We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, alright all in all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Griffon to your Saves list
Hotel Griffon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Weekend Parking
Ranked #26 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced, alright all in all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed 2 nights on a business trip, as the conference's venue was close by. The room was alright, rather small, no real window (adjacent building blocks all light), hard to get some fresh air into the room. Friendly staff, restaurant right in the building (breakfast served at 8, a bit late, but there's a Starbucks 5 minutes away). If you need a place close to the piers, it's a fair choice, but at a steep price for the location.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Nils S.,
We thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your comments. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience and we are sorry that the accommodations did not offer a good value for you. We have several room choices for our guests to choose form and prices do fluctuate based on business demand. We are pleased that you found our friendly staff and location along the waterfront conducive to your visit to San Francisco. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    130
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
39
197
48
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at the Hotel Griffon exceeded expectations. The location is excellent- tucked away on a small street but just around the corner from the beauty and activity of the Embarcadero waterfront. Our room had a lovely water view; we overlooked the Bay Bridge. A few minutes walk took us to many restaurants and the fantastic Saturday morning Farmer's Market where I could have spent the entire day. A perfect spot for breakfast and fresh fruit snacks from the central valley.
Hotel staff was welcoming; room amenities very nice. A lovely boutique hotel experience. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water side are nice!
See more room tips
Green Features: A green hotel, it is in S.F. after all! Especially loved the soap with the hole in the middle!!! Lobby offers high quality coffee and tea selection and fruit daily.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear MLCChester_NJ,
Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent visit to the Hotel Griffon. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and are pleased you enjoyed our great location close to the Ferry Building, your room with a view of the Bay Bridge and our welcoming staff. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when travels return you to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in SF on business over a weekend, and so I brought my wife up for the trip. The location is fabulous; a two-block walk from the Ferry Building and all of its restaurants. Additionally, you can catch the streetcar and the cable car nearby. The service is friendly and professional, and are more than willing to assist in any way necessary. Bringing your car is a bit problematic; there is little parking available nearby and the hotel really doesn't have any spaces of its own and so trying to park to check in can be really difficult. Also, because my organization had negotiated rates with the hotel, the rooms assigned to our group were the really small rooms. Think about the rooms in an old NYC hotel and you get the idea. It was cozy; perfect for a weekend but perhaps a bit claustrophobic if you're there for a week. You might want to spend a bit more to get the larger rooms. All in all, it's a really nice boutique hotel in a fine location.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear El-Cholestero,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Griffon for your recent business trip. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience, especially our fabulous location near the Ferry Building and our friendly and professional service. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located at the Embarcadero offering an enjoyable, trendy experience. It was comfortable walking to restaurants and the ferry building. Seems much more exotic than being in the city centre. Having cocktails beside the Bay Bridge was a fun event.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear David T,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are so pleased you enjoyed our fantastic location along the Embarcadero waterfront with easy access to great restaurants and the Ferry Building. Having cocktails by the Bay Bridge does indeed sound fun! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I was meeting my husband here to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. I arrived first, checked in and while chatting with staff they sent up (to my surprise) a really nice bottle of chilled champagne to start our celebration.Our room, though small, was more than adequate, very clean and well appointed. I loved the brick walls, nice touch!! After my husband arrived they suggested several different close by restaurants. We brought dessert home with us and forgot we had no forks…..no problem housekeeping was happy to run them up to our room. Thanks everyone for helping to make this a very special occasion! We'll be back :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Cathy I.,
We thank you for the kind words and feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodations and personalized service and we were happy to read about your great stay with us. On behalf of myself and the staff, we wish you once again a happy anniversary and thank you for sharing your special event with us!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Griffon early afternoon (before check-in) on a Saturday. Noel was very helpful in getting us an early check-in. We really enjoyed our proximity to the Ferry building and all of its shops and cafes.

After a long day sightseeing and eating dinner at Perry's, we went to bed.....only to be woken up from the band starting up at the next door Regions lounge. I went to the hotel staff and they provided us with another room away from the noise. The situation was handled professionally.

The only disappointment I had with Hotel Griffon is that I thought an exercise facility was on site. Rather, the exercise facility is steps away at the YMCA. Nothing wrong with that except we wanted to work out on Sunday and the YMCA didn't open until 9a.

If you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the front of the hotel near the lounge.

Again, staff is very attentive and the location is excellent!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear gdible2012,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our attentive staff and our convenient location. We are sorry you experienced noise from a neighboring establishment. It certainly can be a frustration to be awoken from your sleep. I have shared the comment with the establishment to ensure they remain a considerate neighbor. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future and thank you for staying with us.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

What a treasure this little historical gem is..do stay here ..delightfully welcoming staff..great food..perfect location.. I was extremely pleased and very comfortable. Tastefully decorated and immaculately clean..free YMCA gym pass next door. How much better does it get?

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Traveler292929,
We thank you for your kind comments and are pleased to read how you enjoyed our historic boutique hotel. We are glad you were happy with our friendly staff, our great location along the waterfront and the delicious food at our onsite restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Address: 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Griffon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Griffon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.