We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique. Friendly. Ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco) (Japantown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique. Friendly. Ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our trip to San Fran. Having never visited SF before we didn't know what the best locations for our interests were so opted for Japantown.

The kabuki was a little out of the way of the main attractions I.e f'mans wharf, union square and GG bridge however the buses right outside for most routes made travelling easy- so don't be put off by location! It's quite nice to grab a bus and get to grips with the city.

The staff were friendly, the room was lovely. We had corner room which, as in reviews below, really are lovely as worth asking for. Only downside was fitness room which only had one cross trainer and one treadmill (but who goes on holiday to gym it!). We didn't manage to try out the spa as they advised because we has booked through a 3rd party we would have to pay.

Overall great stay an would certainly recommend. Ramen restaurant across road is also great value and really tasty Japanese food!

Thanks kabuki! Would defo return again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for visiting and for taking the opportunity to share your stay with us. We're so glad to have been your choice destination for your first trip to San Francisco, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again if you return to the area. We'd love the opportunity to help you explore even more of our great city, and we'd love for you to experience our Izakaya Lounge. Thanks again, and we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    460
    155
    68
    25
See reviews for
196
379
84
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Once again I had a wonderful 2-day conference at the Hotel Kabuki! The Conference was managed smoothly and efficiently. The staff at the Hotel Kabuki is First Class. They anticipate all the problems resulting in a perfectly managed conference. We had over 50 guests staying at the hotel during the conference. The feedback that we received from our conference participates was that they loved the size of the hotel, as well as the food and rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting again and for choosing the Hotel Kabuki for your conference needs. Our attentive and expert team members take great pride in our business travelers, and it's an extreme pleasure to be able to help facilitate an efficient and organized stay for you and your guests. We hope to hear more from you in the future, and we're excited to share more of out site and city with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a good location made excellent by the kind and courteous staff! Stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were initially allocated a room at the back of the hotel with two beds.....but obviously being on honeymoon we were hoping for a bit of a view of the city and to stay in the same bed! We mentioned this to the reception staff and within minutes we were in a gorgeous room with a king size bed and fantastic view! The bathroom was beautiful with separate toilet and a gigantic bath! The second day of our stay we had a knock at the door and the hotel had sent to our room a bottle of bubbly with strawberries and cream to say congratulations! We couldn't fault this place we loved it here! It also has a pretty Japanese garden. Thank you Hotel Kubuki for helping to make our honeymoon so special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, and congratulations on your honeymoon! It's our extreme pleasure to go above and beyond for such special occasions, and I'm so glad to hear that our staff was able to provide you with an incomparable experience to complement your achievement. We hope that you'll consider us again if you return to our region, as we would love to share many more memories with you and your husband. Thanks again, and we hope to see more of you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Kabuki is in Japan Town, about 20 minutes walk from Union Square, and 5 minutes from Fillmore street. At first, the distance from Union Square seemed a disadvantage, as the walk down Post Street passes through some areas I wouldn't want to walk at night, but if you shift one road across and walk down Sutter Street it's fine, and the proximity to Fillmore Street with its shops and restaurants is a real bonus. The beautiful, modern St Mary's Cathedral is also on the doorstep. There are also buses into town, and a taxi back is only a few dollars if you don't feel like walking.

The hotel itself caters for both business guests and tourists. The reception staff are excellent - very helpful and pleasant. There are very comfortable chairs in the reception area which provided a good place to sit and talk. I didn't use the restaurant other than for the buffet breakfast which was around $14 for an excellent continental, or $19 if you wanted to add cooked food and pancakes. The bar in the evening was lively and popular, but didn't affect the tranquillity of the hotel.

My bedroom was very attractive in the Japanese style, with sliding panels instead of curtains. The air conditioning fan was a little noisy, and the bathroom rather shabby, although well equipped with a deep vertically sided bath which I really enjoyed but my taller colleague found awkward (it might be difficult to get out of if you have limited mobility - but there was a good strong grab handle). there was also a large shower. There were a few areas that could be improved - a cracked washbasin, tired grouting and a rather tatty soap dish - and no shower cap!

A tip: when travelling from the airport use a shuttle - only about $16. I was rather badly advised at the airport to take a train ($8.95) to the Civic Centre and walk. This takes you through Tenderloin, one of the roughest areas of the city, and it is an up-hill trek to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you truly took advantage of the conveniences our location provides! We will surely pass your room suggestions on, and we will look into adjusting the issues. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Kabuki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our intention was for jet a two day stay. A medical emergency required us to extend our stay to 6 days. Not only were they able to accommodate our needs for special items but, made sure I was very comfortable. I wold more than recommend this property to others without reservation. The valet parking is limited but come on this is the city. Nicely done rooms. The corner suits are nice!!!
The staff were genuinely friendly and courteous to my whole family. Very comfortable beds and our new home base for visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that we could make you so comfortable, and we hope everything was ok with your emergency! We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit San Francisco. Be sure to check out the O Izakaya Restaurant & Lounge the next time you visit. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Not outstanding by any means, but a solid hotel for business or pleasure. Connected to the East Mall of the Japan Center, only steps away from many restaurants and shops and a few blocks from Fillmore Street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the good review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced at Kabuki. Since we are connected to the East Mall of the Japan Center, our location is key for many of our guests. Next time you're in San Francisco, be sure to explore the Japan Center as there are many interesting places to see and try. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff were genuinely friendly and courteous to myself and my husband who are from the east coast and had been travelling since 2am EST. We were met with smiles and warm welcomes. The room was clean with tapestries on the wall and shoji screen for windows which is a nice touch in a city of concrete. The bed was comfortable and supportive. We actually had a hot water kettle in our room with mugs so we could have our own teas and coffees any time. The bathroom was clean and convenient. I don't normally use the tub but did so do to the bath salts offered. We actually asked to come back at the end of the trip and was able to. We enjoyed walking along Fillmore and within walking distance of many shops.

If we were to go to SF again would be my first choice.

PS Parking is underground and very reasonable with plenty of parking spaces that allow us to by pass the lobby and take the elevator directly to our room.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room that is not a corner room so you will not hear the traffic from two streets. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to infuse the Japanese culture into our rooms by offering the traditional soaking tub and variety of teas and coffees so we are so glad that those amenities added to your experience at Kabuki. Next time you come to San Francisco, try our restaurant O Izakaya Lounge that serves up delicious traditional cuisines from Japan. We hope to see you during your next trip to the West Coast. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#80 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.