We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn down but friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Inn to your Saves list
Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3110 Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worn down but friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The room was quite worn down and the furniture was really old and entering the room felt like travelling back in time to the early eighties. The cleaning wasn't good at all and we even found clothing from a former guest in our room. The breakfast was a joke with toast as only food. Staff was friendly and helpful. Got the TV to work after help from the staff but it stopped working again and I never bothered to try and fix it again. Also ants invaded our room. Even though all this occurred the place was quite cozy in a weird way and the neighbourhood is calm and nice.

Helpful?
3 Thank Johannes v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durras North, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Opportunity to staff in hotel that is easily accessible to San Francisco and all of the tourist venues with out paying exhorbitant prices offered by other well known hotel chains. Continental breakfast of fruit, eggs, toast, conserves, fruit juice and tea and coffee are refreshing and come as part of the priceàssa.
Ladies on reception are ready with a smile and a willingness to guide you in the right direction.
Good pick up location for tours such as Alcatraz and the Napa Valley

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The good parts:
- staff friendly and helpful. I asked to change rooms after two nights and was immediately given an alternative with no indication that I was being a nuisance
- rooms a good size (at least the two I stayed in were)
- rooms were clean
- a good area to stay, safe and easy to walk to many parts of the city including: Fisherman's Wharf (although frankly I wouldn't bother, it's a tacky tourist trap); the great shops, bars and restaurants on Union Street; Pacific Heights; California Street where you can pick up the cable car to the Ferry Building; Washington Square; China Town. If you're not so into walking then there are plenty of bus services running nearby
- free wifi
- breakfast included.

Now the negatives:
- the reason I stayed in two rooms was because the first was horrible. Very little natural light which gave it a gloomy almost dingy feel. This was made worse by the heavily patterned wallpaper and dark green carpet (which had a big hole in it). The mismatched furniture and old-fashioned bedding just added to the depressing ambiance. I was given the first room because I'd specifically asked for a quiet one-it was at the back. Yet I still got woken up by something clanking and hissing somewhere in the building. The second room was much lighter, with a bay window which could be opened to let in air: but it was really noisy. I was on Octavia Street, but the six lane highway that is Lombard Street was only a few feet away and kept me awake. Once I'd fallen asleep I was subsequently woken up by people shouting in the street and my neighbours talking in their room (they weren't being noisy, the walls are just paper-thin). I was then kept awake by the extractor fan in an upstairs bathroom going on at 2.00am and not switching off - it was like sharing a room with a drill!
- sheets, blankets and a very scratchy bed cover. Doesn't every modern hotel have duvets?
- basic breakfast.
The only reason I'd stay again would be if it was significantly cheaper than other similar options.

Room Tip: I'm not sure they have any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I don't understand some reviewers. Marina Inn offers a decent room per usd 100/120 the night in a very nice location in SF. Close to the buses and 10 minutes walking to Fisherman Wharf. And that is a fantastic deal. Ok, the breakfast is not so good. But with the money you have saved you can have breakfast anywhere you want.
The staff was very helpfull and the overall experiencie was perfect for me.

Try to ask a room facing Octavia St. It's gonna be quieter.
The only problem is that the Hotel has no parking. Is tough to find a place in this area. Three blocks away there is a parking. The maximum you will pay there is 22 usd per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEBASTIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are currently here...night one down on a 3 night stay. Someone help us! Hahah*..Everything you read in the 1-3 stars reviews are correct..whoever rated this hotel 4-5 stars were either the owner, related to the owners, or on drugs! Rooms very outdated and worn. They don't replace anything here if it is worn or broken. They just patch or fix very amateurishly.My partner just spent 15 minutes fixing the toilet that had been running all night and took out his handy multi-tool to tighten all the chains and stuff in the tanks..it was falling apart. Holes in carpet patched with glued on carpet patches. Oldest, run down room I have stayed in ever..faucers, taps, tub..everything old and dated..NOT CHARMING like some of reviews I have read here..Getting ready for "breakfast" and will report back on that experience in a full review later..IF YOU ARE ABOUT TO CHOOSE THIS PLACE, STOP! Pay more if you can afford it..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Over the years we have stayed at The Marina Inn, there has been a steady decline in the condition of this property since our first visit. Obviously there has been an ownership change ( maybe a few ) since the days when the 3 Sisters Group owned it. The furniture is well worn, carpet needs cleaning at least,plumbing is very temperamental,the sink was old and cracked, elevator is unusually noisy, continental breakfast is pathetic. The outside of the building is in disrepair as well, it needs a paint job for starters.You get all this for approximately $190.00 per night ( weekend rate). On a high note the location is very good, close to Union Street and Cow Hollow and just around the corner from Chestnut Street where there is trendy shopping and great eats. The bus line #30 stops just on the corner which gets you to the Wharf, Chinatown and downtown very easily.
What a shame this place has gotten so bad. it could be and once was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here. The smaller rooms in the back are more quiet than the larger street f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

First, the rooms are clean and the staff attentive. That said, the furniture and carpeting are old and need updating, and the rooms are small. The hotel is in a good location, walking distance to a number of great locations. With modest expectations if you expect 3 stars you gett it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#153 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#100 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,936 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#130 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#133 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#152 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#162 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 3110 Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing