We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Griffon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Griffon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Sunday Parking
Ranked #22 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hanford, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a weekend here in July 2012 for my husbands Bday. The hotel is small as well are the rooms. The hotel and rooms are clean and it has the best service. The front desk staff and everyone we ran into was helpful and friendly. They even provided us with a ride to Union Square with their town car. The front desk staff helped find us find a great restaurant too. Best part was that parking was included in price of hotel, which is a rare find in SF. The location was great! We walked to the Ferry Building and wharf from hotel. It would be a great place to stay for a Giant's game since the stadium is close by too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Griffon. We were honored to host you and your husband for his birthday. We are pleased you enjoyed out friendly, helpful staff, our convenient location near the Ferry Building and AT&T Park. As baseball season is just around the corner, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    114
    37
    18
    14
See reviews for
35
175
47
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

If you want a reasonably priced hotel near the Ferry Building, this is your place. Although the rooms are small and the walls are thin, this is a great place to stay if you want to just leave your car and walk to the Ferry Building, enjoy the SF waterfront and the world class restaurants within a short walk from the hotel. We stayed two nights at the hotel with two other couples. The rooms are very clean and the hotel staff is exelllent. The beds are comfortable. The only negative was the noise from an adjoining room that one of the three couples experienced.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your recent visit at the Hotel Griffon and for sharing you feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed our location near the Ferry Building and the Embarcadero waterfront. Our staff takes great pride in providing personalized service to ensure each guest has a memorable stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here due to a promotion, and delighted we found this gem. The rooms are very small, but beautifully appointed. Everything we needed for the two of us, including a large wall mounted flat screen TV. Great location right on the Bay, and close to excellent restaurants, walks along the waterfront, or quick trolley ride to shopping and other areas of San Francisco. Staff were very friendly, and gave us a perfect suggestion for Sunday Brunch. True the rooms do not have a view (most don't), but frankly we were there to wander around the City and then have a comfortable place to come back for rest and sleep. It was everything and more that we hoped and are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your recent visit to the Hotel Griffon and thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our well appointed rooms and convenient location on the Embarcadero close to some great restaurants. Our friendly staff is always here to make sure you have a pleasant stay. We look forward to your return


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, ca
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location. Small rooms but this is San Francisco and really why do you need a large room (if you want to have a get together in your room though, not the place)? The rooms are great though, bed very comfortable, everything works well. No view both times I stayed, don't know if they have rooms with one or not. Excellent customer service, Bryan at the reception desk is one of my favorite receptionists ever, just nice, professional and helpful with a genuine smile.

Ask for a room away from the ice machine, the hotel is too small to have an alcove with the machine, so it is in the open. People apparently need ice all night. :(

Room service from Perry's downstairs was fast and delicious.

Great location. Expensive parking but again you are in the City.

Room Tip: Again ask for a room away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

One of my friends recommended visiting the Ferry Building and market while I was in San Francisco, so I searched for hotels in the area and came up with the Hotel Griffon...and what a find! It was a great price and there was an online special that parking was only $1 additional (usually $40). Result! I honestly was not expecting much for the price I was paying in the city, but was I surprised when I got into the room! It was absolutely striking in decor and just oh so cozy. I went out to wander around the area and when I came back, my bed was turned down and there were chocolates and a bottle of water. Real attention to detail and customer service! This would be my first choice the next time I am in SF. Service, room and atmosphere all absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and for staying at the Hotel Griffon. We are so happy you found us and that you enjoyed your stay as we are so near the historic Ferry Building. We appreciate the comments about our service, décor and rooms and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On my last business trip I was put up at the Griffon Hotel. It was very nice, very well maintained, and very well decorated. This hotel is definitely for the business traveler, right in the business district…but I say this because the rooms are ultra-small and have really no windows. The building is old and sandwiched between other buildings so the rooms only have air-shafts with frosted glass windows – so basically no windows. It is good for quiet and to watch the TV unbothered, or sleep…but if you’re claustrophobic or need natural light – not your place. I found it very nice for my nightly stay-over’s and would do it again. The service is lovely, with turn down and chocolates. Plus, $5 (for hotel guests) to use the YMCA next-door…and that Y is the most beautiful gym I have ever been to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon. We take customer feedback very seriously and wish to thank you for sharing your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed our historic hotel on the Embarcadero and that you found our service, décor and rooms to your liking. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you haven't been to this little-known hotel very close to the Ferry, you have GOT to check out Hotel Griffon.

If the location doesn't sing awesome, the service will. I was not wowed by my room originally and asked if I could be put in a room with more "sunlight", they did everything they could with ease and poise and got me a room with much more light and one floor higher.

They address you like a professional and overall I really felt well-taken cared for.

I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for sharing your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed our great location on the Embarcadero and our personalized service. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our guests. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Griffon in the near future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Address: 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Griffon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Griffon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.