We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel near Japantown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco) (Japantown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Full American Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel near Japantown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a King Deluxe room in January, after purchasing a LivingSocial voucher. We weren't treated any differently for having the voucher, which I appreciated. In fact, because I joined the Joie de Vivre club before we arrived, we got given a free (small) bottle of wine and a bag of gourmet popcorn upon check-in!

The room was gorgeous, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Wi-fi worked fine, TV worked fine, hot water was plentiful and long-lasting. There were one or two minor issues:

- There were no wine glasses in our room. We just used the bathroom water glasses, though, because we're classy like that.
- Despite the room being for two people, there was only one bathroom, and this was thrust at us shortly after arrival by a hurried housekeeper. However, we asked for another one later and they sent it up promptly.
- The lamp on my husband's side of the bed didn't work.
- The balcony was shared with the room next door, which I didn't like the idea of. We never saw or heard our neighbours, but it would have been uncomfortable if they decided to enjoy the balcony at the same time as us. The view from the balcony, however, was stunning!

We would definitely stay here again - the proximity to Japantown is excellent, and the comfiness of the bed and deep bath both made for a relaxing evening. We didn't go to the Izakaya restaurant or the Kabuki Springs, so I can't comment on those.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for you review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to some of your expectations, however we are pleased that your stay was mostly enjoyable. We hope that you'll stop in at the O Izakaya Restaurant and Lounge next time, and we look forward to your return. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    540
    189
    72
    33
See reviews for
244
440
96
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and kids LOVE the Family Suite at Kabuki. Room comes with a traditional western bed and seperate room with futons. Price is great, and Japantown is always fun! Found out on this trip that some of the rooms also have a dry sauna!

Room Tip: For families: get the family suites with beds and futons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our prerogative to provide the same quality of service you received, to every guest. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Kabuki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love the Kabuki for many reasons....first and foremost, we stay because we can bring our two Australian Shepherds. Second, it has incredibly convenient and inexpensive (comparatively) parking in the Japan town garage. Third, the hotel is within walking distance of great restaurants on Fillmore street and wonderful sushi/Japanese fare in the Japan town mall. Finally, the rooms are large (especially the corner rooms) although I would describe them as faded. Now to the details: The front desk people are very accomodating and nice. In the rooms, the sheets are very nice. The large pillow is a good feather pillow. The small one is lumpy and horrible and I don't know or want to know what it is made of. The bathrooms are clean, with a separate toilet and a separate shower room with tub and wooden bench and bucket as per you would see in Japan. The grout in the shower tile wall needed to be scrubbed as it was dark and old. (Room 1402) Also, although we turned on the AC before going to sleep, it seemed to shut off automatically because I woke at 230am and the room was very hot. The coffee brand in the in room coffee maker needs to be upgraded...how about Peets? Overall, we will go back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are best. If you join the joy of life club, you an ask for an upgrade to a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We are pleased, however, to hear that for the most part your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback! We are looking into the room issues you mentioned. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Kabuki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. I've stayed here several times across the last year. The staff are always helpful and my room is always ready. The rooms are a fair size, with a king bed, a desk and a TV. I think there are some improvements that need to be made, but it doesn't reduce my feeling of the hotel too much. The issues I do have are, TVs are only 720P, I think they should be 1080P and a little bigger. The Hotel Tomoe, also apart of the Joy de Vivre chain, has bigger televisions that are 1080P, I believe that Kabuki should do the same. Another complaint I have is the showers, I've stayed in several different rooms across the property and the shower heads are inconsistent. I understand California has a water conservation law, but does that really mean some showers need to have such low water pressure? Another suggestion, raise the height of the shower heads. I'm 6'1" and the showerhead is at my neck. Fortunately these are just small annoyances that pop up once in awhile. Overall this hotel is great.

In addition to the hotel is the restaurant, Izakaya Lounge. Although there menu is somewhat short, their food is great. Staff is friendly and the few times I've eaten at the bar, I can say that the bartender, Bill makes the place entertaining, he's always willing to talk with customers, whether it's about sports or other random subjects patrons might bring up. He's also very prompt and makes sure you have a drink in your hand if you want one and something to snack on if you have nothing to eat. I'd say if it wasn't for Bill, I'd probably eat at the restaurant much less often.

Beyond the hotel itself, the location is perfect. It's right on the edge of Japan town and is close enough to downtown for a short taxi ride if you need a change of scenery. It's also a short taxi ride away from golden gate park and the haight ashbury district. You can always find something to do without spending too much money on transportation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback, especially your attention to detail! We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay, and are thankful that you were still able to enjoy it! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Kabuki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I work each week in San Francisco. What a great place to relax after a long day in "The Walking City"! The staff are friendly, the views amazing, linens and beds divine.
There are Japanese soaking tubs in most rooms with nuclear hot water at your fingertips. Don't let the shower throw you- there is a little area to allow you to wash yourself prior to lowering yourself into bliss for the delicious soaking tub. There is a regular shower head in the tub too, with satisfying water pressure.
The restaurant, O Isakaya, has great entrees, breakfast and the same warm welcoming attitude as others. The only reason I didn't rate Hotel Kabuki a 5 is because the restaurant is closed when I arrive on Sunday evenings and breakfast starts at 0630, not quite early enough to catch an 0800 flight or 0730 meeting.
Japantown is a quiet, safe neighbourhood. Hotel Kabuki is attached to Japan Center, an indoor mall with an amazing variety of stores and restaurants. If you don't have a car, the hotel has a driving service with lovely TownCars, well dressed and polite drivers who don't charge any more than a cab.
If your room faces west and north- you can see Golden Gate Bridge! Ask for a room above the 6th floor for great views.
Bon voyage!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate your loyalty, and the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again and again upon future visits to Japan Town. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our first time staying here, we will definitely be back, room rates and parking rates are little more reasonable than staying near Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf. Staff was great, hotel was clean, overall great experience. There is self parking just below the hotel with elevator up to the lobby, Thats always a plus!

Room Tip: Stay in the newer tower where you can control the room temperature. There is an override on the ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Kabuki. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon upon your next visit to Japan Town, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Staff was great. Friendly with a great sense of service.
Rooms, lobby and overall hotel was clean and well lit.
I had a corner room which was pretty large and two walk out but tight balconies. The room was decked out in a Japanese theme including an VERY deep soaking tub.
I suppose the hotel could use some updating but it fits into the style of the neighborhood, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The view included the Cathederal of Saint Mary of the Assumption which is a very cool building and the pagoda in Peace square.
Location is central to all parts of the city.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have two balconies great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are beyond pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon upon your next visit to San Francisco. It is our prerogative to provide every guest with the quality of service you received. Please try the O Izakaya Restaurant and Lounge next time! We look forward to your return to the Hotel Kabuki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.