We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Griffon to your Saves list
Hotel Griffon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Weekend Parking
Ranked #24 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

As noted by other reviews, the rooms are quite small. However they were nicely decorated. We were given a room that didn't not have a view out (faced another building) but since we booked on a discount site, we weren't expecting the best room in the house. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The attached restaurant (Perry's) was quite good. We didn't use room service but ordered food to go on a couple of occasions and were not disappointed.

The location is great. Close the waterfront and public transit. We found it easy to get to/from the airport using the BART with luggage and a baby in tow. Also within walking distance of Union Square and Chinatown (if you're willing to stretch it).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are pleased you found our service, in house restaurant Perry's, and our central and convenient location enhanced your experience. Our location near the Ferry Building, BART, and Union Square is certainly well suited for families who want to see San Francisco.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels return you to the city by the bay

At your service,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    124
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
39
193
48
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

this hotel was in walking distance of so many sites on our mini vacay so it was super convenient. the room was absolutely beautiful and i was so surprised at the smart design and use of space in the room. service was above excellent and i am so appreciative to how they organized parking, considering SF is one of the worse places to park. we went to perry's for drinks but the food look absolutely delicious.. will have to try it next time. coffee/tea and fruit as well as newspapers in the lobby are great for those on the go. surprised to see little outlets/plugs by every seat in the lobby - major plus for the modern traveler! they were really considerate and followed all my specifications that i filled out during the booking process. for this price, you really can't beat it. i stayed in another hotel not too far and only a little cheaper but it was hideous, outdated and inconvenient. i must note, i loved how into the griffon theme the entire hotel was, very cool. i love love loved the go green initiatives and amenities esp. the bar soap (nice exfoliation!), pillow chocolates and HAND SANITIZER - yay!! would most def stay again!

Room Tip: liked the spot near the elevator - which is small but direct access in and out for those on the go!
See more room tips
Green Features: thought these were great.. as stated: LOVED THE SOAP, so smart!!!
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to have had you as our guest and wish to thank you for sharing your feedback on your "mini vacay". We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful, well designed rooms, excellent service, and Perry's restaurant just off our lobby. Thank you for noticing some of our "green" initiatives as we strive to minimize our impact on the environment while maintaining a high standard of quality for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in room 219 which has great views on the Bay Bridge and is right on Embarcadero. The check in service is great - attentive and genuintly friendly. The room is dissapointingly small with a slated/sloping floor. Noise insulation is remarkably good but you will hear the street noise well at night. If you are a light sleeper, avoid this hotel. The bathroom is clean but lacks a basin (in bedroom). The bed was soft but comfortable. The location of is center and in the immediate vicinity, you will find some restaurants and bars. The hotel has a bar/restaurant and gets pretty crowded afterwork. Fine hotel for one or two nights but rooms are small (except for those on either end of the building, none have windows...) with good service.

Room Tip: As hotel only has 5 floors, going higher does probably do little to stem the street noise. Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our attentive, friendly service and the great views of the Bay Bridge and Embarcadero waterfront. We are sorry you found the room to be a bit small, but we do offer a variety of room types that vary in size. Our central location is very convenient to local attractions, bars and fine restaurants. We look forward to your return to the Hotel Griffon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can't say enough about how friendly the staff was and how incredible their customer service was!! A great option if you want to stay on the Embarcadero, but you don't want to stay in a ginormous hotel like the Hyatt. Very central location. The restaurant "Perry's" off the lobby had excellent food as well (not hotel-like at all) and great ambiance (apparently, it's a big hangout for watching the SF Giants). The only thing I was missing was a mini fridge in my room to keep drinks cold, but it wasn't that big of a deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out to the water for a great view of the Bay Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were 3 women and one dad - the staff upgraded us so that our 85 yr old dad could have a view of the Bay Bridge with all the lights. We women had a suite room with a comfortable pull out bed + a Queen which worked fine. The housekeeper came right in with water and chocolates. Probably could have used one more blanket on the pull-out, but it was late by the time we discovered this. The rooms are top notch with all the amenities. The restaurant (Perry's) attached to the hotel was fantastic...and with one hard-to-please catering chef in our group this was huge. We had dinner and then a late night nosh...plus great breakfast the next day. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were only at the Hotel Griffon for one night before flying back to UK after a 2 week touring holiday of California. The hotel is excellent and the staff are the most friendly and efficient that we had the pleasure of meeting on our trip.

The quality of the room, furnishings, restaurant, valet parking etc made a very pleasant end to a wonderful holiday....we'll be back for a longer stay next time!

Thank you Hotel Griffon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for including the Hotel Griffon on your recent American holiday. We are so pleased you found our services such as our friendly and efficient staff and valet parking provided a pleasant end to your two week trip. On behalf of the staff and management, we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was a bit small but the service was par to a 5 star experience. The location was amazing! Blocks from ATT park/ restaurants and the wharf. John was extremely helpful and was able to get a hard to come by seat at the boulevard.Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback. We are so pleased you found our convenient location near AT&T park and the waterfront. Our staff is always eager to assist guests with any request and we are happy John was able to get you the table at Boulevard on short notice. We look forward to welcoming you back for some more “5 Star” experiences in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Address: 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Griffon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Griffon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.