We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Griffon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Griffon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Sunday Parking
Ranked #23 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent service and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were 3 women and one dad - the staff upgraded us so that our 85 yr old dad could have a view of the Bay Bridge with all the lights. We women had a suite room with a comfortable pull out bed + a Queen which worked fine. The housekeeper came right in with water and chocolates. Probably could have used one more blanket on the pull-out, but it was late by the time we discovered this. The rooms are top notch with all the amenities. The restaurant (Perry's) attached to the hotel was fantastic...and with one hard-to-please catering chef in our group this was huge. We had dinner and then a late night nosh...plus great breakfast the next day. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    118
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
29
173
46
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were only at the Hotel Griffon for one night before flying back to UK after a 2 week touring holiday of California. The hotel is excellent and the staff are the most friendly and efficient that we had the pleasure of meeting on our trip.

The quality of the room, furnishings, restaurant, valet parking etc made a very pleasant end to a wonderful holiday....we'll be back for a longer stay next time!

Thank you Hotel Griffon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for including the Hotel Griffon on your recent American holiday. We are so pleased you found our services such as our friendly and efficient staff and valet parking provided a pleasant end to your two week trip. On behalf of the staff and management, we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was a bit small but the service was par to a 5 star experience. The location was amazing! Blocks from ATT park/ restaurants and the wharf. John was extremely helpful and was able to get a hard to come by seat at the boulevard.Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback. We are so pleased you found our convenient location near AT&T park and the waterfront. Our staff is always eager to assist guests with any request and we are happy John was able to get you the table at Boulevard on short notice. We look forward to welcoming you back for some more “5 Star” experiences in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I just spent 5 days here. I was at another hotel during the day for work, and that hotel's internet was always down, and they had no IT staff. I was on the Griffon's free internet in the lobby instead, every night, and Terrence, a front lobby worker, who is getting an advanced computer degree, helped me every night with printing, switching computers when one froze up, cleaning my docs off the computer when I was done, and had a great personality, too. Too bad he will probably leave when he finishes his degree.
Besides Terrence, it was very convenient to have Perry's restaurant/bar next door. I ordered take-out from there (quicker, better than room service) and had a glass of wine at the bar while waiting for it. Didn't have to put on a coat and go outside at 9pm when I was finally done working and ready for dinner!
Also, I got chocolates on the pillow every night; usually, only the high end hotels like St. Regis do that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your experience at the Hotel Griffon. Our staff prides itself in providing personalized service to every guest. We are so pleased you found our service and complimentary WiFi conducive to a productive and pleasant stay. Terence and the rest of the staff look forward to your return visit, which we hope is soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently stayed at The Griffon, our second time to do so. In both instances we were met by a friendly staff and treated very nice during our stay. While the room is small it is well appointed and comfortable. All the amenities were first class and the service quite nice as well. The Hotel is located near the Ferry Building and the base of Market street and therefore well situated for public transporation and easy access to San Francisco's sights. Our latest visit to the hotel was in conjuction with attendance at a Giant baseball game. It was convenient to leave our car at the hotel and walk the mile of so to AT&T park along the Embarcadero. All in All a very nice and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Griffon. Everyone is thrilled to have baseball back by the Bay and we are so glad you could make it out for Opening weekend. We are pleased you found our location near the Ferry Building and AT&T Park convenient and conducive to enjoying a weekend in the city. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Griffon has this great "landmark" feel - a hotel with character. The room i stayed in (505) has a beautiful view on the bay bridge and market. Location is ideal and the check in was smooth and friendly. I havent check out yet but i'll add that my first impression is excellent!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I can really look back to my stay at the Hotel Griffon with the definite thought that I would be back. The room that we stayed in had a perfect patio of the bedroom. Sitting out there either in the early morning or enjoying the city skyline as the sunset added so much to my day. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Room with a patio made the space that much more in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Address: 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Griffon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Griffon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.