We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll leave your heart in San Francisco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Save
You added Union Street Inn to your Saves list
2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You'll leave your heart in San Francisco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to find the Inn in a travel guide while planning our trip to San Francisco. It was the perfect choice! A great location (convenient, great restaurants and shopping) and not too "touristy"), helpful, interesting owners/staff, and delicious breakfasts. We also enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine (or, cup of tea, if you prefer) in the afternoon in the garden or in the parlor listening to classical music. Walk to Perry's down the street for a nice dinner...

Room Tip: Try the English Garden Room which has a small private deck facing a beautiful garden in the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    57
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
305
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a pretty unique place in SF, and an ideal choice for who's looking for something different than a standard touristy hotel, with a lot more authenticity and character.

1. To start with, the location is fantastic; not one of the typical busy touristic neighbourhoods, yet a very typical and trendy San Francisco area, with beautiful Victorian and Edwardian houses, and plenty of posh shops, bars and restaurants. A really top class location, especially as major bus lines stop right around the corner: bus 45 takes you right to the city centre i.e. to Washington Square and Powell, and bus 22 takes you to Japantown and Alamo Square (where Painted Ladies are located), and from there you can also take line #5 to Golden Gate Park. Buses travel every 10 minutes or so and provide a really a convenient means of transportation. I recommend buying the 3- or 7-day Muni pass, on sale at SFO airport (it also gives access to cable cars).

2. The house exhales a pretty unique character, which only this type of upscale B&B can provide. It's an authentic Victorian house, built at the turn of the 20th Century, one of those little jewels which can only be found in SF. Decorated with much taste and care, and with a truly lovely little garden at the back... Exactly what you need to fancy being, for a couple of days, the lucky inhabitant of one of those wonderful houses...

3. The staff is really first class, friendly and helpful – with a special mention for Kit. Great breakfasts get served in the parlor or the garden (weather depending), once again you feel at home there, almost like a local... And they do everything to make your stay comfortable and easy. Wine and cheese are provided in the afternoon, a very nice and relaxing moment where the staff won't hesitate to come and have a friendly conversation with the guests.

Objectivity forces me to point out a couple of negatives though:

- The shower provides no more than a trickle of lukewarm water. Appreciating that a sign in the bathroom explains this being the consequence of staying in an old, historic house, this is not the level of comfort one may expect from a 300 USD per night accommodation (incl. tax).

- The house is only staffed from 7:30am to 7pm. Would you have any problem at other times, you're on your own... But remember this is a B&B not a hotel...

Yet those are minor remarks, and the Union Street Inn is definitely a fantastic place to stay in SF.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw,Scotland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our second visit to Union St Inn having stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012. The test of any establishment is not on your first visit but your second and on that basis Union St Inn scores highly.

Everything from the comfort of the rooms through the quality of the breakfasts to the hospitality of our hosts Jane, Kit and David was just as we remembered it - first class.

This B & B fully deserves its no 1 place in the rankings and our only regret is that San Francisco and the Union St Inn are 6000 miles from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed our experience at the Union Street Inn. Charming inside and out, the innkeepers are as pleasant as the inn. The location on a quiet street was just what we were looking for during our visit. Shops, restaurants and wine bars are all near by. One of our favorite wine bars during our SF trip was Bin 38 a short distance from the inn. Truly Edwardian in feel, you'll be taken back to another era when you step in the door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We especially enjoyed the hospitable hosts, delicious & varied breakfasts & the Inn's convenient location. Though it was only March, the Inn's lovely garden was abloom. We also enjoyed interesting conversations with the Inn's other guests. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you love the feel of Victorian homes, a beautiful garden, great breakfasts, a room with welcoming decor, you are in for a great experience. You wake up and head downstairs to a full home-cooked breakfast, prepared by Jane, who kindly explains that today there’s French toast, fresh berries or an omelet (and the offerings vary each day). When it is cold outside, breakfast is at the main living room, which has comfortable armchairs, warmth and atmosphere. There, you sip your coffee or tea, while listening to classical music, and admire the view of the garden. I had been there before, in 1992, with my husband and daughter, and loved it. Returning solo in March 2013 confirmed my high expectations (and every traveler knows the risk of trying to re-live some experiences). Happily, this time again, staying at the Union Street Inn was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Union Street Inn, for many reasons. It really was in a perfect location. We had no interest in staying in a touristy section of town, and this was an area where we really felt we were living with the locals. It's served perfectly by city transit, and the street car routes were easy to figure out. Several routes passed directly in front of the inn. For anyone staying more than a few days, I'd recommend buying a Citypass. It covered the cost of a visit to Alcatraz and the California Academy of Sciences, and essentially we got a cable car ride and all of our street car rides for free.

The breakfasts at Union Street Inn were unbelievable. From Eggs Benedict to Cinnamon French Toast, I can't imagine a better way to start the day. And the selection of restaurants in the area is truly incredible. Two of our favourites were Rosa's Cafe (at the end of the block) and Ristorante Parma (on Steiner), but you can't go wrong with many of the choices.

Our room was lovely and comfortable. The only small issue we had was that the bathroom had a slatted door, so that if one of us used it in the night, the light shone into the room. The room possibly could have used a little more light too, as it got dim in the evenings. Otherwise we loved everything about it.

Union Street Inn was a great place to stay, and if we're lucky enough to return, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.