We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Save
You added Union Street Inn to your Saves list
2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Will Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful stay in late August over a Sunday through Tuesday in the Wild Rose Room. Jane, David and their staff did a wonderful job in makings us comfortable. The Wild Rose room is on the second floor with a window overlooking the garden and is very quiet. Our breakfasts were all freshly made by Jane and were a wonderful combination of a hot entree, fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea and a pastry. We had it served in our room which was a treat. The generous afternoon wine and cheese was always accompanied by a fresh pastry, cake or cookie. The location in the Cow Hollow area is good for restaurants, coffee shops and shopping. It is convenient to the Marina and Fisherman's Wharf areas. the only criticism we have is the wall to wall carpet in the room is dingy and in need of replacement (there is a throw rug that covers most of the room). The jacuzzi bath tub doubles as the shower. It is large and someone with hip or knee issues may have trouble stepping into the tub. However, we have no problem recommending this Inn to others and we will return.

Room Tip: The Wild Rose Room is both comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    57
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
305
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Special-romantic-amazing!
My daughter Victoria is in love with this place
The breackfast is really special and make really good food
Bed really comfortable
My room has a fireplace
Defenatelly the only place I will stay when I visit the bay area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a fantastic gem of a B&B located in busy San Fran. A true Grand Dame of a inn fit for a king or queen. From the decor, to the staff and those fantastic breakfasts prepared by Kit, an outstanding way to visit SF. Located on busy Union Street it was an island of calm we looked forward to returning to each and everyday after our sojourns through the city. The recommendations of Kat on how to travel and tips on places to see and eat were "spot on." The Westin and St. Francis have absolutely nothing on this fantastic and well run inn. In fact I would venture to say they would be hard pressed to match the warmth, level of service and comfort we experienced. We had the English Garden room and awoke each morning to the wonderful scent of flowers and birds chirping wafting through our door. I found myself taking coffee there at least several times to start the day. My wife is absolutely in love with Kit's wonderful banana bread and those eggs and chives, amazing. The polite and warm atmosphere had us sharing travel stories with other guests and enjoying a nice glass of wine before retiring. Will we visit again? Of course, because it is not just a 'stay' but a comfortable place to call home when in SF and to 'visit' with friends, old and new. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room is a great room......ask Kit or Jane for their recommendations when making reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is truly a charming B&B, with a lovely garden, beautiful furnishings, and an excellent breakfast made to order... so why did I give it only 3 stars?
Well, if you and/or your bedmate toss and turn a bit, or get up during the night, you are bound to disturb the other person because the entire bed moves every time you do! This resulted in a terrible night for us, earning only 1 star in the sleeping department. Since the rest of our experience rated 4 or 5 stars, the overall rating was a 3.
However, this place is very nice if your sleep tends to be sound, peaceful and uninterrupted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicked in wickford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Going to keep this review short and sweet.
Stayed here in February with my husband - first visit to SF.
Very quaint. Very welcoming. Very helpful. Perfect location. Perfect hosts. Perfect stay.
Little odd not having a dining room, ate breakfast in lounge at individual tables - alas, weather not nice enough to sit outside. But what wonderful breakfasts. And it was nice being so informal, chatting with the other guests, swopping tips and suggestions as to places to visit. Coming back after a hard day sightseeing, sitting in the lounge with a glass of wine and cheese and biscuits befor getting ready to go to one of the many restaurants nearby. Heaven. Don't worry about not being downtown - the bus service is regular and cheap with a travel pass purchased at the airport. We went everyway by bus, tram, and cable car. Special thanks to Kit who managed to rearrange the room bookings so the we could stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first extended stay at a B&B and it was just wonderful from start to finish. Everyone we talked to was friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were awesome and we loved eating in either the garden or in the house. The other guests were fun to converse with over breakfast or a glass of wine in the evenings and the charm of the house and neighbourhood were the best we've had in San Francisco.

Nearby Chestnut street has good restaurants, nice boutiques and transit is fine from this location, bus is quick and we walked to the pier easily. We've stayed in Union square before and we much prefer this location, more locals, less busy and better food.

We stayed with our 13 year old daughter in the Golden Gate room, it was large and comfortable and the windows are pretty good to block out noise. If it was just the two of us, I'd try to stay in a back room next time for a bit of a quieter location but it was still pretty quiet in the front. The bathrooms could use updating and it would be nice if the decor matched more to the rooms but this wasn't really an issue that would warrant a lesser rating.

I wouldn't recommend someone with very young children staying here as it would maybe disturb the other guests and could be bothersome to the people staying there who enjoy the adult company of the other guests. I thought of this when we were there, that we liked the peacefulness of the place and loud children would've ruined the experience. It just seemed like more of an adult atmosphere and fine for teens.

The cookies were yummy and thanks to Kit for her recommendation on the Italian shop that carries the rooster creamers. I picked up two and they are a cherished souvenir to remind me of the wonderful time we had at The Union Street Inn. We will be back!

Room Tip: The cottage in the back would be amazing if it's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Union Street Inn is an oasis of calm for in the middle of San Francisco. The quintessential bed & breakfast, it's what you would expect to find in a much more rural setting – the best of both worlds. Its location on busy Union Street is within walking distance of most every major attraction, as well as being right on the public transportation routes if walking isn't your thing.

The hosts, Jane and Dave, are charming, conversational and familiar, making for a very pleasant visit. They and Herb provided us accurate information for places to visit, and recommendations for dining based on our mood. The ambiance of the Union Street Inn is a direct reflection of them. The best, however, are Jane's breakfasts served in a perfect garden behind the house or in the main parlor. We were treated to Eggs Benedict, Homemade Waffles, Frittata with bacon, and Smoked Salmon. All were served with fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and excellent coffee. Without doubt, better than most breakfasts you would find in a restaurant. Late afternoon treats include fresh fruit, wine and cheese. And cookies are always there for the taking.

The property is located in a charming, century old house and thus lacks some of the modern conveniences. For example it is a one-flight walk up to get to the main floor where some of the rooms are located. If you're on the top floor another flight of stairs must be negotiated. This can be a challenge if your bags are heavy. Parking is also off site, two blocks away, but the inns negotiation of $15/day fee for parking is very reasonable for the city. With that being said, the old world charm of the inn by far surpasses any of the inconveniences. The inn is decorated with a collection of antique furniture perfectly suited to its atmosphere. Most of the rooms appeared nice in size; however, we were in the "Holly" room, which from our observations of the other rooms seems to be the smallest. It was a bit tight for two of us with bags. Our room was clean and well kept but the bed was a bit soft for sleeping.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Union Street Inn. We are always looking for the exceptional and out of the ordinary when we travel and the Union Street Inn did not disappoint. Fairly priced, a good value for the amenities and location, and hosts who made for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.