We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy on weekends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Petite Auberge to your Saves list
Petite Auberge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Albuquerque
1 review
“Nice but noisy on weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I enjoyed the hotel, breakfast, cookies, coffee (excellent!), and all the other amenities. Never made it for the nightly drinks and snacks as was out sightseeing. The service was excellent. There were relatively good restaurants within 2-3 blocks walking distance.

As my stay was in October and the weather was a little warm, I had to keep the windows open as there is no AC. Unfortunately there is a very noisy brew pub across the street and a nearby youth hostel. This can be a problem on weekends if you want to go to sleep earlier than 1 am. It did sound like a "rave" as one reviewer stated. Sunday night was relatively quiet. Also the hotel is up the hill and requires a hike from the BART station, difficult when toting your luggage, but that is to be expected in San Francisco. And I'm almost 60 years old and not in the best of shape. But the hotel is otherwise in a good location and is a good value by San Francisco standards.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    225
    59
    32
    16
See reviews for
62
412
45
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lyme
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything about our stay was perfect. We loved the room, the location, the staff, the breakfast - everything! We will definitely come back.
The staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay so nice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a good location and the breakfast and happy hour were nice touches as well. The place is charming but needs to be updated and there was no one at the front desk, you had to go next door to get someone to grad you a taxi. The elevator was old and clunky so I used the stairs instead which was fine until I had to lug my bag down 4 sets of stairs

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very well situated hotel providing excellent service. Large sized room with gas fireplace that added charm and warmth. Good breakfast and very nice wine and snacks provided in the afternoon. A good place to stay

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The cleanliness is very good. PA used to be very much more a country inn in the middle of SF - the new décor is less of that. In fact a little weird. Breakfast used to be more complete it seemed, with varying types of quiches, eggs, hot and cold cereals, and fresh fruits and fruit juices. this was still very good. but just a tad off the last 15 years quality.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Irk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was a surprise. Very French atmosphere and an olderstuyle building...turn of the 1900's. The hotel was only partly serviced however everything was available. The complimentary happy hour was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in San Fran for the Dreamforce conference. We had attended last year and were able to get housing through the conference but were too late. I located this gem during my internet search. There were four of at the hotel and this place was such a respite from the crazy conference. The daily breakfast was a delight and to come back to clean rooms and a wine and cheese hour was so appreciated. I have recommended this place to my brother who does trips to the city and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Address: 863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petite Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.