We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco) (Japantown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% off
Ranked #71 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Truckee, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kabuki for four nights on a business trip to San Franciso. Very nice room and great location! Very comfortable bed -- I got a good night's sleep every night. Good Japanese and Korean food easily available and the hotel restaurant was excellent -- both room service and in the restaurant/lounge itself. Ungerground garage parking linked directly to the hotel -- very convenient. Only two complaints -- I was not able to watch PBS TV -- I had looked forward to KQED in San Francisco and was amazed that a 4 star hotel in San Francisco did not offer PBS TV channels! The remaining TV channel selection was awful! Also, I was very disappointed to arrive on Sunday night and discover that there was no dinner served in the hotel and no room service on Sunday and Monday nights.

Room Tip: Go for the delux queen bed --worth the extr4a cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us at Hotel Kabuki. We are happy to have provided you a comfortable night's sleep during your business trip. Additionally, we are glad you enjoyed our great location and were able to dine with us during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review and we invite you to return as a guest for any future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    489
    176
    69
    32
See reviews for
222
405
94
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the best hotels in san fran!!! great location, awesome staff!!! its like my new home!! i love this place, nothing bad to say about it at all, except, its quiet pricey, but its totally worth it!

Room Tip: pick a room on the top floor, the view is breathtaking, you will never get tired of waking up to a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for being a guest and outspoken advocate for our Hotel Kabuki. It's a true pleasure to be able to share our location and unparalleled hospitality with you, and we look forward to your return visits. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I've stayed at the Kabuki Hotel at least three times and each time I continue to be impressed. My boyfriend used to live in San Francisco for many years, so he knows a lot of the less touristy places to be and we chose the Kabuki at first based on location. I've stayed in Union Square when on business, but it's hectic and not as enjoyable as thier great location in Japantown where you can walk to some great shops, restaurants and to enjoy the beautiful city. Also by chance the 2 times I have stayed there Japantown has had some special events right outside the doors of the hotel, once it was a Sumo Wresting event (awesome), and the other time some kind of J-pop fest. I thought it might have meant that it would be a bit hectic, but it was not at all, it only made for a festive atmosphere, but once we were in our room it was serene and quiet. The hotel itself is tasteful, with pleasing decor. The bathrooms are spacious, the rooms are clean and the surroundings of the hotel are peaceful. Last time we stayed we were in a corner room, which gave us a great view. They welcome pets and the staff has always been friendly. Parking is a surcharge, but it's ample, safe, secure and not that over-priced, what else can you want in a city like SF? I'd highly recommend the Kabuki Hotel for a great getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience with such acclaim. We're hugely proud of our special property and its prime location. As noted in your review, it affords as much exposure to or seclusion from our regional happenings as you prefer, and we're so happy to have been able to share it and our world class hospitality with you. Please be sure to reach out the next time you plan return trips to our area; it would be a pleasure to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la quinta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A lovely Japanese hotel with beautiful decor. The rooms are quiet and spacious with a nice bathroom. The staff at the front desk helpful and friendly. Bellman extremely pleasant and efficient. The entire staff was concerned about our comfort and safety. The breakfast at the restaurant was also good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Kabuki and for taking the time to share your happiness with our attentive services. It's a pleasure to be able to share the serenity of our property with guests like yourself, and we'd love the opportunity to host you again. Please be sure to reach out the next time you're planning San Francisco travels; we'd love to set you up with another incomparable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel Kabuki two nights with our daughters (ages 26 & 17). The hotel is connected to the Japantown Mall. There are many great sushi restaurants nearby. You are also very close to a movie theather and the Fillmore District. When we arrived the hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel lobby was very clean with views of the hotel's japanese style garden. Our room had two double beds. With four adults, two double beds can be a lttle tight. The bathroom area had a traditional japanese style shower & tub. An area to wash off before entering the tub/shower area. There was a door to separate the toilet from the rest of the bath area however, there was no door to separate the sink & bath area from the bedroom. This made showering a bit uneasy even though we are family. It would have been nice if there were at least some curtains or some sort of modesty panel to close. Parking is available in the underground garage for $23 a day but no in and out privaleges. We chose the valet parking ($40 per day). The valet attendants were very friendly and if you choose to leave the hotel in your car, your parking space directly in front of the hotel will be there when you get back. My wife & I would stay here again but probably not with anyone else due to the lack of some sort of separation between the bath area and the bedroom. For a family with young children I'm sure this would be alright also.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Kabuki and for taking the time to share such thoughtful feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the many offerings and hospitality of our property, and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We can certainly understand your privacy concerns, given the details you've described regarding your own family, and we would certainly like to help you to circumvent these, should you return to our region. With or without your daughters, we'd love for your to reach out the next time you return to the region; it would be a privilege and honor to set you up with another world class stay. Thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is perfect for my needs, the hotel has a unique personality. I love the soaking tub and the balcony that allows me to enjoy the view high above this vibrant neighborhood. What makes this special, though, is the high level personalized service extended by the staff here. I will single out Adrian at he front desk for his kindness and assistance, but each of his colleagues deserve equal recognition. The welcome at check-in set the mood for the remainder of my stay, and made me feel right at home.

Make sure that you have breakfast in the restaurant O Izakaya, and order the Japanese breakfast. It is sublime. I wish I remembered the name of my server, she was on par with the hotel staff, expert at her job, enthusiastic and exuberant. You have to love when that happens. She told me the management was unsure about keeping the Japanese breakfast on the menu. I say it would be a monumental mistake to deny us this lovely, interesting, delicious breakfast option.

Stay here whenever you can, you'll love it. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Great views from balconies on higher floors, corner room always preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Kabuki and for taking the opportunity to share such thoughtful words with us. We're thrilled to hear that our exceedingly warm hospitality made for a memorable visit, and we hope to share more of it with you in the future; in the meantime, I will certainly pass along your praises to the team and your support for our menu offerings Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the region. We'd love to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location is good.The rooms are a bit tight and we even requested to move into a different room after getting into the first room which was very tiny and had no shower curtain and had a clear door for the shower room. This could be an issue when travelling with a family of teenagers. We were moved into a room in the garden building which was slightly larger. Upon checkout, we noticed that we were charged for a water bottle from the mini-bar. There is no way they could have known if we had opened a water bottle (which we didn't) since the do not disturb sign was on our room the whole stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Kabuki and for taking the time to share your visit with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the accessibility of our property, and we're thankful to have been able to host you. We apologize for any misunderstandings and frustrations that you experienced regarding the additional water charge, and we'd love to talk more with you to resolve the confusion
We encourage you to reach out to our front desk team at your next earliest convenience: Kabukifrontdesk@jdvhotels.com or 415-614-3200. Many thanks again for your stay and review; we hope to hear more from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.