We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and cute (small) room, but slow valet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Griffon to your Saves list
Hotel Griffon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Weekend Parking
Ranked #25 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great staff and cute (small) room, but slow valet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

I was travelling alone for business, and the location was perfect. The room was really small (see photos), but that was fine by me as I was travelling alone and didn't spend much time in my room (plus it still felt really cozy). I really liked the exposed brick, and thought they did a good job decorating the room. I had no view (literally looked at a wall), but that was ok. The only time I really noticed the room being small was when room service showed up and I had nowhere to really eat my food!

The valet service is really too slow (15 mintues for your car), so leave lots of time for that. But the staff is incredibly friendly.

I ate next door at the trendy, crowded Japanese place "Ozumo" and enjoyed the people watching and yummy sushi.

  • Liked — Great location, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — slow valet service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    130
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
39
198
48
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Illinois, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

The Hotel Griffon is in an excellent location near the Ferry Building. The rates are reasonable ($164 on hotel website). I don't recommend it, however, as there are many nicer hotels in San Francisco. When I arrived after a long drive from southern California, the front desk clerk suggested I go out and park my own car on the street. I had to ask twice for the car to be parked -- I was tired, it was almost midnight and the neighborhood was new to me. There was no bellman, no greeter. The next morning, when 9 a.m. and the end of the complimentary breakfast arrived, the cleaning crew swooped all the food, coffee and hot water away, and took the guests' plates, etc. even though several people were still enjoying coffee with a newspaper, etc. The staff didn't ask if anyone wanted more coffee, or leave the coffee for refills. Very rude. The in room temperature control didn't work, neither did the ice machine. With poor service and an indifferent staff, the incredible location and decent price can't save this hotel from a mediocre rating.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor service, poor staff training, inhospitable
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

Hotel Griffon has a cute charm to it, but I would only stay here again if the price was very low and I was not planning on spending a lot of time in the room.

Pros:
Cute, historic charm. Nice exposed brick wall in room and great Aveda bath products. Good location, although we usually had to walk a block or two to get a cab. Continental breakfast was nice. Everything appeared very clean. I requested more towels and they were sent up quickly. We were very impressed with all of the staff, including the front desk, in the restaurant, and at breakfast.

Cons:
Many people said small rooms, which usually don’t bother me, but our room was beyond small. I actually felt a little claustrophobic because the window looked out into a very small, dark, dirty brick cave-like hole. There are also very few king beds because many of the rooms are too small to accommodate them. Despite booking months in advance and requesting a king bed multiple times, I could only get a full bed. The rooms must also be all different sizes because I was with other people who paid the same rate and both had slightly larger rooms so you may get the luck of the draw on your room.

The sink and mirror in the room was a little strange but at least there was good counter space.

The location of the TV mounted on the wall was just too high and awkward.

The bed and linens were below average and the pillows were definitely very old, as they were extremely flat.

The shower had very low water pressure. In fact, I think the sink faucet had more water flow and pressure than the shower.

I was on the third floor, close to the elevator and the stairs, right above the fireplace downstairs and there was a definite smell in the hallway that other people wrote about, but I couldn't smell it in the room.

I could however, very clearly hear every word being spoken in the hallway, even when I could tell that people were trying to be quiet. There was also a substantial gap between the door and the floor which let in a lot of light in the night.

Lastly, the temperature controls were not very good. Sometimes the room was too hot and sometimes too cold and the basic warm/cool control in the room did very little to change the temperature.

Verdict: Hotel Griffon tries very hard, but is average. It is probably better to stay in an upgraded, guaranteed King room with a view, but for those prices I would just stay somewhere else, especially with two people in a room. Don't even think about roll away beds or having kids with you!

  • Liked — free wireless internet, Aveda products, friendly service
  • Disliked — small rooms, lack of furniture, uncomfortable bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Book an upgraded room, ask for guaranteed King
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

Fine hotel and good location, but tiny rooms that face a brick wall with incredible pigeon screeches beginning at 6am. The room was so small that I had to work sitting on my bed -- the desk was miniscule. The staff was helpful, though it took four tries for them to figure out how to connect to their wireless Internet in their lobby. There are many more interesting hotels in the area -- like the Rex Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

Stayed here in October and really enjoyed it. The room, although extremely small, was clean and charming. Maybe a room with a view might make a difference in staying here again - we had the view of a brick wall. But the location was great!! And it beats staying someplace like the Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Griffon for two nights back in March of 2005. Basically, I feel there is nothing wrong with the hotel. It has a certain "charm" because it is an old building. I did notice the sloping floors as I headed towards the elevator, but our room itself did not have a problem. The room was small, but nice, and we did not have any problem with musty smells at all. There is only one major complaint I have regarding this hotel. Although they have indoor parking at a price, it is a good block away and, worse than that, it is the most cramped, horrible, parking environment I have ever encountered in a parking garage. Without maneuvering several different times you cannot get into or out of any of the spaces. That being said, if you don't have a car to park, The Griffon is an okay hotel, but I think you could do better for the money. Try the Petite Auberge and get a fireplace room and a fantastic breakfast, including wine and appetizers in the evening for the same price. And yes, Petite Auberge has valet parking.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

Wouldn't stay here again. We had a harbor view room, the view was great, but the room was incredibly noisy and also incredibly small. Sink in the room, nothing terribly impressive about the room, although the bed was comfy. Carpet was stained, bathroom nothing special. Not surprisingly, the rooms look much better on their web-site. The staff was helpful, the continental breakfast a nice touch, but that is about it! If you like the location the Harbor Court Hotel is next door.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Address: 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Griffon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Griffon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.