We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Petite Auberge to your Saves list
Petite Auberge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Carmel Valley
1 review
“Nice and Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very comfortable and quiet room and love the fireplace. This was our fifth time and we love the rooms ending in 6 and especially Room 56 on the top floor. As Joi de Vivre members, the wine choices are very good too.






  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    226
    63
    32
    16
See reviews for
62
415
46
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our stay was okay. It was just not good that our heating didn't work (quite cold in the morning, and before bed).
One of the only hotel with real knife and plates. No plastic! Fresh fruit salad for breakfast was nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Auberge is a cozy haven. Good variety of breakfast and the cookies in the afternoon and wine hour is really nice. The guests often come together over a glass of wine and mingle. The rooms are cute and comfortable. Great pillow top mattress! Litght sleepers beware, it is an old house (which is part of its great charm), so you do hear creeks and steps, but they will give you earplugs at reception if needed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We travel a lot and stay at a lot of hotels and found the staff at the Petite Auberge to be kind, happy, and helpful. We would return to Petite Auberge for this welcome bunch of staff (in spite of the city street noises).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Room was small,but nice. Bed very comfortable. Relatively quiet most of the time, but some loud street noises. Breakfast and happy hour outstanding. Ambience excellent. Concierges very helpful in directions.



  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The staff was very friendly. The hotel is quaint. Our room was small, but the bed was comfortable. I hit my head on the wall-mounted TV twice after adjusting the shades, as there was about a foot of space between the bed and wall. Our room was not directly on the street, but the noise from the bar across the street went on till 2 a.m. The floor of the room above us was creaky, the shower upstairs made a high-pitched noise at 5:30 a.m., and I wished I'd brought earplugs. Breakfast was ample but not gourmet as advertised. We missed the evening wine, so I can't comment on that, but the downstairs area was charming. Most likely would not return due to the noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a really cute quaint property right on Nob Hill. The rooms are cozy and very comfortable bedding. Very clean for an old hotel. The only downside was the parking, but its downtown which is to be considered normal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Address: 863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petite Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.