We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blood on the sheets!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Inn to your Saves list
Marina Inn
3110 Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Blood on the sheets!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my friend chose to stay at the Marina Inn since it was mid range priced and was relatively in a good location.
After we check in- the room looks ok (although small) its ok.

Later that night we go to turn the bed down so we can turn in and we find blood on the sheets! Not a little bit of blood- but stains in multiple places!

I immediately called the front desk and asked to change rooms -he said unfortunately they were fully booked so I was not able to switch. He came up 15 minutes later with new sheets and changed them. After he left I inspected the bed and there was another stain on the new bedsheets!! I covered the stain with a towel (hope that was laundered too!sheesh!) and checked out a day early. The woman at the front desk the following morning was not very friendly.

I would think twice about booking this hotel. We pricelined that night and booked the Sheraton for $180- right next to the wharf. Wish I would have done that to begin with instead of trying to save a few bucks.

Room Tip: Check the sheets EARLY when you check in- otherwise you risk something gross being found and no empt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    109
    87
    46
    34
See reviews for
32
137
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel itself is not bad, but you get few for what you pay. Breakfast is minimal, and the rooms are noisy, but are clean and relatively spacious. The location is excellent too, and personnel is friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you can get a hotel in this area, do it! Great location close to Muni cable car, fun night life just around the corner, great shops and restaurants.

This place had people in and out always---it must be for the location, cause oh man, this place is all sorts of yucky. I checked the beds for bed bugs cause I was so skeeved by the place. Too bad--if they just put in a little money to renovate, it would be a great hotel.

Even the carpeting in the elevator was nasty. Our room faced Lombard Street. The hotel had no A/C and so we had to open the window for air. That wouldn't be so bad except the street noise is SO LOUD. They have these old rickety windows that you can fall out of by the way they open. No screens. So basically it was not sleeping because of the heat or the noise.

Bathroom was gross. My 6'3" companion that I went with couldn't fit in the shower. The shower head was literally right above my 5'2" frame so prepare for an uncomfy shower. All bathroom amenities are old and outdated. The tiles were falling off and revealed mold YUCK.

Breakfast is a JOKE. White bread, gross yogurt. That's all. Really crappy coffee. We ended up walking to Union St. for breakfast each morning.

Stay here for the location if you are desperate. Ours was a very last minute trip (as in booked in just a few days before we went) but otherwise it's just a place to sleep in, not to relax in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is a sham. Do not stay here. They dont have their own parking so you have to park on the street which is difficult at best. The closest parking garage is 3 blocks away and cost $22 a day. The room is crappy. No air conditioning and the windows have no screens. Street noise is very loud. The entire place shows its age and lack of basic maintenence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was uncomfortably hot the day we stayed and no air conditioning. No fans available. Mattress was stained and dirty as was the chair in the room. Very noisy from traffic off Lombard - although our windows faced the street - so other rooms may be quieter. Breakfast was limited - jam was in a communal jar with butter mixed in from people using their knives in both. Unfortunately poor service at the front desk - staff seemed irritated when asking questions about parking and services. Would not stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent a week in San Francisco for the America’s Cup and stayed at the Marina Inn. The rate was decent and it was within walking distance to Marina Green, aka America Cup Park. This is an older hotel but it is located in a nice area with a number of restaurants nearby. Our room was a nice size and had a big bay window with a window seat. The hotel is on the corner of Lombard and Octavia, Lombard is a heavy traffic street. We were on the second floor over the front entrance and our windows faced the street. When people stood outside the building smoking or came in late at night their talking or laughing carried up through our windows. We also had early morning traffic noise. The bathroom was very small, fortunately the sink was outside the bathroom. The faucet handles on both the sink and shower needed maintenance. It was difficult to get the sink faucet shut off and difficult to get the shower water started. The bath towels were small and very thin. We had a king sized bed that was comfortable and lights on both sides for reading. Our room appeared clean but the bed cover and window seat were stained, as were 2 wing chairs in the sitting area outside our room. Upgrades and maintenance needed.

Breakfast was included but was served in a very small room. There were only 4 small tables with 2 chairs each, not nearly enough to accomodate hotel guests. There was not room to maneuver to get your food, then no place to sit and eat. Breakfast consisted of white bread, butter & jelly, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bananas or apples, juice and coffee or tea.

The hotel offered free wifi and we were told there was a router on each floor so we would have no problem getting a good connection in our room. The connection was terrible or non existent. If we could get a connection it would not hold. People were always standing out in the hall above the front desk to get connected, which was also right outside our room. My best connection was standing at the front desk. When I brought this up to the desk clerk, he said ‘maybe we need to get new routers’. But it didn’t improve all week. We had counted on being able to go online to check out attractions, book tours and buy tickets but we weren’t able to do that.

Front desk staff were pleasant and will book airport transfers or arrange for a rental car for you. Despite some of the problems, it was an economical alternative to most hotels in San Francisco and was a block walk to catch buses on Chestnut.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Conveniently located to bus routes. Loved our room! A corner room with 2 big bay windows! Felt like home! Really enjoyed Asesh, the desk clerk. He was extremely helpful and friendly! Pricewise compared to other facilities that we had looked into in the same area, this was quite reasonable. There were shortcomings...Bathroom small, breakfast small, carpeting could definitely be updated, especially in the elevator. We would stay there again, the pros outweigh the cons.

Room Tip: Corner rooms cheerful and comfortable, but noisy. We did not mind traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 3110 Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.