We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is Where You Want To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Save
You added Union Street Inn to your Saves list
2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
california
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This Is Where You Want To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Arranging the Mass for mother after she past was difficult from 2 and a 1/2 hours away. When searching for a place to stay near St. Vincent De Paul Church, I noticed the website for the Union Street Inn. I was worried because we could only stay one night. We had just adopted mother's very nervous cats and I was loathe to leave them. Would anyone understand my plight? From the moment I first spoke with Herb, I could feel his kindness and compassion washing over me. Not only were we allowed to book a lovely room, we were assured that we could stop by the Inn before Mass to change clothes and drop off the luggage. Kit met us with a warm smile and a great deal of reassurance that stopping in early was not an issue. She took charge of our bags and we headed off to the church. When we returned, there was a lovely fruit basket in our room as well as all of our luggage. Kit invited us to have a glass of wine, some cheese, and fresh fruit. She also had some of Jane's wine cake set out (NOT to be missed.) We sat in the gardens under Morning Glories, Angel Trumpet and tiny pink roses listening to soothing fountains until my husband realized that the Giant's game would soon be on. Kit pointed us just down the hill to the Balboa Cafe were we could have both a very good meal and the fun of jovial crowd who where all very much into the game. That night we stayed in the Holly Room. It was well appointed, very comfortable, and large enough to suit my husband whose tastes run toward huge, modern suites. We had meant to ask after the "feather bed" mattress pad that provided even a restless sleeper such as myself a perfect night but, we were so enthralled by fresh fruit, homemade waffles, and apple wood bacon the next morning that we forgot. It seemed all the other guests were in bliss as well! Everyone was chatting happily and we exchanged stories of our respective homes and information about the city. My only regret was not having more time to spend at the Inn and visiting the shops on Union Street. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Open the windows of your room for the soothing sound of the fountain and the scent of flowers as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    57
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
305
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our stay in San Fransisco. Kit was a wonderful host, as well as the rest of the wonderful people at the Union Street Inn. It was cozy, comfy, beautiful, and we felt right at home. If ever in San Fransisco again we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellant accommodations. Engaging Inn Keepers. Clean and exactly as portrayed. Close to fine dinning or casual...what ever you want. Don't miss the evening wine and cheese, and the morning breakfast sets the day off just fine. Where to go...just ask Jane. Will return.

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor facing the rear garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being very particular and wanting to feel the 'Heart' of a city, We made the choice to stay at the Union St Inn based solely on the Trip Advisor reports. Well we was not disappointed!. We fully endorse the ratings and comments about the wonderful experience we had at the Union St Inn. A lovely homely feel, amazing cooking, great personalised service, fun, lively conversation and Jane and David's interest in assisting to make our trip truly memorable. Thank you again Jane, for the yummy cake recipe!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Union Street Inn for three nights in September as the second lag of our honeymoon. This was our first time in San Fran and we absolutely fell in love with the Cow Hollow neighborhood! Friends had told us to try to stay at a hotel in Union Square so we would be close to shopping, etc. However, neither of us are touristy types and we knew we would likely tire quickly of the craziness that is Union Square. We were so happy we listened to our instincts and booked to stay at the Union Street Inn! It was easy to bus or cab downtown and there were also plenty of excellent restaurants and shops right in Cow Hollow. Walking around the area was one of our favorite parts of our visit!

As for the Inn itself, we loved our stay! We stayed in the Wildrose room which was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night (though it does back the garden area). David and Jane were wonderful at making recommendations for places to go. Jane's breakfasts were fabulous and kept us full well into the afternoon! When we return to San Fran, this will be the first place we try to book! Excellent experience!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room that backs the garden area like we had. Union Street is quite busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to San Francisco and the surrounding areas and had the pleasure of lodging at Union Street Inn. I won't be redundant by repeating all of the other accolades that have been posted here before; USI certainly lives up to it's #1 ranking. I will note, however, that Union Street Inn gives one the feeling of living amongst the locals. Situated in the heart of Cow Hollow, one can easily access public transportation, dining, shopping and the like without much effort. You'll see more locals than tourists. My husband and I seek out places such as USI. We are not the sort to lodge at the ultra modern, super slick hotel chains that offer very little in terms of warmth or character. If you love old world charm and engaging, but not helicopter, hosts then USI is the place for you. One note of caution; if you book the New Yorker be aware that there is street noise. My husband and I are urban dwellers, so this was not an issue. If you're a light sleeper, opt for one of the rooms situated at the back of the inn, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room situated at the back of the inn (garden side) if you are concerned with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Mistakes happen in every business from time to time; the difference is how you deal with them. This happened to us on arrival at the Union Street Inn, where a computer glitch had made a double booking for the first of our two nights here. Kit (you'll hear about her legendary breakfasts elsewhere) was genuinely distraught by the error, and went way above and beyond to rectify it. The Inn had taken it upon themselves to book us into another hotel around the corner for the first of our two nights AT NO COST TO OURSELVES. Further, they welcomed us back with open arms on our second night and gave us a complimentary upgrade to a better room. This is the sort of service that gets people coming back for more. Kit was also so very helpful in booking cabs for us, and recommending places to visit. The complimentary cheese and wine at supper time is also a lovely touch. I read the other review on here about the uncomfortable bed, and would say that in our room (Wild Rose) the King size bed was perfect. Thoroughly recommended lodging!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.