We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Reunite with Friends and Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn San Francisco to your Saves list
The Inn San Francisco
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   943 South Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Reunite with Friends and Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn in S.F. for a birthday celebration and the hospitality of the owner Marty and the staff was Exemplary. It is a lovely old mansion with a sitting room, garden and roof all ideal for relaxing and enjoying the company. The rooms are roomy and beautifully decorated.A lovely breakfast and late afternoon tea to relax after touring. It is well located in the Mission District and there are delicious ecletic cafes in the area.

Mina Schwartz

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    53
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
148
26
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we arrived at The Inn, Marty and Megan were there and greated us with smiling faces and seemed like very nice folks. We had a very nice room on the second floor in the second building near the garden. It was facing the street and I found it to be fairly noisy at times, but not bad overall. We had a shared bathroom room..this was not the best arrangement, but I guess I could have paid a little more for a room with a bathroom in it...
Marty is a character! He is understandably proud and protective of his property..be careful around all the beautiful antique furnishings! We had some fun with him. Megan is always pleasant and nice.
The rooftop view is very nice and the proximity to the Muni bus stops is a plus. Marty and Megan are eager to help you find places to eat or how to get somewhere.
This was my first stay at a B&B and the staff at The Inn made it an enjoyable one!

Room Tip: Might want to get a room with a bathroom in it and one looking toward the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Our flight was delayed 4 hours and Marty waited up well into the evening for our arrival. He then gave us a very friendly nickel tour of the property. Our room was comfortable with a small flat screen tv, mini fridge and plenty of pillows.

I can't say enough about the fresh buffet-style breakfast spread including mango, papaya, watermelon, strawberries, kiwi, cantaloupe and honeydew to name a few. There were also meats and cheeses and two types of quiche, not to mention the apple or pumpkin pie. Certainly fortified for a day exploring the city.

We didn't have a car so we relied heavily on public transportation and a shuttle service to and from the airport. The location was decent enough to be convenient to everything we cared to do.

Overall a great experience and would certainly stay again at The Inn San Fransisco.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLINGTON
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

"Welcome Home", that is how you are greeted when you enter the door at this lovely B&B in the Mission District only 2 blocks from a MUNI stop. We chose this as it was close to our niece's home and we found it a lovely place for our stay in San Francisco. Our room on the first floor was elegantly and tastefully manner, with more than enough storage space for our clothing and luggage. We slept peacefully too, thanks to the quiet hours after 10 PM. For a small hotel, the amenities are wonderful, a compact garden to sit and read, write or quietly converse; a hot tub located therein and a roof top lounge to view the surrounding neighborhood and get wonderful views of the city, or the fog, depending on the weather. In the morning an elaborate buffet of food is available including vegetarian and non-vegetarian quiche, rolls, bagels, meats and cheese, fruits and juices. In the afternoon port and sherry as well as snacks are available. The staff is extremely friendly, seeing to your needs. They were extremely accommodating to our need to store our luggage after we checked out as well as allowing us the use of the facilities while we waited to be picked up. Highly recommended for anyone wishing a change from the hustle of a large hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of Washington, DC
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A great place to stay. Beautiful garden and incredible rooftop views of the city! The rooms were clean and well decorated, breakfast was plentiful, and the staff was outstanding - very helpful to tourists in explaining how & where to access public transportation and get to the areas we wanted to see. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I regularly stay at inns and B&Bs but virtually never with our children. This was one of those rare occassions as the Inn has a cottage that accomodates all 6 of us. Marty, the owner, and his whole staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We were early to check in and our room was not yet ready. He invited us in for their breakfast even though we typically would not have that until the morning after the stay. Several staff members came out to our car and unloaded all of our luggage to take to the room later. The inn is very nicely appointed, the rooms are comfortable and the food is fantastic! Marty indulges all of his guests. You will have a hard time finding a nicer property than this one in SF.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spent 3 nights in the Garden Cottage with wife and two college age kids. Rooms was VERY nice and comfortable for the four of us. The common areas were extremely clean and the view from observation deck thingy was truly amazing. The staff was awesome in every possible way. We utilized one of the garages across the street and a word of warning they are small (had a full size rental and it just fit--don't plan on parking your full size SUV there and it is doubtful that a mid-size would fit). Breakfast was plentiful and the fruits, eggs... were very good, a disappointment though were the baked goods, although good they were not "home made" . Please understand they were very good, but when I stay in a BnB I don't expect store bought. Two other minor complaints, guests on their cell phones in the BF room and common areas, I was also working but i limited my cell phone usage to our rooms and outside; lastly the dog. We are all dog lovers but not sure how appropriate it is to have the dog sitting on the chairs. Again overall a great experience and would most likely stay there again but need to call it as I see it.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked very nice--Garden cottage was perfect for 4 adults (two of which are col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Address: 943 South Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.