We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, affordable rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petite Auberge

Save Saved
You added Petite Auberge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petite Auberge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Turkey Foot Corner, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay, affordable rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Right off the top the important question; would I stay here again? Without hesitation I would say yes. Petit Auberge is a clean, comfortable, secure place to stay. It is convenient to Union Square, Nob Hill, Chinatown, Embarcadero, Cable Cars, busses, etc.

True to its name Petit Auberge is petit but the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, our bed comfortable and what could be wrong with a place that has a cookie jar in the lobby?? The breakfast included in the rate was quite good (eggs, meat, fruit, croissants, cereal, juice and such) and the complimentary afternoon wine and hors d’ouevers was most enjoyable. Coffee and tea were always available.

Petit Auberge does NOT have lots of amenities. If you need a gym, pool, concierge, bellman, restaurant, bar, spa, meeting rooms and the like you’ll want to stay elsewhere. San Francisco is notoriously expensive and in a town where three and four hundred dollar hotel rooms are standard our room for under $200 a night was a gem. We had what is described as a “cozy queen” and cozy it was! But we don’t come to town to stay in a room we come to see the sights and experience the culture so a small rooms suit us fine. An earlier review suggested this might not be the best hotel for business. If you need work space you might try a hotel that caters more to business travelers. We did used the Wi-Fi and found it worked quite well but it is unsecured.

An earlier review mentioned the floors are squeaky and you will hear some street noise. They offer ear plugs if you need them. The entrance is about 8 steps up from the street. If you have mobility problems you may have difficulty accessing this property. Once inside the hotel there is an elevator, it is tiny but your grandmother or great grandmother would recognize it instantly.

Nob Hill, Union Square and Chinatown are within easy walking distance. On 2 occasions we walked to the Ferry Building (about 1 mile…and downhill) and I walked to and from the BART station at Market and Powell Streets. The Powell and the California Street cable car lines are each 2 blocks away.
If this particular Joie de Vivre Hotel doesn’t meet your needs they have 5 or 6 more so check them out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    205
    47
    31
    14
See reviews for
54
374
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice, clean hotel with affable staff, most of which were at the adjacent White Swan. Breakfast which was included, was adequate. Hotel is old and you can hear lots of squeaky noises from the room above. Currently there is construction in the adjacent building with noises starting as early as before 7 AM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A room with a fireplace can be charming, but while Petit Aberge has some nice touches like that, it lacks some of the basic. The bed was spring-y and uncomfortable and the wifi was spotty at best. Add that to the fact that my room, although quite large, did not have a desk at all and it adds up to a place that isn't a great fit for the business traveler. The free breakfast was good (sausage & quiche), but also missing are amenities like, have someone at the front desk. Not a huge deal, but a bit of a pain to have to run next door to check out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for fire place - larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while we visited San Francisco. Staff was very nice. Room was big and there was fireplace. Building is quit old and you see that but it didn´t bother us. Daily free winetasting with tasty snack was good way to spend afternoons. Location is good. You can walk from hotel to Union square in 10 minutes. Water ja soft dring with out any extra cost was excelent and we found it very handy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights on our first visit to San Francisco in September. We found this to be an ideal location just a few blocks from Union Square and only a couple of blocks from all three cable trolley lines.
The plentiful and delicious buffet breakfast had a different hot selection every morning and the complimentary cookies and the evening wine and snacks were a great touch, the latter giving you chance to meet your fellow guests if you wished.
We had a De Luxe King room on the top floor which was spacious and had a fireplace which we did not need to use as was hot and sunny during our visit but would be ideal in colder weather.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The front desk is not always manned but not really a problem as you only have to go next door to the White Swan for prompt attention.
It is in an older building but did not notice any noise from other guests and no more noise from outside than you would expect in any city.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay her and would certainly stay here again if fortunate enough to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent location, clean comfortable room, great breakfast and wine with snacks in the late afternoon. Attentive staff,, very reasonable rates. I really can't think of anything else that you would want. This is not a luxury hotel but a great small boutique "bed and breaktfasty place". Just up the street from Union sSquare and Chinatown.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor in the rear if ou want very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's like B&B, but don't feel uncomfortable because people leave you alone, give you privacy. you don't have to talk to strangers if you don't feel like it. Of course, you can talk to strangers during wine tasting if you like. Breakfast is excellent and their hours are nice too. You can sleep in but don't miss their breakfast hours. You don't have to check in with anybody, you just go downstairs, eat and leave. The same thing for wine tasting. I don't drink, but enjoyed a little snack they had. Id you're planning to eat dinner, don't eat that because you'll get full. There is no front desk person, you go to white swan next door for check in and questions, that was kinda nice too I felt free not monitored. Noise is not that bad at all, it's not a big hotel, it's an old house with 23 rooms, so you can hear people walking or talking sometimes, but at night it was very very quiet. I don't know if I got lucky, but I didn't see anybody who are ready to party and get obnoxious at this place for 4 nights I stayed here. Most of them are from europe, lots of french speaking. It's on Bush very close to intercontinental mark hopkins and fairmont hotel. but don't have to clime up that far, when I stayed there before, I got sick of walking up the hill, but this place is is perfect, I think. Very close to union square, but don't have to hear cable car noise. Room is small (I paid extra for fireplace), but it's cute, and nicely decorated. If you have to have a flat screen tv, this is not a place. They have a small old tv, yes it would be nice if they have a small flat screen, but I think they want to keep "country inn" feel. I really enjoy joie de vivre chain, every place I stayed, they were different and nice. I would stay here again for sure, there are not that many places who offer nice breakfast and wine and free internet and free water (it's sad, but you can't even get a free bottle of water at many expensive hotels) If you're getting tired of typical hotel you have pay for everything, this is the place for you!! We loved this place so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Address: 863 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petite Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.