We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Excellent Nights at the White Swan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added White Swan Inn to your Saves list
White Swan Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 10%
Ranked #11 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“4 Excellent Nights at the White Swan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The White Swan is a great place to settle in for a few days in San Francisco. We started our day with a delicious breakfast and ended our day with fresh baked cookies, wine, a comfy bed with a fireplace and free wifi. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better experience

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The White Swan is a smaller, intimate property than most you will find in this city. We loved the way the staff went out of their way to answer your questions and to make sure your stay was great. The rooms are tastefully done as is the rest of the inn. The breakfast served each morning were very good, and the wine and appetizers were nice to come back to after sightseeing all day. We especially enjoyed meeting the other guests from different parts of the world. It is in a very convenient location also.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Luxury King Room" which was very generous in size with an extra room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
291 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

i'm not generous with five point reviews, but this place deserves one. It is not normal hotel, more of a large and well organized B&B. We had a nice room on the fourth floor, they serve good breakfast and even afternoon wine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
231 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel several deals ago for three nights. We were very excited to stay here based on the great reviews. We were expecting nice breakfasts, nice wine hour, comfy room all for our first time to San Francisco. We arrived late at night, and had a very smooth check in. For the entirety of our stay the front desk was very kind. Anything that we asked of them, they answered or did for us with a smile on their face. There were three of us to the room and as a result I was going to be the lucky person that was sleeping on the pull out sofa. Unfortunately, the sofa once pulled out looked like it was thirty years old in smell and appearance. The mattress was extremely thin and discolored. I actually made myself a little cove on the floor. Other than that the room was large and comfy. The first day that we were there the breakfast consisted of a quiche, sausage, cold items, and some yummy blueberry pastries. I am not a fan of quiche, but I did taste it. The quiche did not change my opinion of it. I really enjoyed the sausage and the blueberry pastries. I also thought that it was nice that they had a blueberry theme that day, as all the pastries had blueberries in them. Breakfast was good and we looked forward to it the following two days. Unfortunately, the next two days breakfast was very disappointing. There were two more days of quiche and the same cold items. By the third day of the same items, I just had coffee. The late night wine with snacks was very tasty the first night as well. There were pesto chicken finger sandwiches and cherry bundt cake. Again, we left looking forward to the next evening. However, the following day the snacks consisted of a veggie tray, hummus, and another dip with stale crackers. Seeing as how we exclusively stayed here for the food, we left disappointed. There is an elevator to use, but it very ancient. The nice front desk clerk explained that to use it you needed to keep the button pressed at all times. I would not stay here again if I were in the area. The food is only good for one day, and then it is a repeat of offerings in the morning. The staff was very kind, and I also appreciated the mini fridge that had complimentary drinks in it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was the first time and we were not disappointed about our choice. Everything was perfect (place, splendid suite with fireplaces breakfast, friendly front desk, wine happy hour) we will return without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I visit San Francisco several times a year. I have stayed at various hotels and none have compared to the White Swan Inn. First the location! Right near the main entrance to China Town along with being included in the French Quarter. You walk out the door and the best of San Francisco is right there...or at least part of the best as SF has many fantastic areas.
Second and probably the most interesting aspect of the Inn. The rooms are huge compared to others in the same price range and! They have fireplaces in them!
The breakfast which is included is excellent. Not simply fruit and pastries, but eggs, bacon,etc. If you like a large morning meal, the White Swan will give you one. There are always cookies in the reception area and tea for a mid-day pick-up and the wine time is very enjoyable. The White Swan is not a budget hotel, but one that gives you good service, excellent rooms with wonderful atmosphere and good value for your money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaii-Ina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the White Swann in the last 10 years; hard to find a better place! this visit, we had our two teens with us (ages 14 and 17), doing the college tour up the coast from LA to San Francisco. we had a King Suite, could not get the Ashleigh Suite (two adjoining rooms). the room was large enough. only downside was the sleeper sofa; not big enough for two teens (which we had been told). we advised front desk, and they sent up two rollaways the next night so the kids were comfortable. Great breakfast each morning; wine happy hour; extremely friendly front desk staff. On the pricey side, but delivers the whole package -- breakfast; location; service; wonderful ambiance; quiet; fire places in most room! we will keep staying here -- location just off powell and close to Chinatown is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mgoblue1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,865 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#7 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,516 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#12 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,460 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#23 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing