We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco) (Japantown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 15%
Ranked #71 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed the Kabuki Hotel, nice large comfortable bed with excellent linens and pillows. loved the large bathroom and walk in shower room. Didn't use Bath. Towels were good and so were toiletries provided. Housekeeping was average but bathroom was always done well.
we had Corner King on 10th floor lovely view and on Post Street side so quiet. No problem getting a taxi from in front of hotel when needed. Concierge were all super and very helpful as was reception. Lifts were quick to come and fast. large more than adequate in room safe fitted laptops iPads etc etc. Coffee machine didn't work i prefer a kettle in a room as I'm a tea drinker.
Taxi to Union Square $9 and to Fishermans Wharf $12 roughly. No affordable diner in the area as JapanTown. We went to other areas to diners for breakfast - easy to find from internet.
We didn't use restaurant so can't comment.

Room Tip: Higher the better. Post Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're so glad to have welcomed you and to hear that your visit was a pleasant and relaxing one. We take great care in affording our guests with attentive hospitality and the very best of amenities, and we encourage you to reach out with anything that might make your return travels more comfortable. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to help foster a return experience to rival this first.

Kindly,
Craig Waterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    472
    171
    69
    30
See reviews for
216
397
88
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLO, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed at the Kabuki with "tween" children for an overnight stay to break up a long driving trip. Our room and the hotel were beautiful; reminded me of my travels to Japan. Comfortable beds and nicely sized room for our party. It is quiet, excellent location with great customer service. Some parts of the hotel need an update but that did not diminish our overall appreciation of our stay. There is an amazing collection of Japanese restaurants just down the block, the hotel staff directed us to one that was perfect for our family. Our children enjoyed exploring the hidden gardens and nooks filled with art. We hope to return when we have more time to explore the area.

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Many thanks for being our guest and for your thoughtfulness in lending this review. It's always a pleasure to be able to welcome newcomers to our site and to showcase the hospitality for which we're renown. We'd certainly love to welcome you back and to share even more of our offerings, and we encourage you to reach out to the team then next time you're headed this way. All our best until then, and many thanks again for this visit and feedback.

Kindly,
Craig Waterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed over night this hotel while we were visiting J pop festival at Japan Town.
Location was awesome, very close to Japan town and Public parking.

It supposed to be check- in was 3PM, but we had to wait til 4PM at lobby since room was not ready. (long wait, not happy there. But they gave us a tiny bottle of wine for 3 of us -_- )

Room was nice and roomy for being a hotel in city. It could use some update in bathroom area. First we noticed that toilet tank is not filling up. then faucet at wash area was loose.
Maintenance person came and fixed tank, but now it was constantly filling tank (because it was draining itself once in a while) we could hear noisy tank so we had to close bathroom door all night. (better then not flushing though)

Amenity was read a fridge was available. But a fridge had lock on it and we couldn't use. (later we found out some people were claiming key at front desk that we did not know. So, only if you complain they'll hand you a fridge key???)

Also our room window was facing Laguna street, had constant traffic noise through out night. oh well. Regretted big time we should've requested a room with window facing inner garden.
Not hotel's fault but at 4AM, fire alarm went off, apparently someone smoked in bathroom. about 100 people were at lobby ready to run out! sigh...

Another thing I did not like was their lobby bathroom. We spent lot of time in lobby because that was our meeting place. They had tiniest bathroom with 1 stall in ladies bathroom. I understand that its in middle of festival, place could be busy. But every time I go there it was VERY messy. Papers all over on floor, Garbage bucket flooding, no toilet paper sometimes. It is a hotel lobby bathroom. C'mon, clean up every hour at least? (we tried to use downstairs bathrooms which were all locked) That tells either they're lazy or understaffed :(
We paid $280 for a room a night. Way over priced.

One awesome thing was concierge in front, named MIKE was so splendid. He took care of us so good showing ways and getting taxi and stuff. BIG THUMB UP FOR MIKE!

Room Tip: room with window facing inner garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
While we're glad to have welcomed you to our site, we're certainly disheartened to hear that these elements of your visit missed the mark. We value our guests' feedback, we act on it quickly, and we thank you for bringing these upkeep concerns to our attention. We'd appreciate the opportunity to further discuss those other elements of your visit as well, and we hope that you'll reach out to our management team and afford us the opportunity to do so. Thanks for your visit, time and feedback; we'd love to hear more from you soon.

Kindly,
Craig Waterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We needed to be near UCSF, and found this hotel online. It was more luxurious than we had anticipated. There was a beautiful lobby, with friendly, helpful reception. Their outdoor garden was so peaceful to walk in. The rooms were large enough, with a balcony, and even robes to use. The bathroom had a room with a deep, narrow soaking tub, and another room with large shower stall.
While there is valet parking, we used underground parking associated with the shopping center, where there was an elevator into hotel. It was $28 per night, which is very reasonable for SF.
The restaurant connected to the hotel wasn't open while we were there, so unable to comment on that. There are many places to walk, including a pedestrian only street with interesting stores and restaurants. The shopping mall also has many restaurant choices.
We enjoyed being in the Japan town area, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
It's such a pleasure to have welcomed you to our Hotel Kabuki, Donna, and to hear that you enjoyed the experience so thoroughly. We hope that travels return you to our area and that we'll have the opportunity to showcase even more of our site, services and city!

Kind Regards,
Craig Waterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It makes me sad to write this as the workers are very nice and helpful in most ways but and I like the location and wonderful Japanese style bath.

Sadly this stay did match my previous stays which were wonderful.

To start the cover of my bed had dark maroon looking stains in several spots and was coming apart at the seems.

Next the fire alarm went off at 4:00 AM. We had to evacuate the building and stand around outside or in the lobby for 45 minutes. No explanation of what was going on was given. I heard from some random guest who heard from a guest that someone pulled a fire alarm? No staff member apologized, It was like nothing happened except that nobody got what we paid for which was a good nights sleep. They did not offer a refund, discount, voucher for a future stay. They did nothing.

Next the made all kinds of substitutions on the room service breakfast I ordered.

So three strikes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We're certainly sorry to hear of and apologetic for these shortcomings associated with your stay. Naturally, we aim to creating lasting, positive memories for our guests, and we're saddened this did not happen in your case. We'd love the opportunity to speak further with you, and we encourage you to reach out to Ben Lawson, our Assistant General Manager, at your next convenience: blawson@jdvhotels.com or 415-614-5401. Thanks in advance for your continued time and attention.

Kindly,
Craig Waterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a lovely hotel .it is very clean clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Obviously it is Japanese themed but it nots tacky. The area of japan town is very safe and I felt safe walking around. If you want milk or anything like that there is a Safeway around the corner. From the hotel it takes about 15 mins down one long straight road and you are in the centre of San Fran.

We caught the bus back to the hotel and it was very cheap. If you purchase a daily ticket for the trams you can also use it on the buses.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and you get an amazing view
See more room tips
Green Features: Ok. They are the same as every other hotel I've stayed in
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It's such a pleasure to have been able to share this experience with you and to hear that you enjoyed both our site and services, as well as our connectedness to the region's finest attractions. The team would love to welcome you back and to showcase even more of our offerings and city favorites, and we encourage you to reach out the next time travels return you our way!

Kindly,
Craig Waterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located on Post Street in Japantown, right up the street from the Japan Center Mall, which houses various eateries & adorable shops. That isn't to say that you must eat there, the minute you step outside of the hotel you are bombarded with places to dine at all around you. The property is well maintained & the rooms are extremely clean with very comfortable beds. The last time I stayed at this Joie de Vivre location was in May 2009, but I must say, not too much has changed. Though well maintained, the decor is very dated. The most stylish part of the hotel is the front lobby/reception, so when you get into your room, you're kind of left scratching your head & looking around it like, "Mmm hmm." The soaking tubs are still heavily promoted as a feature, but at the end of the day, they're just tubs.

Sleeping was a bit of a challenge this trip, as I was awoken at around 3:30 AM or so to the sound of a car alarm (or something) that lasted for a few minutes. The noise reminded me of when you are being buzzed into a gate. The windows aren't sound-proof, so noise could be a factor for those of you staying here in the future. Also, we visited on a weekend that a ramen festival was going on, which we had planned on attending. However, when we were trying to find parking in order to check in, the festival had blocked off the portion of Post that included the entrance to the hotel's lot. When I tried calling to ask if the hotel's lot was accessible, I was told to park in the public parking beneath the hotel. The advice was sound, as it's about $20.00 cheaper than the valet parking if you're staying overnight, but when we left the hotel to eat, we discovered that the hotel had actually left open space for guests to come in & out of the lot. It would have been nice to know that when I called, as valet parking offers in & out privileges, whereas the public parking beneath the hotel does not.

All in all, it was an OK experience, but this is not my favorite JDV location & I probably won't be staying here again unless forced to.

Room Tip: The windows are not sound proof, so you'll hear a lot of noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We're glad to have welcomed you and to hear that the experience was a mostly enjoyable one, Chrissie. With continued upgrades in the works across our property, we'd certainly love the chance to welcome you back. With a variety of rooms available across the property, we're confident that we can provide you with a space and experience to rival the city's finest. Thank you again for this visit and review; we hope for the chance to host you again.

Kindly,
Craig Waterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.