We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel in a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Touchstone Hotel - City Center to your Saves list
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“decent hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is in a great location to visit the city. The hotel itself has small rooms and that could use a renovation. The windows are poor to isolate the exterior sounds and there is no central heating.
The room was quite clean and had a competitive price.
There are homeless people around but they are everywhere in this central area. This shouldn't be considered as a negative point for this hotel. If you want to avoid that you'd have to chose a different area, not just a different street.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back. The rooms facing the main street are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outlanderlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Phila. suburbs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were not looking for a high-end hotel, but somewhere to get a good night's rest before each day's sightseeing. This hotel has a European feel (small elevator and one-person front desk), was very friendly and clean. Victoria at the front desk made us feel very welcome.

Room was modest in size. Bed comfortable. Bathroom large. Towels a little small for American tastes. Good hot water. Windows can open for fresh air. There is Wifi, and also there are a couple of computers available.

There was bottled water in our room waiting for us and sometimes apples available for a take-along snack. No coffee maker in room, but coffee shops just a few steps outside front door.

Touchstone provides a discount for the restaurant next door, though we did not eat there because of other arrangements. The restaurant and menu looked good, though. Loads of good places to eat in the neighborhood.

Suggestion to management: put a second waste can in the bedroom, not just in the bathroom. Put a towel bar near the bathroom sink. Provide a box of tissues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magister_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed the European feel of this hotel. The place is not super clean but they have the best showers and water pressure I have ever experienced in a hotel. Indeed the location is ideal as it is within walking distance to many of the tourist attractions. But you must run the gauntlet of homeless and mentally ill each time you leave your room. There is no nice peaceful stroll down the street without being hit up for cash or the smell of pee in the air. I realize this problem exists everywhere, but when you are on vacation is really sucks to be in the middle of this depressing scene. We went to get in our rental car and a guy was pooping behind it while other homeless people were leaning up against it hanging out. The majority of the union square area is like this. Mostly at night it gets worse. Everyone says the location is great but I have to say I disagree. We paid a little more the next evening to stay near the Fishermans Wharf and it was well worth it. We felt safer, it was cleaner, and we weren't bothered for cash at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I read lot of good reviews about this hotel and booked confidently. I am a budget traveler but still wanted to be in the downtown and so looked at this hotel.
The Good: The location is in the heart of the city and just blocks away from Market Street and Union Square. Loads of restaurants & pubs around which makes life easier. The rooms were clean and was equiped with LCD television with some good channels. The hot water pressure was very good and the staff was very helpful. They were very prompt in giving you directions, helping you in finding places etc.
The bad: I was kind of disappointed the moment I entered the reception area. There is no sitting lounge at all. You can barely stand in the reception area along with your lugguage and so felt it was little more expensive for $110 a day. The rooms were not that great and found them cramped. The window opened in the duct area and so no sun light and no outside view at all. My deal did not include breakfast and so I had to pay extra for breakfast and the menu was not at all impressive. I opted for it just for a day and then chose other restaurants around for next day. I know that the San Francisco downtown area is very expensive but still I expected a decent sized room with spacious reception atleast. It is good for one/two night stays and who do not expect much at this price

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avadhutjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I booked this hotel at the last minute, concerned (as a single female) about the 2 stars, but reassured by booking.com's 'preferred' status. I was pleaseantly surprised - the front desk service was friendly and helpful-called me by my first name & I felt welcomed. Sure it's an older hotel but the bathroom was nice and clean, the bed comfortable - both fresh smelling - and the room overall good.. With new carpeting (and more vacuuming) it would be 3 stars. Will stay again.

Room Tip: In downtown SF it's noisy so bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maevenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great hotel for spending a weekend in SF, right in the middle of downtown. Don`t expect luxury, but if you are familiar with smaller European hotels in downtown, you will admire the clean, tidy rooms and amazing location. Overall, it offers everything that you would expect from a downtown budget hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back side of the hotel are quieter - Geary street is a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
567 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few years back. Great central location. Rooms are a tad small but that kinda adds to the quirkiness. I plan Togo back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#101 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#134 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#89 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#12 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,461 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#114 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#100 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Address: 480 Geary Street, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing