per night or booked so this was the only option. Reviews said it was cheap, well I ended up paying 190 per night so no was not cheap. The room smelled and I complained several times, staff is nice but they never offered me another room or a discount just kept blaming the lady prior that stayed and stuck up the room, really? The walls had black marks on them, room was by the alley so about 6am every morning trash came through to pick up glass bottles (that was fun). Yes it's nice u get 25% discount at the diner downstairs but u can get better service and food at the diner around the corner, I found hair the first morning then just ignored it because it happens then the 2nd morning egg shells so didn't go back after that. By the way u need ur key to get in and out of the hotel all day! Which was annoying because most of the time there are beggars kind of just hanging out there so ur fumbling for your key while someone is approaching u for money. The decor was nice, staff was nice, location close to things, price not good, overall not worth $190 per night. There were so many other little hotels near by that aren't listed on the internet that u can stay at for a decent price and cleaner facility. Oh and if ur looking for a comfy bed and pillows, this is not the place. The bed and pillows were so hard!! So for an average 2 star hotel, they deserve 2 stars. A local motel 6 is cleaner and more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    93
    65
    15
    9
See reviews for
18
95
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night in June 2014. I arrived early around 11 am, not expecting to be able to check in. the guy on reception was fab. He got me checked in so I could drop my bag. He organised a city tour for me and my shuttle to the airport the next day. I had asked for a quiet room as I am a light sleeper and that is exactly what I got. My room was clean. The location was good too. Very close to Union Sq and easy to access on public transport. I was very pleased I chose the Touchstone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The location is really very convenient: very close to Union Square, within a short walk from many bus and train lines, near several restaurants, cafes and shops. There are some homeless people in adjacent streets and in Union Square itself but although I have been always by myself I have always felt save.

My room was tiny, quite tired and very noise (the main street is really noisy from very early until very late). However, the room was pretty clean as it was the bathroom which was also very small. The wi-fi was free and ok.

The staff is helpful and kind.

The hotel does not serve breakfast but there is an excellent breakfast place next door, 25% off for hotel clients.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay but I found the hotel overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Terrific position and every member of staff was helpful and friendly. Room was great and absolutely no noise problems. A great place to stay for San Francisco. Union Square, cable car, buses and BART are all close by.

Room Tip: 6th floor was no problem with the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My tour took me to 12 States and 15 Cities. I found this hotel to occupy a good location on Geary St., say 5 minutes walk from Union Sq., which to me is the best area to stay in. Very good value and the staff are all excellent. I mention Jane in particular (efficient, knowledgeable, helpful and always smiling) as she arranged all my very enjoyable excursions in the City. It was great to chat to her.

Perhaps a modest room but comfortable, clean and everything worked. Your in San Francisco, you want to discover all its diversity, so you need to be "out there" enjoying yourself and not in your hotel room! Noise is mentioned but this is a common trait in most cities around the world - my advice is to carry ear plugs and arrange a morning wake up call!!

The hotel is connected to David's Deli where you gain a 25% discount and where I had two enjoyable breakfasts.

Great City.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

- Great Location
- Good for the price
- Great Front Desk Staff (Nice people)
- [The street noise was no problem for me]
- Close to Union Square (one or two minutes walk)
- One of the most comfortable bed and pillows I ever sleep

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a hotel that is good value for your money, considering its location very close to Union Square and the friendly staff. The front desk is always available for help or just a quick chat, and there are maps of San Francisco and tours available there. There are sometimes cookies available as well and that is always a nice surprise. Airport shuttle is also available from the hotel.

The room itself is cosy and nice, although a bit small. Our room did not have air-conditioning though so it can get a little stuffy at times and that's when we open the windows. The toilet and shower is a little small too but its good enough and clean.

The best thing is really the location as we could walk to almost everywhere. There are also so many eating places around the hotel so worrying about meals never crossed our minds. The front door is also locked so you are required to swipe your room card before you can enter the lobby and this enhanced security becomes really useful at night. Overall, it is definitely a hotel worth your money :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with less street noise and they will give you one on a higher floor. IT does make a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Address: 480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Hotel - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.