We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Touchstone Hotel - City Center to your Saves list
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“Homey Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very cozy,european feeling..not fancy but one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in.No smoking allowed,so there were no musty odors at all.( Noisy on the street at nite and no a/c...the only negative )Very comfortable. The staff very nice and accommodating. The deli was very good;started our day off with a tasty breakfast, not a typical continental most hotels provide. The location was excellent,except if you go 2 blocks the wrong way you are in the "tenderloin" which is not a good area to get lost. I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.. And last,the accessability to transportation was excellent! Loved the cablecars!!!

Bunny ,Miami,Fl

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    94
    67
    15
    10
See reviews for
18
97
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feckenham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a fine little hotel. Rooms are on the small side but they're clean and comfortable. Despite the previous comments about the lack of staff at night we found that there was always someone on duty and all the staff were helpful. David's Diner does a decent and convienient breakfast (only $7 is you book it through the hotel) and there's a Starbucks just a couple of doors down for coffee. Free WiFi in the rooms is great. There are a good many "characters" on the street at night and this, together with rowdy revelers at nearby clubs, does make it a bit edgy - the Tenderloin is but a step away so care is needed if you're out late. Having said that, we didn't experience any real trouble and the advantages of being in the centre of town generally outweighed the disadvantages. It can be noisy at night - garbage trucks at 2am, etc - but that's life in the big city! Good value for money and a safe haven in a busy town.

Room Tip: You might think rooms at the back would be quieter - but there's a service road at the back - ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We knew what to expect from other reviews and were pleasantly surprised on arrival to get two adjacent rooms for our four night stay so we had a mini-suite. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel but there was still some street noise reverberating through the period feature sash windows. We took ear plugs - it wasn't a problem and the convenience of the location more than compensated. The breakfast option in the deli downstairs was a great change from the usual motel bun-fest. Good food and friendly staff.

Other reviewers mentioned homless folks on the street: we used Google for hotel directions from the Powell Street Bart station (the Bart train is a great way of getting into the city from the airport by the way) and these took us west into bits of Tenderloin before heading up to Geary. Here's where you'll find the homeless and it felt pretty rough. Instead, from Powell St station follow the cable car line up Powell Street until you hit Union Square, then bear left up Geary for a block and a half to the hotel. No problems using this route.

Desk staff can give you a 10% off voucher for Blazing Saddles bike rentals round the corner. The bike over the Golden Gate Bridge exprience is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Thanks to the previous reviews, I knew to expect tiny rooms, small elevator and an urban environment. I was pleased to find the rooms and bathroom clean and cozy -- and I checked the bedsheets as soon as we arrived. The street noise was significant, so I was glad we had brought along a white noise machine.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, both on check-in and when I was trying to get a taxi. It's a tiny hotel wedged into a busy and a bit sketchy city block, so I appreciated the personal touch and attention. The rooms were nice but also tiny -- I was glad to get two adjoining rooms for myself and my daughter so we could use the shower in the larger room. the bathroom in the smaller room would've been hard to use. I liked the design touches in the rooms: plant in the shower, nice choices of accessories. They do a lot with what they have.

When we showered in the morning, we left the bathroom door open. The steam set off the smoke alarm intermittently for about 10 minutes. This was inconvenient for us and I hope it didn't wake up any other guests! Another note: if you use the 25% discount at the adjoining diner, make sure to tell the waiter before you order or they won't honor it. And avoid the potato pancakes, which were thick and tasteless. Everything else was yummy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is in a great location to visit the city. The hotel itself has small rooms and that could use a renovation. The windows are poor to isolate the exterior sounds and there is no central heating.
The room was quite clean and had a competitive price.
There are homeless people around but they are everywhere in this central area. This shouldn't be considered as a negative point for this hotel. If you want to avoid that you'd have to chose a different area, not just a different street.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back. The rooms facing the main street are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. suburbs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were not looking for a high-end hotel, but somewhere to get a good night's rest before each day's sightseeing. This hotel has a European feel (small elevator and one-person front desk), was very friendly and clean. Victoria at the front desk made us feel very welcome.

Room was modest in size. Bed comfortable. Bathroom large. Towels a little small for American tastes. Good hot water. Windows can open for fresh air. There is Wifi, and also there are a couple of computers available.

There was bottled water in our room waiting for us and sometimes apples available for a take-along snack. No coffee maker in room, but coffee shops just a few steps outside front door.

Touchstone provides a discount for the restaurant next door, though we did not eat there because of other arrangements. The restaurant and menu looked good, though. Loads of good places to eat in the neighborhood.

Suggestion to management: put a second waste can in the bedroom, not just in the bathroom. Put a towel bar near the bathroom sink. Provide a box of tissues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed the European feel of this hotel. The place is not super clean but they have the best showers and water pressure I have ever experienced in a hotel. Indeed the location is ideal as it is within walking distance to many of the tourist attractions. But you must run the gauntlet of homeless and mentally ill each time you leave your room. There is no nice peaceful stroll down the street without being hit up for cash or the smell of pee in the air. I realize this problem exists everywhere, but when you are on vacation is really sucks to be in the middle of this depressing scene. We went to get in our rental car and a guy was pooping behind it while other homeless people were leaning up against it hanging out. The majority of the union square area is like this. Mostly at night it gets worse. Everyone says the location is great but I have to say I disagree. We paid a little more the next evening to stay near the Fishermans Wharf and it was well worth it. We felt safer, it was cleaner, and we weren't bothered for cash at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Address: 480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Hotel - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.