We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn San Francisco and the Mission District a great combination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn San Francisco to your Saves list
The Inn San Francisco
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   943 South Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Edmonton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“The Inn San Francisco and the Mission District a great combination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We had an enjoyable stay at the Inn San Francisco. The location was great for us. We really loved the contrast of the Mission Street area from daytime to nighttime. The Latin buzz of the area was replaced by a culinary treat at night.

The Inn is beautiful with heaps of character. The breakfasts were great and it was sure nice ending the night off in the hot tub. All of the staff were friendly.

The only complaint we would have is that our bedroom (35) wasn't condusive to a great night's sleep. The queen size mattress wasn't great for a couple and separation of the toilet and sink was inconvinient at night. However, we realize that this is a very old building and one has to give us something to get all of the character that comes with it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    53
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
148
26
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

we loved this place, especially the brunch, atmosphere & focus on pre-'06 SF history.

it is very relaxing, a beautiful building and back yard. located in Mission it is not best start for those travellers new to SF, but great central location with all the flavor of the city. having lived in SF, I know it as one of the best neighborhoods for restaurants & shops. we visited during a '10 World Series home game & were happily unaffected by it.

I highly recommend the Inn SF, it is a hidden gem of relaxing luxury.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We arived to this beautiful hotel and fell in love with both the place and the staff. My partner and I booked for 2 days and ended up staying three weeks. The rooms are all different and plushly decorated, some are fit for royalty with spas and fireplaces and private balconies. There is also a 24 hour jacuzzi in the garden which is great after a hard days sightseeing. Marty The owner is a wonderful man who takes time to get to know everone, making sure everyone is happy. He also provides a restaurant map of the local area with ratings and a map and if you are very lucky will occasionaly drive you there himself. The buffet breakfast every morning was delicious and we met many of the other guests over papers and coffee. The Mission area is vibrant with many restaurants and bars and there is easy access by the BART train and buses to all the sights and the rest of the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Inn San Francisco was more beautiful than any photos I have seen thus far.

Elegance best describes the decor.
Excellent best describes the staff!
The breakfast and local restaurants were delicious.

We shall return.
Thank you Marty, John, Liza and Fred.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We loved our room. Feather Bed is difficult to get used to. Breakfast is great. Very friendly staff. Marshmellow the Corgi is a great mascot.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed there for his birthday and it was absolutely wonderful. The moment we walked in the staff were very friendly and informative. The Inn is very charming. One room is more beautiful than another. The view from the roof top is spectacular and the secluded garden with redwood hot tube made it prefect. They serve very nice breakfast from 7am to 11am which we really liked since we didn't get back to our room till 2:30 am that night. The rooms are very very CLEAN and the beds are SUPER comfortable. We obviously recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at the Inn San Francisco for 3 days in September. It was our first time in San Francisco, and I must say the staff at the Inn were extremely helpful with showing us around. We were immediately given a list of the neighborhood restaurants all drawn up on a map and help with reservations. They even gave us a free upgrade upon check-in as there were several open rooms at the time.

The Inn itself is an old Victorian mansion - extremely quaint - you feel as if you are a guest in someones house. Every morning there is a free breakfast downstairs, fruits, quiches, boiled eggs... perfect really.

Located in the Mission district, we couldn't have asked for a better neighborhood either. The rent is cheaper, so creative shops and restaurant owners seem to be on every corner.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Inn, and will definitely be staying there on our next trip back to San Francisco!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Address: 943 South Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.