We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were in SF for a concert. We choose the Chateau Tivoli B&B because it was only a few blocks from the venue of the concert. We drove, so we needed a parking spot. We immediately found a spot on the street near the B&B. This B&B is a beautiful Victorian house decorated accordingly. We stayed in the Aimee Crocker room. It was clean and comfortable. There were chairs by the windows to sit and look outside. The windows could be opened. The staff was excellent. They gave us a great recommendation for lunch & dinner restaurants (all within walking distance). Served wine and cheese in the late afternoon. Asking if there were any diet restrictions for breakfast. The breakfast was delicious. We were there on a Sunday morning, so the glass of champagne with breakfast was a nice treat. If you need to stay in this area of SF, please choose this B&B. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    20
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
61
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Romantic and full of charme. The staff was very helpful and polite. The room was very quiet and decorated with an antique style that contributed to make the B&B a special place. Very good price for san francisco, if you take a room with a very clean external bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Three families, with four of the members under the age of 12...what a treat to find a beautiful Bed & Breakfast in the heart of San Francisco that welcomed all of us! Meredith was wonderful and the continental breakfast enjoyed (and satisfying) before beginning our exploration of the city (we were there during the week so full breakfast was not available). Thank you Chateau Tivoli for adding to our unique and fun visit to "The City by the Bay"!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jack London and I thoroughly enjoyed having my "very early" first cup of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great staff, very friendly and service minded. Nice shift from Vegas the nights before! However, the place feels like most $ were spent on the outside. If you like antiques it is probably OK but I like good design with great function and that wasn't found here. Afternoon wine and snacks is great and we never had issues with parking (arrived around 5 pm). It does not live up to the "hype" on this forum.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you are a history buff, this place will knock your socks off. It's truly like walking into the late 1800's! Everything from the furniture, the antiques, amazing architecture, intricate paint jobs/wall paper, friendly staff, and pure history makes this place so uniquely set apart from any other experience you will ever find. I felt like I was living out a childhood fantasy staying here!

Tips:
1. Bring earplugs- the windows/walls are old, thus the noise levels of the hustle and bustle outside can be pretty loud. To make sure you get a good night sleep, bring those earplugs.

2. Hunt for parking and pay attention to those local parking laws- Given that you are in San Fran, just be prepared for parking to be difficult anywhere you go. Luckily, this place has free parking, but it's not always easy to find. Just be mindful of street sweeping. The street sweeping is weekly and is different for either sides of the street.

3. Take the time to go to some of the local restaurants- The restaurant where you can eat in the dark is only .6 mi away from the BB. Also, my boyfriend surprised me and took me to a French place only 2 mi away and it was the best dinner we'd both ever had.

4. If you enjoy history- take the time to get to know the history behind the name on your door. The rooms all have names engraved on their doors named after people who've stayed in the BB. Ours was Isadora Duncan, a famous Opera Singer/Actress from the early 1900's.

Great breakfast! Bagels and lox, amazing coffee (the good stuff), super friendly staff, lovely little place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

UpUpon entering the house, we were a little taken aback with the decor. The furnishings are in definite need of an update and the pictures and statues throughout the house were a bit odd. Once we got over the initial surprise, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay. My biggest complaint is the parking situation. We arrived late at night and there was not a parking space available for blocks. Being unfamiliar with the area, we were unable to locate the parking garage a few blocks away and ended up parking in an area that I would not suggest walking through. I would suggest when reservations are made that an area map is included with the confirmation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic B&B in a great location in San Francisco. Easy to access public transport, taxis, etc. The rooms are beautifully decorated with period pieces and the inn is gorgeous. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and are extremely helpful with recommendations. The weekend brunch/breakfast is fantastic! Just returned from a trip with 2 other friends and we will be back!! 5 Stars Plus!

Room Tip: The budget suite rooms (2 rooms for the price of 1) are an outstanding value for their ambiance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.