We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Room and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice room (Mark Twain Suite) and location and the staff was very friendly. Meredith and Nick were helpful with dining suggestions and reservations as well as an impromptu breakfast in bed because of a large breakfast crowd during the America's Cup. Very nice B&B in a great city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    21
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
66
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the Tetrazzini Suite. The staff is very nice and helpful with getting settled and giving assistance on tourist sites, restaurants, and public transportation. The bathroom was clean. On the other hand, the suite had many issues where items were not maintained. The wood furniture had broken pieces, the carpeting did not lay flat, some of the windows did not open, nor the one to the fire escape which was so heavy it would have been impossible to hold open while trying to get out. Also, much of the upholstery did not appear clean and many of the springs in the seating pieces were broken. The heavy brocade canopy, over the bed, was torn and unsightly, with stuffing exposed from the quilting. From the good reviews it seemed the upkeep on the antiques would have been expected. But on these points we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua L, Manager at Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear ChicoNan,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We always appreciate hearing about our guests’ experiences, especially when it doesn’t meet their expectations.

We just performed a re-evaluation of the Luisa Tetrazzini Suite. Although the fire escape window does open, we are investigating options to make it open more easily. We are also evaluating changing the carpeting and maintenance options for the furnishings.

If you would be so kind as to contact us directly at (415) 776-5462 or mail@chateautivoli.com, we would love the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay. We hope to see you again, and we appreciate your feedback,

Best regards,
Meredith, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place, the property is beautiful and has lovely period features throughout. We stayed for 2 nights but changed rooms each night due to availability. The first night we had a larger room with private bathroom and the second we stayed in the jack London room with a shared bathroom. Both rooms were great but we particularly liked the jack London- very quaint little room with very comfy bed and the shared bathroom was really nice- no issues at all with other people using it. The whole house is in a quiet area and you can really get a restful nights sleep. Breakfast was simple but very fresh, fruits, baked goods and cold cuts- we enjoyed it :) our stay here was great value for money, would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the Jack London and Joaquin Miller rooms. They look rather better in the photos than they are in real life - in reality they were a bit too faded with a couple of dodgy electrical fittings. Some street noise. Some people would love the décor though.

The bathroom is shared between the rooms and was not up to the standard we expect for a B&B. Nothing to fix the showerhead to, low headroom and poor water pressure.

The big positives: copious, good quality breakfast, helpful friendly hosts, the opportunity to talk to other guests over the communal breakfast table, afternoon cheese and wine in the parlour and the convenience of the bus to downtown.

Good value for money in SF.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Chateau Tivoli while visiting San Francisco. It is a very old, quaint B&B with heavy victorian style. The staff is super friendly, the food was great, it was very clean, conveniently located and comfortable. Lots of character in this little place. It was perfect for us and could not have been any better. I would absolutely stay here again if ever in the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and i had a wonderful stay in this quaint lovely old San Francisco historical house. the Innkeepers were very hospitable and we really loved the atmosphere. If you need ultra modern appliances in the bathroom, or tv in the bedroom, this is not the place for you. But if you enjoy staying in places with history and character, chateau Tivoli is a must.

Room Tip: the basement suite has a separate entrance and sleeps 4 so it is ideal for a family, it has 2 separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love history, interesting architecture and antiques so staying here was an absolute delight. The house itself is like a museum that I was surprised that they would even let people sleep there. I felt like I should have to pay for a tour.

We were lucky in that we were staying during the week in the Joaquin Miller room and the other 2 rooms on our floor were unoccupied so we basically got our own bathroom. The room was large, the bed was comfortable and the house was quiet (besides the street noise).

Every morning we got a continental breakfast and had conversations with other guests. In the afternoon they put out cheese, crackers and wine for everyone to help themselves. The only issue that some people might have is that there are obviously no present day comforts like elevators or a TV, so bring a book or walk to Alamo square and just sit and gaze at the 7 painted ladies. Or walk to Bar Crudo for their happy hour and enjoy some oysters and drinks. It's a really nice neighbourhood that gave us a look at a different area of SF. It was also very affordable at $100/night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.