We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Save
You added Union Street Inn to your Saves list
2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 73 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Inn was very comfortable and welcoming. The small size made it relaxing, personal and low key. The location is great on Union Street, close to restaurants, the Marina and shops. Even the one bedroom on the street wasn't at all noisy at night. Jane's breakfasts were delicious and healthy. Most memorable was how Jane and David, the owners, were exceptionally knowledgable, friendly and helpful about the local area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    66
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
54
320
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Union Street Inn with our 3 teenage children. The Inn was fabulous. It is right in the centre of the Union Street shopping precinct and a easy walk to the Chesnut Street shopping. It is surrounded by good restaurants for lunch and dinner but for breakfast you are filled by Jane's scrumptious cooking. After a busy day sightseeing the Inn has cookies and for the grown ups wine and cheese. From the Union Street Inn you can walk to the Bay and along to the Golden Gate Bridge in one direction or Fisherman's Wharf in the other direction. The rooms at the Inn are clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated and quiet (even the rooms at the front facing Union Street!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Carriage House, which offers privacy and is in a beautiful, fragrant, private garden. The Carriage House is comfortable if a bit dated in its decor. It is pricey at over $300 per night, but we wanted the privacy and thought that with breakfast included, it was decent value for San Francisco.

The Cow Hollow neighbourhood is very funky, with many interesting shops and restaurants. It is a ten minute walk from the Marina but is not the tourist trap that is Fisherman's Wharf.

Breakfast was served on TV tables in the main sitting room, which is like an English living room, with old fashioned couches and coffee table books. It was excellent, with a different, tasty dish every day: eggs Benedict, salmon, French toast and delicious fruit salad with fresh squeezed orange juice.

Hostess Jane is very pleasant, helpful and has a sense of humour. We'd certainly go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I love staying at the Union St Inn. I stay here every time I visit my daughter in San Francisco.Have tried other places but not as happy as staying on Union St. The people are always friendly and pleasant to talk with. The rooms are lovely and the breakfasts are to die for. Wine hour is a nice way to visit with other guests. Great location for shopping or finding a nice restaurant. As always I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I were very stressed when we arrived at the Inn. We even forgot his medications and everyone at the Inn were very helpful taking care of us. I didn't know if I would like the location, but it was close enough to everything The rooms are all lovely and we edpecially enjoyed the wine hour and the breakfast. We had to leave early one day and we were still able to get breakfast before we left. There are great shops and restaurants close by and we took a taxi to downtown and the trolley back and walked about 8 long blocks, but we needed the exercise. The house is beautiful and everyone was just so nice. Thank you for a wonderful birthday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our first visit to San Francisco in October, and a great place to stay. Slightly out from the city centre, but the buses make it easy.

It is a Victorian experience, with excellent breakfasts, nothing was too much trouble from our hosts Jane and David.

The rooms were lovely. Slightly expensive but that is San Francisco. The Inn is also very handy for lots of local restaurants. Highly recommended

Room Tip: A room to the rear might be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My first visit to Union Street Inn won't be my last. The room, food, hospitality, garden and area is the best!! Great for walking, shopping, restaurants, and just relaxing. I went as a single, but felt like family. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Even though my room faced the street it was very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,263 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.