We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Touchstone Hotel - City Center to your Saves list
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Duluth, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first and last nights in San Fran. We did a campervan trip to the redwoods in between. The hotel price was very good. Also, the location was great! We booked a few weeks before through booking.com but when we showed up we didn't have a reservation. Something had gone wrong and it got canceled but we didn't realize it. The guy at the front desk was really helpful and got us a room for the same price. We were happy with our room, it was comfortable, but nothing extravagant or fancy. But we didn't expect that nor did we really want that. We didn't spend a ton of time in there since we were out exploring the city.

We liked rolling out of bed and going to diner that was right next door for breakfast. And you get a coupon for 25% off your meal!

On our last night we arranged a shuttle to the airport through them which was a good price. The elevator wasn't working and our room was on the 6th floor. The front desk guy was very kind and offered to bring our bags up for us. My husband brought them for us though and it was fine. When we left a couple hours later for dinner it was already fixed! We didn't like the room we had on our second night as much as the first but it was just fine. It was just a little smaller and the layout wasn't as good.

The hotel itself was cute and it had nice art and business area with computers. It was clean and the people working there were friendly and professional.

I would stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    94
    67
    15
    10
See reviews for
18
97
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is a great choice if you are traveling to San Francisco. The prices are very accessible, i ended up paying about $130 USD a night for a double room with private bathroom, which is a gift considering the location and considering that you are in SF.

As I've said, the location is great, no more than a 2 minute walk and you are in the heart of the city, Union Square. There a lots of busses that pass through the hotel or very near to it, for which is very easy to move around. Also, its a very safe place to walk at any time, there are some homeless people, as in every zone of SF, but its a very busy area, with restaurants, shops and business opens always so you'll feel safe always (at least i did).

The hotel itself is super cute, it's small but it's carefully designed. The rooms have everything you need and have the feel of a boutique hotel. The beds are comfy and the hotel, room and bathroom are very clean.

The staff is very kind and helpful. They are willing to help in everything they can. They are also very knowledgeable and can offer tips and recommendations.

You should definitely consider the hotel if you want to be in a great location, for a great price.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, so as back rooms. Rooms 602 (single) and 609 (double) worked perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Right after I booked 4 nights in this hotel, I read some bad reviews and was a little apprehensive. However, the location is unbeatable at the low price I paid, and the hotel was actually absolutely fine. Staff were really helpful and polite; I asked ahead for a quiet room away from the street, and although I have a view of a brick wall, it's dark and quiet at night and pretty much everything I need to get a good night's sleep, which is all I'm really doing in my room anyway (out exploring 16 hours a day!).

The rooms aren't 5 star luxury but they're great for what you pay for. Wifi was easy to access and fast, and little extras like a couple of free bottles of water and a few soaps/toiletries were an unexpected bonus. My room had an air conditioning unit/heater which was really helpful for climate control, and also had two spare fans in the cupboard in case I got too hot, as well as a spare blanket in case I got too cold!

I had some packages delivered to the hotel before I arrived and they happily stored them safely for me for a nominal fee (about $1 per item per day).

All in all, I'd definitely stay here again. A great budget hotel for sightseers.

Room Tip: I heard some bad reviews about people who found rooms on outside walls (near the front street or all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was a bit concerned before my stay because the price seemed too good to be true. But I was actually quite pleased with my stay. My room was clean and comfortable. There was free wi-fi and water bottles. The location is fantastic and you cannot beat the price. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The people at Touchstone were extremely nice and helpful. We loved our stay here and would definitely come back again. It's a very close walk to Union Square, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms were small but homey, they had a very nice feel to them and were exceptionally clean considering the age of the hotel.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

To cut a long story short - due to all sorts of reasons were were unable to stay in our pre-paid hotel room here. (Blame the air company)!!! I contacted the hotel and they without hestitation reimbursed the full hotel fee.
One day we will see San Francisco and there wiull not be any other hotel for consideration. With this level of polite humanity and service mindedness - we would be mad to think of anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel was a nice place to sleep after a tiring day touring the beautiful city! Hotel is at a GREAT LOCATION, just of the Union Square but slightly dated. Sound proofing was terrible, I could here people in rooms adjacent to my room! Staff were all very helpful, helping me book a shuttle to the airport as well as tourist tours around the city. On the plus side David's deli attached to it which provides nice breakfasts (25% discount if you are staying in the hotel). Hotel could have been a bit cleaner thought, most parts of the room where dusty. Certainly a good choice if you are on a budget and you just want a place to lie your head after a busy day touring around San Francisco!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Address: 480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Hotel - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.