We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms, amazing service, great price, a true gem in SF!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Perks!!!
Ranked #9 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooms, amazing service, great price, a true gem in SF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Wonderful hotel and super location! Requested king room in back of building overlooking garden this time as Bush St.can be a bit noisy for non-city people. Then got free upgrade to king suite in back as Joy of Life Club member. Quiet and peaceful. All rooms are huge with fireplaces and alcove with minifridge and coffeemaker, as this historic building was built as studio apartments originally. Recommend king suite as dressing room with sink and walkin closet make it easier for 2 to get ready. Downstairs, breakfast rooms, living room w/fireplace, and library are tasteful English lodge style, but not stuffy. Breakfast(included in price)is amazing, with fresh fruit, scones, sausage, homemade quiche and breads,whole grain cereals. Complimentary afternoon wine with beautiful cheese and canape trays (and did I mention homemade cakes/cookies in lobby?). Sit by fire or go out on garden deck-flowers and trees in the heart of downtown. Friendly,helpful staff called my cell phone 1 minute after we drove away to say they found my husband's I-Phone on the settee! We can't wait to go back to the White Swan!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    254
    63
    18
    4
See reviews for
128
523
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I visited San Francisco with my wife and older daughter from May 27-31, 2009 and we had the privilege of staying at the White Swan during that time. The purpose of the trip was to attend a Seminar at the Hotel Nikko( We preferred to stay at the White Swan rather than the host hotel). We were very pleased with the service we received during our stay. First and foremost ,Andy went out of his way to assist us. We have known Andy for many years, having stayed at the Petite Aurberge many times over many years. We were also treated very well by Eno, Anne and Brian. They were all wonderful and we feel all of these wonderful employees are assets to the hotel. The hospitality of the White Swan is superior. The rooms are very attractive and comfortable. We enjoyed the food. We are looking forward to visiting San Francisco next May and plan on staying at either The White Swan or Petite Auberge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

My wife and I and our two teenage children spent two nights at The White Swan on a vactation to the Bay area in May, 2009. We loved the quaint European-style suite we had with fireplaces in each room and period decor. The rates were very reasonable, and the complementary breakfast and wine reception were great. My kids loved it. Both before and after our arrival, the staff could not have been more helpful to us with restaurant reservations and general tourist advice. The hotel is perfectly situated near Union Square, China Town and the Cable Car line. I will not look any further than the White Swan the next time in I'm in San Fran.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Have stayed at The White Swan Inn many times and each stay has been wonderful. Rooms are large and comfortable, with antiques and books sprinkled throughout the room. Staff wonderful with grace and expertise. Bed was so comfortable I wanted to take the mattress home, but it would not fit in my luggage. Wonderful total relaxing experience, from the food, to the staff, to the furnishings, to the location. Highly recommend. A+++++++++++. Original recommendation for us to come to The White Swan Inn was thru our travel agent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Mi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Had the pleasure of spending three days at the White Swan Inn in San Francisco in early June. What a great place!! It's a small, quaint hotel tucked into one of the side streets in the downtown area. Easily within walking distance to the trolley lines and hundreds of shops and restaurants. All of the staff were very pleasant and very helpful in getting directions or making recommendations for things to see or do. This hotel more closely resembles a bed and breakfast than it does a hotel, and it has the charm of a place from an earlier era. If you're not into the take a number, large hotel scene, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We had a great time at the White Swan Inn. The service staff went out of their way to make sure we were well treated. The rooms are very nice and the location is the best.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, new Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was our first trip to San Francisco.
Staying at the White Swan Inn made it a very pleasant vacation!
The room was very lovely and comfortable.
We loved the fireplace and the coziness of the room.
The staff was nice and very helpful.
We enjoyed the lovely breakfast and evening wine.
Would return to the White Swan Inn if ever in San Francisco again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.