We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail Hotel San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Abigail Hotel San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abigail Hotel San Francisco
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   246 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Abigail Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I'm puzzled by the other reviews for this hotel which make it sound terrible. I had already booked the room by the time I saw these negative reviews and was worried, but had a great stay at this place, especially for the budget price.

I'll start with the bad: the neighborhood is right on the edge of the Tenderloin, which is certainly rough, especially at night, though we did all our sightseeing during the day, and didn't have any problems walking around Little Saigon, near City Hall, or Market street. The condition of the building fixtures (doors and knobs, stairs, etc.) is definitely in need of an update. Room didn't come with any coat hangers. Desk clerk, while very polite and helpful, had a limited command of English.

With that out of the way, I loved the stay here. We stayed in a room with a view of city hall, and it had a charming triparate window that looked out over the Asian Art Museum. It felt like staying in a sunroom in someone's old city home. The bed was comfy. The water pressure was great. The hop-on-hop-off bus stop was around the corner. There WERE towels and soap/shampoo. Had two phenomenal meals in little Saigon, right up the street. The price was unbeatable, and we didn't come close to getting mugged.

So, to those who review and expect an immaculate experience for a cheap price I say: there are plenty of better hotels in San Francisco, and you should stay at one. This is more of a hostel-type experience in the center of the city, and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Add a few bucks to view City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    6
    6
    15
See reviews for
6
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Arrived to reception to be 'greeted' by exceptionally rude staff who find it difficult to answer you while looking at you...how polite! The place was general chaos as they are changing management and must be refurbishing it too, clearly needed the latter!

The room itself was actually better than I'd expected, clean and comfortable bed. The sockets were however hanging off the walls and the very thin windows rattled all night.

Location wise, the hotel is on the adjoining street to one of the roughest areas of the city centre, expect to pass lots of homeless people and intoxicated people on your way to and from the hotel, it can't be avoided. I didn't have any bother with this as I kept myself to myself, but I can definitely see how this would be intimidating to others.

One plus point is the 'hotel' has free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Clarksville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived at the airport, took the train (Bart), walked a couple of blocks and made it to the hotel with no problem. (TIP: If you get lost after the getting off the train, walk to market and 8st, there is a Starbucks and you can either ask the barista or use their wi-fi to get to McAllister). The hotel staff is nice and the bedrooms are clean. The elevator is like 100 years old; however, it was one of our favorite things. The bedrooms are nice and clean, they're small and they have just what you need, no more. It's great for friends, or staying for one night; nevertheless, I wouldn't recommend it for families unless you are in a really low budget. Their wi-fi goes on and off, but honestly that helps you get off your room and discover the city. Bus number 5 stops in front of the hotel which makes it easy to move around the city. It's walking distance from market street where you can get almost any bus, it's also walking distance from the monorail (a couple of minutes). The neighborhood is sketchy after 5 or 6, however we never had any problems whatsoever (4 girls walking around). You can spot several homeless people around the neighborhood, but honestly in downtown San Francisco is not that uncommon. Keep in mind it can be hard to adjust to the sight if you are not used to see homeless people. The farmer's market is close and nice. The general overview is that it is a good hotel for the price, it's not the most fancy but it's safe and clean, be careful around the neighborhood (just regular travel safety), the location is really good to travel around San Francisco, and they have good breakfast!
TIP: If they have the same elevator, open the door (if it doesn't open it's in use, so just press the call button) get inside, close the first door, then completely close the gate, then press for a couple of seconds the floor number until it starts going up. Also, put the lock on your door at night, both of them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I'd never visited SF before and thought staying around Union square and block from a Hilton, would be a safe bet. NO! The neighborhood was horrible, the rooms were deceiving from what they show on the internet. I wasn't expecting much since it's not that expensive, but it was a slap in the face.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We had booked 3 nights at this place and our bad experience started at the airport where our taxi driver couldnt speak a word of english and had no idea where we wanted to go. He eventually gave us his navigator and we put in the address after driving around the same block twice! Upon arrival to the hotel there was noone at the front desk, we waited 10minutes before yelling out "hello". Check-in was quick and a room was ready. As we were waiting for what seemed like a 100yr old elevator the people at front desk were discussing how bad the neighbourhood was and laughing - not an appropriate converasation to have in front of guest i dont believe.

The room was as clean as it could be. There were marks all over the wall, they looked like they had not been finished painted as there were 3 different colours going on. The bed was horrible and sank into the middle of the mattress (which was old and scumy, as the bed was not made properly the sheets would pull down when you aat on the bed and expose the mattress- no mattress protector what so ever!) after laying for awhile.. I have slept on better mattresses in backpacking accomodation! The bathroom was clean however the roof leaked all over our towels and the toilet a couple of times. There is no safe in the room either.

The neighbourhood, to say the least is not very comforting. I understand that you are going to get homeless people in any city but our first walk out of the hotel and there is a man aggressivley kicking a garbage bin. People fighting and screaming all over the place. At one point we were asked by a man if we could give him some money, we gave him some room and kept walking only to have him burst into an abuse session towards us. I did not feel safe or comfortable here at all. At night you can hear people in the ally next to the hotel (right outside our window) screaming and partying and carrying on.

I am a fairly tollerant person and it takes alot to make me uncomfortable. But the hotels lack of comfort and the neighbourhood really dampend our experience in SF.

I know that the neighbourhood cant be blamed on the hotel but there are a few things the hotel could improve on to make the guest feel more comfortable.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We're all for budget traveling and are advocates for "you get what you pay for". This hotel's rooms are comfortable, clean and great value for money with breakfast included. However the location of this place is not for the faint of heart or those from a somewhat sheltered existence. Although not a far walk to either Market, Union Square or to any transport etc, walking through Civic Center to get to the Inn is a little scary. I would not advise to walk there alone after 8pm. Best to get a taxi to drop you at the door, or I'm sure safer in a group.
We caught an airport shuttle when we first arrived to San Fran and we booked this for our departure a few days later. The shuttle service was around $17 per person and is door to door which is excellent, but for your return trip they'll give you a business card for calling and booking ahead, which will give you about $3 off. We ordered ours for a pickup to make our 10:30am flight, they told us over the phone that we would be picked up between 7:15 - 7:30 am but they turned up at 7am as we were bringing our luggage out of the elevator. The Manager (I think he was management) of the hotel got angry at us and told us to hurry up and check out fast. I thought this was a little rude and tried to explain that the shuttle was early. When I go back to San Fran I will probably book elsewhere and spend a little extra on a room.

Eating clam chowder bread bowl at Fishermans Wharf, a trip to Alcatraz, and drinks and Oysters at Pier 23 are absolute must do's!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As many things in life, you get what you pay for.
This hotel is extremely cheap, so for the low-budget traveler is OK.
HOWEVER, the floor is squeaky, the smell is funny, the bed linings and towels have sometimes weird stains and the neighborhood looks a bit dangerous (though the location is relatively good).

Decide for yourself, and have a pleasant trip

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abigail Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail Hotel San Francisco

Address: 246 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Abigail Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abigail Hotel San Francisco 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Abigail Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigail San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail Hotel San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.