We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very cute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Petite Auberge to your Saves list
Petite Auberge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Fall Rates!
Ranked #36 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and very cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I didn't think not having air con would matter in November in San Fran but we caught the hot spell so the room was very hot. Very cute but small rooms, though some are larger than others. Get a room not next to the elevator as it is noisy. Nice breakfast and lovely staff

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    241
    68
    33
    17
See reviews for
68
433
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Global Traveler
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visit San Francisco annually; used to live there. Booked our flights before realizing that I had booked for the busiest week in San Francisco tourist history: Fleet Week, Blue Angels, Bluegrass Festival, SF Giants playoff games, 49er game, America's Cup sailing, Madonna concerts, Folsom Street fair...it was all on. I guess I should have wondered why this property had availability when the entire City was all but sold out...

Reservations didn't work on-line, but the receptionist was great on the phone. Check in was next door at the adjacent property...Petite Auberge is really an annex of (annex to?) the White Swan Inn. Being a "Joie de Vivre" hotel gave me some assurance the place would be OK. We booked for three nights; nothing much else was free.

Room was OK, a little overly 'chintzed' - the faux Laura Ashley look - but the gas fireplace was everything I had hoped it would be on cool SF afternoons and evenings. The fireplace was indeed the best part of the stay. No desk, and we rearranged the room to be able to see the television (other than while standing)...it would be tough to be there on business.

I've lived in a lot of cities - and this is the noisiest hotel I have ever been in. There must be a bar or club that is adjacent - after our first night we went strolling around looking for it but couldn't find it. There was some girl who from 1 - 2 AM just screamed '[--]!!! LET'S RIP THIS PLACE UP!!!' over and over again. They closed the place and the party continued in the street. All the rooms open on to an alley and a parking lot, so any noise echoes like crazy.

As the property is on the edge of the Tenderloin, there tend to be a fair number of homeless folks in the area. And they get into their fare share of incoherent shouting matches in the nearby allies and streets. In the wee hours.

At 5.30 every morning, someone took a couple of large trash receptacles bouncing down, and then back up the stairs. I suspect it was from the mystery bar.

Sorry to be a downer - but the noise pretty much ruined every night for us from midnight to dawn. Not much sleep.

The breakfast was OK. Nothing special. THEY HAVE GREAT COFFEE!!!

Don't park a car at the hotel. Valet parking is about $35/night, and the minimum wait to retrieve it is 20 minutes. Our last morning, they lost the remote key for the 'keyless' ignition and it took 45 minutes to get the car.

One night we returned at around 11 PM and asked the lone person at the White Swan (as Petit Auberge is locked up tight) to please call the valet. He said he'd get to it and took the key. I'm not sure why but he started the car and left it unlocked...with a lot of our belongings in the car. I had to come back, track him down and lock the car and wait for the valet myself. I asked why he had left the car unlocked - and he gave me a hard time.If not already so sleep-deprived, I would have gotten his name.

Summary: I would not stay here again - there are lots of better choices in SF. Very, very noisy. Cute, but not user friendly. And some staff that need to find another line of work.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, or better, choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam1975, General Manager at Petite Auberge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Petite Auberge. I am sorry to hear that the noise from the neighboring businesses disturbed your sleep and that you experienced problems retreiving your vehicle from our valet parking service. I will be sure to address these issues with the staff so future guests do not have the same experieince. I am happy you enjoyed the fireplace and the coffee offered all day in our parlor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey Foot Corner, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Right off the top the important question; would I stay here again? Without hesitation I would say yes. Petit Auberge is a clean, comfortable, secure place to stay. It is convenient to Union Square, Nob Hill, Chinatown, Embarcadero, Cable Cars, busses, etc.

True to its name Petit Auberge is petit but the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, our bed comfortable and what could be wrong with a place that has a cookie jar in the lobby?? The breakfast included in the rate was quite good (eggs, meat, fruit, croissants, cereal, juice and such) and the complimentary afternoon wine and hors d’ouevers was most enjoyable. Coffee and tea were always available.

Petit Auberge does NOT have lots of amenities. If you need a gym, pool, concierge, bellman, restaurant, bar, spa, meeting rooms and the like you’ll want to stay elsewhere. San Francisco is notoriously expensive and in a town where three and four hundred dollar hotel rooms are standard our room for under $200 a night was a gem. We had what is described as a “cozy queen” and cozy it was! But we don’t come to town to stay in a room we come to see the sights and experience the culture so a small rooms suit us fine. An earlier review suggested this might not be the best hotel for business. If you need work space you might try a hotel that caters more to business travelers. We did used the Wi-Fi and found it worked quite well but it is unsecured.

An earlier review mentioned the floors are squeaky and you will hear some street noise. They offer ear plugs if you need them. The entrance is about 8 steps up from the street. If you have mobility problems you may have difficulty accessing this property. Once inside the hotel there is an elevator, it is tiny but your grandmother or great grandmother would recognize it instantly.

Nob Hill, Union Square and Chinatown are within easy walking distance. On 2 occasions we walked to the Ferry Building (about 1 mile…and downhill) and I walked to and from the BART station at Market and Powell Streets. The Powell and the California Street cable car lines are each 2 blocks away.
If this particular Joie de Vivre Hotel doesn’t meet your needs they have 5 or 6 more so check them out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice, clean hotel with affable staff, most of which were at the adjacent White Swan. Breakfast which was included, was adequate. Hotel is old and you can hear lots of squeaky noises from the room above. Currently there is construction in the adjacent building with noises starting as early as before 7 AM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A room with a fireplace can be charming, but while Petit Aberge has some nice touches like that, it lacks some of the basic. The bed was spring-y and uncomfortable and the wifi was spotty at best. Add that to the fact that my room, although quite large, did not have a desk at all and it adds up to a place that isn't a great fit for the business traveler. The free breakfast was good (sausage & quiche), but also missing are amenities like, have someone at the front desk. Not a huge deal, but a bit of a pain to have to run next door to check out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for fire place - larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while we visited San Francisco. Staff was very nice. Room was big and there was fireplace. Building is quit old and you see that but it didn´t bother us. Daily free winetasting with tasty snack was good way to spend afternoons. Location is good. You can walk from hotel to Union square in 10 minutes. Water ja soft dring with out any extra cost was excelent and we found it very handy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights on our first visit to San Francisco in September. We found this to be an ideal location just a few blocks from Union Square and only a couple of blocks from all three cable trolley lines.
The plentiful and delicious buffet breakfast had a different hot selection every morning and the complimentary cookies and the evening wine and snacks were a great touch, the latter giving you chance to meet your fellow guests if you wished.
We had a De Luxe King room on the top floor which was spacious and had a fireplace which we did not need to use as was hot and sunny during our visit but would be ideal in colder weather.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The front desk is not always manned but not really a problem as you only have to go next door to the White Swan for prompt attention.
It is in an older building but did not notice any noise from other guests and no more noise from outside than you would expect in any city.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay her and would certainly stay here again if fortunate enough to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Address: 863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petite Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.