We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Touchstone Hotel - City Center to your Saves list
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Terrific position and every member of staff was helpful and friendly. Room was great and absolutely no noise problems. A great place to stay for San Francisco. Union Square, cable car, buses and BART are all close by.

Room Tip: 6th floor was no problem with the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    113
    79
    15
    11
See reviews for
24
109
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My tour took me to 12 States and 15 Cities. I found this hotel to occupy a good location on Geary St., say 5 minutes walk from Union Sq., which to me is the best area to stay in. Very good value and the staff are all excellent. I mention Jane in particular (efficient, knowledgeable, helpful and always smiling) as she arranged all my very enjoyable excursions in the City. It was great to chat to her.

Perhaps a modest room but comfortable, clean and everything worked. Your in San Francisco, you want to discover all its diversity, so you need to be "out there" enjoying yourself and not in your hotel room! Noise is mentioned but this is a common trait in most cities around the world - my advice is to carry ear plugs and arrange a morning wake up call!!

The hotel is connected to David's Deli where you gain a 25% discount and where I had two enjoyable breakfasts.

Great City.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

- Great Location
- Good for the price
- Great Front Desk Staff (Nice people)
- [The street noise was no problem for me]
- Close to Union Square (one or two minutes walk)
- One of the most comfortable bed and pillows I ever sleep

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a hotel that is good value for your money, considering its location very close to Union Square and the friendly staff. The front desk is always available for help or just a quick chat, and there are maps of San Francisco and tours available there. There are sometimes cookies available as well and that is always a nice surprise. Airport shuttle is also available from the hotel.

The room itself is cosy and nice, although a bit small. Our room did not have air-conditioning though so it can get a little stuffy at times and that's when we open the windows. The toilet and shower is a little small too but its good enough and clean.

The best thing is really the location as we could walk to almost everywhere. There are also so many eating places around the hotel so worrying about meals never crossed our minds. The front door is also locked so you are required to swipe your room card before you can enter the lobby and this enhanced security becomes really useful at night. Overall, it is definitely a hotel worth your money :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with less street noise and they will give you one on a higher floor. IT does make a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Flatlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Touchstone is a budget hotel near Union Square, within a short walk from many bus and train lines. This is around what you can get for $100 in this area. My room seemed more like a dorm room, with modest furnishing and amenities, but everything is functional and clean. The highlight of my stay was the friendly and helpful staff.

My biggest complaint is that while traffic noise isn't bad during the day, late at night the vagrants argue, fight, and make trouble so loudly that it can be hard to sleep, even if they are some distance away. Other than this, it's a decent place to lay your head on a budget. You're in San Francisco. You want to be out there, not in your hotel room.

This hotel is probably not suitable for a romantic getaway.

The front entrance of the hotel is locked, because the hotel is on the border of the Tenderloin district, though the immediate area seems safe. Avoid going down Taylor toward Market.

The hotel is located right across from a Walgreens that stays open until midnight. It's on the same block as some restaurants that stay open quite late. The hotel is connected to a diner.

The hotel has free wi-fi. The bathroom has a shower stall, no bath tub.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On a business layover and looked for the most reasonable hotel I could find in the city. Almost everything was booked in town and prices were very high. My usual spot, the Del Marco was double it's normal price. So I clicked on the Touchstone. It is in a word an old hotel. It has been updated, but the room has a radiator that is off most of the time and this weekend was cold, so the room was cold. I did find a space heater in a closet to the attached room day 2 and that helped alot. The hotel is in Union and my room looked over an alley. There is a lot of noise, especially at night. That is city noise but also a lot of homeless person screaming and crashing. There is no AC so in the summer you will need windows open to get air and that would be really really difficult. They provide earplugs and I used them plus loud white noise. The people over me on floor 6 were really loud, lots of pounding and TV noise at 2am, so that awoke me.

There is an excellent breakfast place next door, 25% off and it was great. The Starbucks is two doors down, again nice to have. The location is awesome. The worst homeless and I mean aggressive street people I have seen in all my millions of miles of travel is in this neighborhood, so be ready to see what the world will be like if we have a super-depression; its bad.

I wonder whoever decided to put the flow restricter shower heads on ever takes a shower under them. This showerhead was terrible. It requires 2x the shower time and it leaked and was dysfunctional and frustrating. Bring your own shampoo etc. the hotel stuff sucks.

Rooms are clean but very used and abused; the internet is great and free. Water is provided. The service is excellent and friendly. Ice is provided with a smile upon request. The elevators are old and slow so I used the stairs to climb up and down 5 stories; good exercise.

Overall I liked my stay, it fit the bill and the hotel is exactly what you pay for. Mostly Chinese and Eastern European tourist from what I observed, and fully booked for the most part. I used BART Powell station to get back and forth to the airport but they have a shuttle for $15 bucks ( I don't like vans). BART is like $9 bucks and fast.

Room Tip: Get up high and realize there is alot of noise, city noise and more. No AC or air movement, get a F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Chose the hotel after much review and stayed here for 4 nights. 5 mins walk to Union Square and 15 walk to Chinatown. A rather good location. The Twin Beds Room was relatively small and the shower was really cramped even for petite Asian build. Upgraded to a Double Beds Room with much more roomy bathroom. While the hotel was situated along Geary Street, the noise did not affect the sleep at night but in which case they provided ear plucks if you really needed them. The staff were helpful, place was overall clean with modern furnishing contrary to some hotels with old looking bed settings. Like the free wifi and no hidden cost. For the price paid less than $100 a night, its more value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the Double bed Double Room if you are sharing room with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#98 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#120 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#167 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#109 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Address: 480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Hotel - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.