We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place at good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Save Saved
You added Touchstone Hotel - City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
new jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average place at good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Touchstone is just that. It is a touchstone for you to leave your bags ...and later go to sleep while in San Francisco. It is not a destination hotel. I booked it here because I spend very little time in a hotel and the price was really excellent for San Fran.

My room was really small. In fact, one of the concerns i had was that it didn't even have a full length mirror. Probably wouldn't fit! It was very clean but definitely could use a coat of paint. Lots of scrapes and marks on the walls. Bathroom was tiny but shower was hot and so no complaints there.

Bed was super comfortable and the first night i slept great. I had read reviews about the noise but quite honestly, noise doesn't usually bother me. The telling factor was the ear plugs provided in the room. The second night there was a "drum concert" on the street with people banging garbage cans. This lasted over two hours. I realize this is not the hotel's fault but it is something to consider if you don't have the luxury of sleeping in and need a full night's sleep.

Free wi-fi is provided in the rooms but was not in service my second day. Diner adjoined to hotel was pretty good and i enjoyed the 25% discount.

My overall opinion of this hotel is it is Average and that's not bad. It's good if you are a tourist and just need a place to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    85
    61
    15
    7
See reviews for
17
88
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very cozy,european feeling..not fancy but one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in.No smoking allowed,so there were no musty odors at all.( Noisy on the street at nite and no a/c...the only negative )Very comfortable. The staff very nice and accommodating. The deli was very good;started our day off with a tasty breakfast, not a typical continental most hotels provide. The location was excellent,except if you go 2 blocks the wrong way you are in the "tenderloin" which is not a good area to get lost. I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.. And last,the accessability to transportation was excellent! Loved the cablecars!!!

Bunny ,Miami,Fl

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feckenham
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a fine little hotel. Rooms are on the small side but they're clean and comfortable. Despite the previous comments about the lack of staff at night we found that there was always someone on duty and all the staff were helpful. David's Diner does a decent and convienient breakfast (only $7 is you book it through the hotel) and there's a Starbucks just a couple of doors down for coffee. Free WiFi in the rooms is great. There are a good many "characters" on the street at night and this, together with rowdy revelers at nearby clubs, does make it a bit edgy - the Tenderloin is but a step away so care is needed if you're out late. Having said that, we didn't experience any real trouble and the advantages of being in the centre of town generally outweighed the disadvantages. It can be noisy at night - garbage trucks at 2am, etc - but that's life in the big city! Good value for money and a safe haven in a busy town.

Room Tip: You might think rooms at the back would be quieter - but there's a service road at the back - ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We knew what to expect from other reviews and were pleasantly surprised on arrival to get two adjacent rooms for our four night stay so we had a mini-suite. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel but there was still some street noise reverberating through the period feature sash windows. We took ear plugs - it wasn't a problem and the convenience of the location more than compensated. The breakfast option in the deli downstairs was a great change from the usual motel bun-fest. Good food and friendly staff.

Other reviewers mentioned homless folks on the street: we used Google for hotel directions from the Powell Street Bart station (the Bart train is a great way of getting into the city from the airport by the way) and these took us west into bits of Tenderloin before heading up to Geary. Here's where you'll find the homeless and it felt pretty rough. Instead, from Powell St station follow the cable car line up Powell Street until you hit Union Square, then bear left up Geary for a block and a half to the hotel. No problems using this route.

Desk staff can give you a 10% off voucher for Blazing Saddles bike rentals round the corner. The bike over the Golden Gate Bridge exprience is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Thanks to the previous reviews, I knew to expect tiny rooms, small elevator and an urban environment. I was pleased to find the rooms and bathroom clean and cozy -- and I checked the bedsheets as soon as we arrived. The street noise was significant, so I was glad we had brought along a white noise machine.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, both on check-in and when I was trying to get a taxi. It's a tiny hotel wedged into a busy and a bit sketchy city block, so I appreciated the personal touch and attention. The rooms were nice but also tiny -- I was glad to get two adjoining rooms for myself and my daughter so we could use the shower in the larger room. the bathroom in the smaller room would've been hard to use. I liked the design touches in the rooms: plant in the shower, nice choices of accessories. They do a lot with what they have.

When we showered in the morning, we left the bathroom door open. The steam set off the smoke alarm intermittently for about 10 minutes. This was inconvenient for us and I hope it didn't wake up any other guests! Another note: if you use the 25% discount at the adjoining diner, make sure to tell the waiter before you order or they won't honor it. And avoid the potato pancakes, which were thick and tasteless. Everything else was yummy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is in a great location to visit the city. The hotel itself has small rooms and that could use a renovation. The windows are poor to isolate the exterior sounds and there is no central heating.
The room was quite clean and had a competitive price.
There are homeless people around but they are everywhere in this central area. This shouldn't be considered as a negative point for this hotel. If you want to avoid that you'd have to chose a different area, not just a different street.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back. The rooms facing the main street are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. suburbs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were not looking for a high-end hotel, but somewhere to get a good night's rest before each day's sightseeing. This hotel has a European feel (small elevator and one-person front desk), was very friendly and clean. Victoria at the front desk made us feel very welcome.

Room was modest in size. Bed comfortable. Bathroom large. Towels a little small for American tastes. Good hot water. Windows can open for fresh air. There is Wifi, and also there are a couple of computers available.

There was bottled water in our room waiting for us and sometimes apples available for a take-along snack. No coffee maker in room, but coffee shops just a few steps outside front door.

Touchstone provides a discount for the restaurant next door, though we did not eat there because of other arrangements. The restaurant and menu looked good, though. Loads of good places to eat in the neighborhood.

Suggestion to management: put a second waste can in the bedroom, not just in the bathroom. Put a towel bar near the bathroom sink. Provide a box of tissues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Address: 480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Hotel - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.