We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily accessible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Inn to your Saves list
Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3110 Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Durras, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Easily accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Opportunity to staff in hotel that is easily accessible to San Francisco and all of the tourist venues with out paying exhorbitant prices offered by other well known hotel chains. Continental breakfast of fruit, eggs, toast, conserves, fruit juice and tea and coffee are refreshing and come as part of the priceàssa.
Ladies on reception are ready with a smile and a willingness to guide you in the right direction.
Good pick up location for tours such as Alcatraz and the Napa Valley

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    119
    89
    46
    36
See reviews for
35
146
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The good parts:
- staff friendly and helpful. I asked to change rooms after two nights and was immediately given an alternative with no indication that I was being a nuisance
- rooms a good size (at least the two I stayed in were)
- rooms were clean
- a good area to stay, safe and easy to walk to many parts of the city including: Fisherman's Wharf (although frankly I wouldn't bother, it's a tacky tourist trap); the great shops, bars and restaurants on Union Street; Pacific Heights; California Street where you can pick up the cable car to the Ferry Building; Washington Square; China Town. If you're not so into walking then there are plenty of bus services running nearby
- free wifi
- breakfast included.

Now the negatives:
- the reason I stayed in two rooms was because the first was horrible. Very little natural light which gave it a gloomy almost dingy feel. This was made worse by the heavily patterned wallpaper and dark green carpet (which had a big hole in it). The mismatched furniture and old-fashioned bedding just added to the depressing ambiance. I was given the first room because I'd specifically asked for a quiet one-it was at the back. Yet I still got woken up by something clanking and hissing somewhere in the building. The second room was much lighter, with a bay window which could be opened to let in air: but it was really noisy. I was on Octavia Street, but the six lane highway that is Lombard Street was only a few feet away and kept me awake. Once I'd fallen asleep I was subsequently woken up by people shouting in the street and my neighbours talking in their room (they weren't being noisy, the walls are just paper-thin). I was then kept awake by the extractor fan in an upstairs bathroom going on at 2.00am and not switching off - it was like sharing a room with a drill!
- sheets, blankets and a very scratchy bed cover. Doesn't every modern hotel have duvets?
- basic breakfast.
The only reason I'd stay again would be if it was significantly cheaper than other similar options.

Room Tip: I'm not sure they have any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I don't understand some reviewers. Marina Inn offers a decent room per usd 100/120 the night in a very nice location in SF. Close to the buses and 10 minutes walking to Fisherman Wharf. And that is a fantastic deal. Ok, the breakfast is not so good. But with the money you have saved you can have breakfast anywhere you want.
The staff was very helpfull and the overall experiencie was perfect for me.

Try to ask a room facing Octavia St. It's gonna be quieter.
The only problem is that the Hotel has no parking. Is tough to find a place in this area. Three blocks away there is a parking. The maximum you will pay there is 22 usd per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are currently here...night one down on a 3 night stay. Someone help us! Hahah*..Everything you read in the 1-3 stars reviews are correct..whoever rated this hotel 4-5 stars were either the owner, related to the owners, or on drugs! Rooms very outdated and worn. They don't replace anything here if it is worn or broken. They just patch or fix very amateurishly.My partner just spent 15 minutes fixing the toilet that had been running all night and took out his handy multi-tool to tighten all the chains and stuff in the tanks..it was falling apart. Holes in carpet patched with glued on carpet patches. Oldest, run down room I have stayed in ever..faucers, taps, tub..everything old and dated..NOT CHARMING like some of reviews I have read here..Getting ready for "breakfast" and will report back on that experience in a full review later..IF YOU ARE ABOUT TO CHOOSE THIS PLACE, STOP! Pay more if you can afford it..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Over the years we have stayed at The Marina Inn, there has been a steady decline in the condition of this property since our first visit. Obviously there has been an ownership change ( maybe a few ) since the days when the 3 Sisters Group owned it. The furniture is well worn, carpet needs cleaning at least,plumbing is very temperamental,the sink was old and cracked, elevator is unusually noisy, continental breakfast is pathetic. The outside of the building is in disrepair as well, it needs a paint job for starters.You get all this for approximately $190.00 per night ( weekend rate). On a high note the location is very good, close to Union Street and Cow Hollow and just around the corner from Chestnut Street where there is trendy shopping and great eats. The bus line #30 stops just on the corner which gets you to the Wharf, Chinatown and downtown very easily.
What a shame this place has gotten so bad. it could be and once was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here. The smaller rooms in the back are more quiet than the larger street f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

First, the rooms are clean and the staff attentive. That said, the furniture and carpeting are old and need updating, and the rooms are small. The hotel is in a good location, walking distance to a number of great locations. With modest expectations if you expect 3 stars you gett it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We left booking accommodation in San Francisco too late and this was the only place we could find for the lowest possible price (although not that low) that had ok reviews.

Having been staying in hostels/motels for 3 months, I thought this place was fine and just what we needed. Obviously for the price you are paying, it is not really worth it - but it was the cheapest place we could find.

Saying that, I found that the building itself was nice and the room was fine. Ok, it was a little outdated looking with the patterned wallpaper and carpet - but it was a fine size, it was clean and just what we needed. We stayed there for 3 nights.

Breakfast wasn't great, but was what I was used to from staying in hostels/motels. Coffee/tea, orange juice, toast and hard boiled eggs. There is a little area where you can eat your breakfast which is nice, or there are trays to take it to your room. I did think it was a bit weird though that they don't provide any cutlery or plates - there is only a knife to spread your toast so you end up eating your toast off a napkin. For the room rate and basic breakfast, I think they could at least give you a plate and cutlery!

The location was good for us as its near a bus stop that will take you to all the other main areas/to another stop for a connection elsewhere.

I found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful - both the lady and man who worked during the day/evening. They let us leave our bags there all day and organised a shuttle bus for us to the airport which made life a lot easier as we had a late flight.

I would recommend booking accommodation in SF early to get somewhere for a decent price, but this place is fine enough if you can't find anything cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 3110 Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.