We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Save Saved
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Verona
1 review
“First stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location and staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back. Elevator a bit funky. Can't submit this review until I have 200 characters, don't know why. Doubt anyone will see this review but White Swan Inn was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    237
    55
    18
    4
See reviews for
122
481
36
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

First timers with a SF timeshare that was booked so we gave the White Swan a try. We were very impressed--very unique and so many amenities. The downstairs was unique. Suite was quaint. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The White Swan is a great place to settle in for a few days in San Francisco. We started our day with a delicious breakfast and ended our day with fresh baked cookies, wine, a comfy bed with a fireplace and free wifi. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The White Swan is a smaller, intimate property than most you will find in this city. We loved the way the staff went out of their way to answer your questions and to make sure your stay was great. The rooms are tastefully done as is the rest of the inn. The breakfast served each morning were very good, and the wine and appetizers were nice to come back to after sightseeing all day. We especially enjoyed meeting the other guests from different parts of the world. It is in a very convenient location also.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Luxury King Room" which was very generous in size with an extra room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
234 hotel reviews
Reviews in 221 cities Reviews in 221 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

i'm not generous with five point reviews, but this place deserves one. It is not normal hotel, more of a large and well organized B&B. We had a nice room on the fourth floor, they serve good breakfast and even afternoon wine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel several deals ago for three nights. We were very excited to stay here based on the great reviews. We were expecting nice breakfasts, nice wine hour, comfy room all for our first time to San Francisco. We arrived late at night, and had a very smooth check in. For the entirety of our stay the front desk was very kind. Anything that we asked of them, they answered or did for us with a smile on their face. There were three of us to the room and as a result I was going to be the lucky person that was sleeping on the pull out sofa. Unfortunately, the sofa once pulled out looked like it was thirty years old in smell and appearance. The mattress was extremely thin and discolored. I actually made myself a little cove on the floor. Other than that the room was large and comfy. The first day that we were there the breakfast consisted of a quiche, sausage, cold items, and some yummy blueberry pastries. I am not a fan of quiche, but I did taste it. The quiche did not change my opinion of it. I really enjoyed the sausage and the blueberry pastries. I also thought that it was nice that they had a blueberry theme that day, as all the pastries had blueberries in them. Breakfast was good and we looked forward to it the following two days. Unfortunately, the next two days breakfast was very disappointing. There were two more days of quiche and the same cold items. By the third day of the same items, I just had coffee. The late night wine with snacks was very tasty the first night as well. There were pesto chicken finger sandwiches and cherry bundt cake. Again, we left looking forward to the next evening. However, the following day the snacks consisted of a veggie tray, hummus, and another dip with stale crackers. Seeing as how we exclusively stayed here for the food, we left disappointed. There is an elevator to use, but it very ancient. The nice front desk clerk explained that to use it you needed to keep the button pressed at all times. I would not stay here again if I were in the area. The food is only good for one day, and then it is a repeat of offerings in the morning. The staff was very kind, and I also appreciated the mini fridge that had complimentary drinks in it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the first time and we were not disappointed about our choice. Everything was perfect (place, splendid suite with fireplaces breakfast, friendly front desk, wine happy hour) we will return without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;